Your under-rated Rangers XI

I know this has no doubt been done before, but we can do it again.

Who's your all time Rangers "under-rated" XI ... players you rated but either didn't last, were targets for boo-boys or weren't rated by others.

Also, players you've seen in the flesh only. Nae Charles Charlie Charles outside left from 1920 etc....

For me ;

Goalkeeper - Atti Niemi

Right back - Alec Cleland

Center half - Julian Rodriguez

Center half - Sotirios Kygriakos

Left back - Jeromme Bonnisell

Right midfield - Fabrice Fernandes

Center midfield - Mhaktar N'Dyie

Center midfield - Matt McKay

Left midfield - Bojan Djordic

Striker - Gordon Durie (maybe no under-rated as such, but never really got all the credit he deserved)

Striker - Stevie Thompson

I know reading the team line up like that it looks like a shocking team that would get pumped - but just thought individually they were decent enough players.

• Replies 115

I can't remember Bonnissell, N'diaye or Djordic. I'm only 21 though. But Rodriguez, Thompson were pretty pish and McKay is massively over-rated by the wsy people were talking about him on here withought him kicking a ball.

Fair enough, as I say it's just people you seen something in that others didn't.

What's your XI then?

Ronald Wattereus

------------

Kirk Broadfoot

Alan McLaren

Dave McPherson

Alex Cleland

--------------

Kevin Thomson

Derek McInnes

Bob Malcolm

John Fleck

-----------

Shota Arveladze

Stevie Thompson

I thought McLaren, Thomson and Averladze were rated myself?

I also remember Maurice Ross when he burst onto the scene as a 19/20 year old around 2001 ... and from 2001 to 2003 I thought he looked a right class act ... but he must have peaked early - turned utter shite soon afterwards.

GK:

LB: Davie Robertson

CB: Frank De Boer - maybe not overrated in the general sense of the word; every knows he was world class. But his time with us is rarely mentioned, maybe because of how amazing his brother was for us

CB: Henning Berg - Did a job at a difficult time.

RB: Alec Cleland

LM: Neil McCann - one of our best wingers in the last 20 years.

CM: Alex Rae - a better footballer than some give him credit for.

CM:Thomas Buffell

RM: Trevor Steven - Again, maybe not underrated by some, but I do think a large section of younger bears don't realise just how classy a player he was.

FW: Rod Wallace

FW: Kenny Miller - for obvious reasons some never got behind him. I totally understand that. This isn't a comment on him personally. I just think that for his last couple of seasons at the club he was totally outstanding.

--------------------------------Roberts------------------------------

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Ross--------------Bjorklund---------------Dawson------------Munro

-------------------------------Hemdani------------------------------

----------------------A.Rae-------------D.Ferguson-----------------

------I.McCall------------------------------------------McMinn-------

---------------------------Drinkell or R.Fleck-------------------------

--------------------------------Goram--------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ross-------------Bjorklund--------------Cohen-----------Munro

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

-------------------------------Hemdani-------------------------------

----------------------A. Rae--------------Russell-------------------

------I.McCall-----------------------------------------McMinn-------

-----------------------------Drinkell or Fleck------------------------

Goram and Russell under-rated aye

Good shout with Drinkell though ... decent goalscorer.

GK:

LB: Davie Robertson

CB: Frank De Boer - maybe not overrated in the general sense of the word; every knows he was world class. But his time with us is rarely mentioned, maybe because of how amazing his brother was for us

CB: Henning Berg - Did a job at a difficult time.

RB: Alec Cleland

LM: Neil McCann - one of our best wingers in the last 20 years.

CM: Alex Rae - a better footballer than some give him credit for.

CM:Thomas Buffell

RM: Trevor Steven - Again, maybe not underrated by some, but I do think a large section of younger bears don't realise just how classy a player he was.

FW: Rod Wallace

FW: Kenny Miller - for obvious reasons some never got behind him. I totally understand that. This isn't a comment on him personally. I just think that for his last couple of seasons at the club he was totally outstanding.

Aside from 02-03, I still maintain RdB took us for a bit of a ride.

Davie Robertson is the best left-back I have seen in a Rangers jersey. I think a lot of people would share that view... apart from Craig Brown as he didn't get a lot of Scotland caps.

I think he could run 100m in under 11 seconds too.

Robertson overlapping with Laudrup down the left wing. :drool:

Charbonnier

Porrini, Broadfoot, Andrews, Stensaas

Hemdani

A Johnstone A Rae Novo

Sebo, S Thompson

Sorry Nacho, you're on the wing.

Also thought Steven Thompson was immense for us. Anyone remember when he came on as a sub in the cup semi final against Motherwell at Hampden?