Alcohol at Ibrox

Carson's cat

The Scottish Conservatives are consulting on the possibility of lifting the alcohol ban at football matches (see STV news article below). Celtic are in favour, apparently. How should we respond?

"The Scottish Conservatives have called for the 33-year ban on alcohol at football matches to be reviewed.

The party has written to all 42 senior football clubs asking for their views on whether the restrictions should be lifted.

Alcohol has been banned on matchdays since rioting marred the 1980 Scottish Cup final between Celtic and Rangers.

Drinks are currently only permitted in corporate hospitality areas, but not during the game itself.

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson said changes in fans’ behaviour since the 1980s, as well as better facilities and stewarding, meant the time was right to reconsider the situation.

The Scottish Government lifted the ban on alcohol at international rugby matches in 2007, allowing fans to drink while watching the game.

At a time when many clubs are struggling financially, the Tories also believe that drinks licenses could provide a valuable source of income.

Ms Davidson said: “I understand why the ban was brought in all those years ago, but times have changed significantly since then.

“We now have modern stadia with excellent stewarding to keep spectators safer, allowing more families to attend matches.

“This has resulted in the football watching experience being a far more civilised experience than it was 30 years ago.

“With that in mind, it’s time to consider allowing supporters to enjoy an alcoholic drink before the game and at half-time.

“There’s no reason why this should be successfully in place in England but not north of the border.

“It seems unfair that people who can have a drink in a bar, rugby ground or even at a concert in football stadiums are unable to consume alcohol before they sit down to watch a game of football.

“Such a change would have the potential for our cash-strapped clubs to bring in some extra income, while boosting the match-day experience for thousands of fans every week.”

Earlier this year Celtic chief executive Peter Lawwell expressed his support for letting clubs sell alcohol to fans in a controlled environment.

Supporters of the ban say bringing back alcohol would put an intolerable burden on police and stewards.

Les Gray, Former head of the Scottish Police Federation, said: “Everybody just keeps blaming this one game but it was a whole host of events that brought about that ban. "We used to stand at the football and get pelted with cans and bottles, which weren't full of their original content, and it was an absolute nightmare. ”

• Replies 118

Scottish Conservative leader Ruth Davidson said changes in fans’ behaviour since the 1980s, as well as better facilities and stewarding, meant the time was right to reconsider the situation.

Obviously she is a dim tim or she cant read if she thinks such as the shite at porkhead are well behaved.

Great idea. I live in South Korea, and my cities team (and the whole K-League) is pretty gash. But they sell cheap booze there (and you can bring your own in). Me and my mates go just for a laugh. Would increase attendences, imo.

I can only see the image of folk that have had one too many causing issues for our club. And issues for the average Bear just wanting watch the game.

Had the pleasure of sitting next to a guy at Ibrox a few years ago who was clearly steam boated and although he was a friendly guy he spent the whole match trying to engage in conversation with shagger and had to be escorted off when he turned nasty.

To be honest I don't see a problem with it, most people who like a drink will do so before entering the game anyway, the beer on sale in grounds will be overpriced and if its on sale before KO (most people will still be in the pub) and at half time (youll have to queue up to get 1)it's not like your going to get steaming from what's on sale in the ground.

If like other European countries we had a sensible attitude towards drinking the yes, infortunately that's not the case.

Sadly we do not have the same relaxed attitude towards drink as on parts of the continent. Remember being at the wee beer fest in Munich (Freulings Fest - the Spring festival).... Bayern had hosted FC Koln that day. Both sets if fans were in the beer tents downing litres of beer and having a bit of a laugh together.

Sadly there appears to be a British need to have a drink followed by a barny of some description.

Reckon alcohol at games in Scotland is a recipe for disaster. Unless they follow the example of a certain Canadian baseball team and water down the beer.

Think this was discussed a few months back.

Ah, the good old days on the terraces.

The days of hot pish rattling doon the back of your legs. Who wouldnt miss that?

See anytime someone makes a topic like this, you always get one or two people mentioning this. Nowhere does it state we'd be going back to overcrowded terraces, and having cunts pish into cans. But some people just like to moan.

Whereas you absolutely hate moaning.