What's happening with the strip?

Bobthemod

On 15/10/2016 at 2:09 AM, weeto said:

What is this obsession with having an orange kit?

I'm in favour of retaining our traditions of being a historically Protestant club while remaining open to all but I feel Orangeism has mainly left the mainstream and using symbolism such as the Union Flag is fine in my opinion but creating a direct link to the Orange Order seems questionable.

I have no problem with the moderate Orange Order members but I think there are some OTT elements and my own church actually frowns on membership of the Order.

I don't think our club needs to stoop to the levels of bigotry that the other club does as they imported bigotry into Scottish football as we were a non denominational side originally, although with mainly indiginous Protestant players but it was not until after World War 1 that the club became entirely Protestant after the arrival of Northern Irish shipyard workers that gravitated to the club due to proximity and the fact the club was seen as having a Protestant ethos and was a clear rival to Celtic due to existing indiginous support at the club and the Northern Irish fans were able to assimilate more easily with the Scottish fans at Rangers instead of the hostile Irish at Celtic.

I can understand that some people want an orange away kit as a way of showing that if Celtic can use their religious and ethnic identity excessively yet complain when we show any signs of British or Protestant tradition then we should just go ahead and do the same but I believe we should be showing we are of a better class and higher morality than the opposition.

Maintaining our identity and ethos is vital but not at the expense of making us seem as petty and antagonistic as our rivals.

Fuck you ya cunt i hope your offended and cry yourself to sleep at night

On 15/10/2016 at 2:09 AM, weeto said:

What is this obsession with having an orange kit?

I'm in favour of retaining our traditions of being a historically Protestant club while remaining open to all but I feel Orangeism has mainly left the mainstream and using symbolism such as the Union Flag is fine in my opinion but creating a direct link to the Orange Order seems questionable.

I have no problem with the moderate Orange Order members but I think there are some OTT elements and my own church actually frowns on membership of the Order.

I don't think our club needs to stoop to the levels of bigotry that the other club does as they imported bigotry into Scottish football as we were a non denominational side originally, although with mainly indiginous Protestant players but it was not until after World War 1 that the club became entirely Protestant after the arrival of Northern Irish shipyard workers that gravitated to the club due to proximity and the fact the club was seen as having a Protestant ethos and was a clear rival to Celtic due to existing indiginous support at the club and the Northern Irish fans were able to assimilate more easily with the Scottish fans at Rangers instead of the hostile Irish at Celtic.

I can understand that some people want an orange away kit as a way of showing that if Celtic can use their religious and ethnic identity excessively yet complain when we show any signs of British or Protestant tradition then we should just go ahead and do the same but I believe we should be showing we are of a better class and higher morality than the opposition.

Maintaining our identity and ethos is vital but not at the expense of making us seem as petty and antagonistic as our rivals.

Not trying to be funny but if you're antagonised by someone displaying and being proud of their culture then I would suggest that you (the person antagonised) are the one with the problem.

If all they cunts did was went to the games, went "hu'll we're Irish so we ur and wur proud eh it" then I'd have no issue with that tbh.

Difference is they don't do they? Nah they go and glorify murderers of Catholic and Protestant men, woman and children.

And claim its their culture.

We don't.

So aye.

Fuck off.

On Friday, October 14, 2016 at 8:47 AM, onwardsupwards said:

I've heard a wee bit of info that king has done a deal with under armour but only when he can get out of the puma deal

which looks like NEVER

I also heard a rumour that king is a glib and shameless liar 

On 18/10/2016 at 7:16 PM, Getstiffed said:

Not trying to be funny but if you're antagonised by someone displaying and being proud of their culture then I would suggest that you (the person antagonised) are the one with the problem.

If all they cunts did was went to the games, went "hu'll we're Irish so we ur and wur proud eh it" then I'd have no issue with that tbh.

Difference is they don't do they? Nah they go and glorify murderers of Catholic and Protestant men, woman and children.

And claim its their culture.

We don't.

So aye.

Fuck off.

I agree that our fans are nowhere near as bad as Celtic's and they are the root cause of bigotry in this country. We should take the same course of action that the Australian football authorities did and wipe all ethnic identities from clubs. They had a plague of ethnic clubs in Australia and trouble as a result. The clubs were ordered to cease using names linked to ethnic groups and focus only on their Australian identity.

It largely worked but some clubs persist on hanging on to the hate culture between groups like Serbs and Croats. Greek orientated clubs are often involved too.

I understand that some fans focus on some of the hardline stuff at Rangers out of spite because the likes of Celtic and Hibs do and it is in retaliation. My personal inclination would be to use the Australian approach and ensure that all clubs embrace their Scottish and British identities, that the British national anthem plays before every game and any club that fails to recognise this should be closed.

There is no place for clubs that don't respect the people of the country they play in and that they should be part of the indiginous culture, not trying to transplant another.

I don't get the obsession with Ireland on the other side of Glasgow anyway. I'd bet that at least 80% of them have never even been to the Septic Isle.

Anyone who claims an orange football strip is bigoted is a bigot themselves,  and more tha likely a taig

Too many hand wringers and taig pleasers in our support. 

We celebrate our culture and respect the memory of those who have sacrificed their lives for us.  We sing songs celebrating OUR culture. While the taigs sing about bombers and snipers and call for genocide against protestants. 

If you are offended by the colour of a top then fuck off and support the taigs because you are a wanker and not a true Ranger or Loyalist

16 hours ago, weeto said:

I agree that our fans are nowhere near as bad as Celtic's and they are the root cause of bigotry in this country. We should take the same course of action that the Australian football authorities did and wipe all ethnic identities from clubs. They had a plague of ethnic clubs in Australia and trouble as a result. The clubs were ordered to cease using names linked to ethnic groups and focus only on their Australian identity.

It largely worked but some clubs persist on hanging on to the hate culture between groups like Serbs and Croats. Greek orientated clubs are often involved too.

Boak.

Firstly, no one will ever erase our Protestant Unionist Loyalist and British identity. Ever.

Secondly, if you want that to happen you're supporting the wrong  Club.

We are a British PUL Club and always will be.  If folk have an issue with that then they're just jealous and bigoted

3 minutes ago, Willis said:

Anyone who claims an orange football strip is bigoted is a bigot themselves,  and more tha likely a taig

Too many hand wringers and taig pleasers in our support. 

We celebrate our culture and respect the memory of those who have sacrificed their lives for us.  We sing songs celebrating OUR culture. While the taigs sing about bombers and snipers and call for genocide against protestants. 

If you are offended by the colour of a top then fuck off and support the taigs because you are a wanker and not a true Ranger or Loyalist

Absolutely spot on. Why should we change who we are or apologise for standing for what we are. I hope our traditions are here for generations to come. No place for hand wringing tarrier appeasers among us. 

1 minute ago, billsim1984 said:

Absolutely spot on. Why should we change who we are or apologise for standing for what we are. I hope our traditions are here for generations to come. No place for hand wringing tarrier appeasers among us. 

Our people fought and died to defeat fascism and now fascist scum try to say it's offensive to celebrate their sacrifice. And hold up banners and flags saying we should all be killed. And calling us H** scum while we were the ones fighting the H*** while their cowards waited till our army was fighting the Germans before launching their failure of a campaign. They call for us to be murdered yet we are the bigots. Anyone on the outside looking in would find this completely nuts and it would never happen anywhere else.

Imagine it was a team from from a Southern state in the US Holding up a banner calling for the confederate scum in the north to be killed? Yet today in the Sun on the cover they've blurred out the word Paedophile in our banner because that word must be sectarian if we say it.

I say we just keep giving it tight to tthem about the fact they are paedophile harbourers,  nothing at all sectarian about that. 

9 minutes ago, Willis said:

Our people fought and died to defeat fascism and now fascist scum try to say it's offensive to celebrate their sacrifice. And hold up banners and flags saying we should all be killed. And calling us H** scum while we were the ones fighting the H*** while their cowards waited till our army was fighting the Germans before launching their failure of a campaign. They call for us to be murdered yet we are the bigots. Anyone on the outside looking in would find this completely nuts and it would never happen anywhere else.

Imagine it was a team from from a Southern state in the US Holding up a banner calling for the confederate scum in the north to be killed? Yet today in the Sun on the cover they've blurred out the word Paedophile in our banner because that word must be sectarian if we say it.

I say we just keep giving it tight to tthem about the fact they are paedophile harbourers,  nothing at all sectarian about that. 

I know mate. Far too many of them have got into positions of power in the running of the country and media. If we roll over and let them have their way there will be no loyalist community and no Rangers as we know it. Like you say we need to keep the fight going. Cunts that say I support the football team and all that pish are part of the reason we're on the back foot. I'm proud of what and who we are and no plastic rebel bastard will change me or what I'm proud of.