Terry Butcher On Talksport

WadeWilson

Great stuff now on TalkSport. Live at Matt Ford's Sports Party or something like that.

Talking about Rangers now. Confirmed that Souness had an 'aura' when he walked into the room but the team talk was the same every week.

'"If the attitude is not right, you won't get a result," Graeme would say. There was no Churchillian speech.'

'Only when Walter Smith came in after that would the real team talk start.'

Souness also used him as a kind of scout and a point of contact. He would ask him "Could Walters do a job up here? Would Wilkins come here?" etc.

Straight after that infamous first game of the season at Easter Road Souness decided he was going out on the lash in Edinburgh. Terry went as his 'minder.' I doubt there would be too many wanting to take a pop at those two. :D

Spoke of his confusion about the furore over Maurice (he always calls him 'Maurice') Johnston signing. Said that Souness was 'delighted' to make that signing. "But some of the Scottish lads in the dressing room took a bit of getting used to the idea."

Talking about the 2-2 OF game now and the breach of the peace nonsense that Thatcher instigated (Terry's words). He blamed her for still having a criminal record.

The only Englishman in the Scottish Football Hall of Fame. Big Tel - Rangers Legend.

• Replies 80

Next story is when he was Scotland assistant manager and having to shake hands with El Diego.

The after-match press conference Terry fielded all the questions while Maradona simply said: "Who?"

Gallus wee shite.

Spent more time talking about Rangers than Mexico '86 - Quite surprised at that.

He also managed to get a wee Josh Meekings mention in there.

He's still on but not the main guest right now - James Brown is up next. :party:

Oh wait, it's not the Godfather of Soul... It's the editor of 'Loaded' magazine. :anguish:

That pretty much confirms what a few of us were saying a few months back in a thread about Souness. That he had the reputation and the contacts, the attitude and the aura (and no little skill, guile, invention, strength and stamina on the park) but Walter was always the coach, possibly outwith the fitness training.

Definitely a partnership - Souness always looked to Walter when the celebrations began; always shared in the success and always gave him generous credit for his part in that success. That's what you call the 'Dream Team.'

article-2142102-13034083000005DC-178_468

I'm guessing they didn't play "God Save The Queen" or you'd be posting more anti royal pish and pics of your scumbag ira heroes ya fuckin holy water rheekin rattlin bastard.

:lol: What?

What have i missed here?

I'm guessing they didn't play "God Save The Queen" or you'd be posting more anti royal pish and pics of your scumbag ira heroes ya fuckin holy water rheekin rattlin bastard.

Does he not remember that Butcher put a pic of the Queen in the dressing room.

Ah... Stiffington - one of the most warped, rabid, obsessed Tims on the Internet. The same half-baked, brainless cunt who posted anti-Rangers comments on every Rangers story ever on the Daily Record and Scotsman forums. Every story. Every day. All day. Every day.

Did you not get banned last time, you pathetic amoeba. Do you spend so much time moonlighting as a Rangers fan on Internet forums that you forget who you really support, aye?

:D

What a pitiful waste of human life you are.

Ah... Stiffington - one of the most warped, rabid, obsessed Tims on the Internet.

Did you not get banned last time, you pathetic amoeba. You spend so much time moonlighting as a Rangers fan on the Internet you forget who you really support, aye?

:D

Oh thats right you accused me of being a bheast with absolutely nothing to back up your fucking insulting claims ya prick. Yet here we are with evidence of you desecrating a thread wishing our Queen a Happy Birthday by posting anti royal filth and pics of scumbag ira members yet you claim I'm a bheast? Your a fuckin candle wax holy water rheekin fiddler ya cunt. http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=282310

He desecrated a thread paying homage to our Queens birthday by posting up ant royal filth and pics of scumbag ira members.

Good yin.

What was it that the Aberdonian was heard to tell your fellow terrorist-lovers to stick up their collective arseholes?

This thread is about the dawning of the Nine-in-a-Row era. The same glorious era that sent you and many other Tims on the downward slope to being the deranged, mentally-sick shambles you are today.

Did Kenny Dalglish not describe people like you as 'psychopaths?' :21: Nice try.

co-op-cup-final-rangers-v-celtic-image-1