Cricket

This Test Match is a disaster. The ball is swinging but the number of wickets being gifted away is ridiculous. 18 wickets in a day!

On a side note, Chris Jordan is in this side a specialist fielder. He isn't scoring with the bat, he's an awful bowler.

A good Test Match in Barbados despite being a low scorer,much better than that 20/20 nonsense.

I fell in Love with Cricket watching only Test Matches as a young boy. But I do enjoy a bit of 20/20 as well..The West Indies I watched were streets ahead of the current crop that's for sure...But they are looking good to win this one..

Ben Stokes bowled five of the 63-odd overs, all right at the end.

Why the fuck did England pick him? They've plenty of better batsman, so if he's not bowling he shouldn't be in the team. Not picking Rashid on a pitch like that was a ridiculous decision. Moeen and Root were dreadful, and constantly gifted the Windies runs with gutter deliveries.

I'm still not convinced with Jordan as a Test Cricketer, but my word that boy can field at slip.

Brilliant to see the Windies win that without Gayle, Sammy, Pollard, Bravo etc.

2nd test starts on Wednesday for Pakistan in what has been an absolutely awful series for us. Hopefully we can sign off with a test series win. Last pitch was totally dead.

Zimbabwe touring Pakistan this month too - the first full member test nation to tour since 2009!

Ben Stokes bowled five of the 63-odd overs, all right at the end.

Why the fuck did England pick him? They've plenty of better batsman, so if he's not bowling he shouldn't be in the team. Not picking Rashid on a pitch like that was a ridiculous decision. Moeen and Root were dreadful, and constantly gifted the Windies runs with gutter deliveries.

I'm still not convinced with Jordan as a Test Cricketer, but my word that boy can field at slip.

I read someone say Stokes could become England's Kallis :lol:.

Jordan is an athlete. Nothing else to his game IMO. Not capable of doing much with the ball in his hands, not a great batsman.

A good Test Match in Barbados despite being a low scorer,much better than that 20/20 nonsense.

I do like 20/20 but I don't like how it has become the focus of the sport. Absolutely nothing beats an exciting test match like this last one in Barbados. Test match cricket is the pinnacle of the sport and it always should be - those more interested in money are the ones trying to place t20 on the same pedestal.

Jonathan Trott announces his retirement from International Cricket, stating he doesn't feel he is good enough anymore.

Fair play to him for coming back, then being man enough to admit he can't do it.

Good point, but I can't help but feel it may have gone better for him if he'd been brought back in a home series.

Andrew Strauss expected to be appointed as ECB Director. I like Strauss, but he's hardly going to solve the "conservative" problems with Cook and Moore, is he?

Pointless move. Would have liked to have seen someone like Michael Vaughan.

Jonathan Trott announces his retirement from International Cricket, stating he doesn't feel he is good enough anymore.

Fair play to him for coming back, then being man enough to admit he can't do it.

Good point, but I can't help but feel it may have gone better for him if he'd been brought back in a home series.

Exactly, HG5. It was so silly placing such high pressure on a guy out of the game for 18 months with depression. Opening in the caribbean ffs! No matter which era, which team, Windies at home with the red cherry are dangerous.

They should have delayed his comeback until New Zealand at the end of this month, with a view that if he performs well he would have an Ashes berth.

Pointless move. Would have liked to have seen someone like Michael Vaughan.

Exactly, HG5. It was so silly placing such high pressure on a guy out of the game for 18 months with depression. Opening in the caribbean ffs! No matter which era, which team, Windies at home with the red cherry are dangerous.

They should have delayed his comeback until New Zealand at the end of this month, with a view that if he performs well he would have an Ashes berth.

My thoughts exactly (tu).

Just a minor (or maybe less minor?) point would be that he could have nipped home between games & regrouped a bit, if he'd come back in a home series.

Given his earlier issues, sending him a long way to, as you say, a still very hostile setting, was always going to play out badly, unless he was able to get a couple of good innings under his belt straight away.

Also agree re Strauss - I don't mind him, but Vaughan, imho, would have been more likely to rattle the necessary cages.

Pakistan lost the toss, were put in to bat. Currently 170/2 off 53.2 overs. Younis Khan on 67, Azhar Ali on 69.

Very impressed with Azhar Ali. He really has taken on the responsibility of being captain and lead from the front. Unfortunately, others around him haven't stepped up to the plate. Hopefully we can win this one and stay 3rd in the test rankings.

Wee bit gutted the Ireland v England one day game fell to the elements. That was a tasty looking fresh young side England had out there today..Oh well cannae beat the weather. More of a shame for the folk over there who bought tickets..hope they get some cash back..

Aye shame. Was an exciting team England put out and they started well, had Ireland under the ropes.

Raises the point on full members giving small nations more games, not just one off games.