Billy Boys UEFA letter .....

thehost

Just for clarification here. No one has seen this "letter". This "letter" does not exist. The only thing "seen" was the back of a "letter".

YES A PLAIN PIECE OF PAPER.

the fan reps ran off towing the company line that the song was banned on the basis of a cosy wee meet with bain where he held up a piece of paper and they only saw the blank side

to this day no one has seen this letter, probably down to the fact that it obviously doesn't exist, at least in the format of uefa banning a song

• Replies 51

3 minutes ago, thehost said:

Just for clarification here. No one has seen this "letter". This "letter" does not exist. The only thing "seen" was the back of a "letter".

YES A PLAIN PIECE OF PAPER.

the fan reps ran off towing the company line that the song was banned on the basis of a cosy wee meet with bain where he held up a piece of paper and they only saw the blank side

to this day no one has seen this letter, probably down to the fact that it obviously doesn't exist, at least in the format of uefa banning a song

Spot on and everybody believed the catholic press and was shit scared to sing the real version.

Host Please read this from 2006 .....

Joint Supporter/Club Statement

AT the request of a cross-section of Rangers Supporters, a meeting was
held last night with Chairman, David Murray and Chief Executive, Martin
Bain to discuss what the fans can collectively do to assist the Club in
their ongoing efforts to silence the Sectarian minority who continue to
damage the Club's reputation.

A positive debate was held at Murray Park and all parties are united in
a bid to silence the minority that continue to tarnish the reputation
of Rangers Football Club. It was obvious from last night's meeting that
the recent fines imposed by UEFA and the associated press coverage has
been detrimental to the Club and to the individuals who genuinely
support Rangers for its football and true values.It has been agreed
between members of the Club's Board and representatives of the fan base
that in the coming weeks this joint committee will do everything in
their power to ensure that the Club does not breach the UEFA directives
and implore upon the fans that self policing among the support is key
to avoid sanctions being imposed or expulsion from European competition
altogether.

David Murray commented: "These supporters groups represented should be
applauded for coming forward in recognition of the importance of this
issue. I am delighted at the progress we made last night."Over the last
two years the Club has strived fervently under the banner of Pride over
Prejudice working with the authorities to impose indefinite and
lifetime bans. "I look forward in the coming weeks to implementing some
of the actions that were discussed.It is absolutely clear to all
concerned that all Supporters need to commit to silencing the
minority."This meeting coincidently coincided with UEFA's written
grounds for the decision rendered by the Appeal Body in relation to
Rangers two Champions League matches against Villarreal.

UEFA have issued the Club with certain directives in order to combat
sectarianism more efficiently.Firstly the Club has been 'ordered to
announce measurable targets in order to reduce sectarian behaviour
amongst its supporters'.Secondly 'to control their anti-sectarian
activities by producing comprehensive statistics that are communicated
to the public'.

Finally 'to make a public address announcement at every official
fixture, be it international or domestic, stating that any sectarian
chanting and any form of 'Billy Boys' songs is strictly prohibited.'

David Edgar of the Rangers Supporters Trust, Mark Dingwall of Follow
Follow and Jim Templeton of the Rangers Supporters Assembly jointly
agreed the following Statement:"The message now could not be clearer
that the spotlight is upon the Supporters and the Club and it is their
duty to work together to stamp out the minority who are damaging the
reputations of all those connected with Rangers Football Club."Not only
does this small minority tarnish the reputation of Rangers, but of
Scottish football and our society in general and hopefully anyone who
is interested in Scottish football will work with us in assisting to
eradicate this behaviour."Supporter Representatives

Jim Templeton Assembly President

Alex Milree Chairman of the Scottish Alliance Delegates

Mark Dingwall Follow Follow/ Rangers Supporters Trust

James Carlin The Blue Order

Simon Leslie The Blue Order

Tam Green Lanarkshire Supporters Representative

David Edgar Rangers Supporters Trust, Media Spokesperson

Ross Blyth Fife and District supporters club representative

Malcolm McNiven Rangers Supporters Trust, Chairman
http://newsgroups.derkeiler.com/Archive/Uk/uk.sport.football.clubs.rangers/2006-06/msg00033.html

Fucking hell, has this not been done to death? 

The club wont support fans singing it, the police may lift you for singing it but if you want to sing it then go for it, just wrap a scarf round your mouth so theres no camera evidence if you get lifted. 

Nothings going to change unless MSP's get the law repealed which their trying to do and even then its just that they'll charge you under public disorder offences. 

1 minute ago, Sweetheart said:

So is the next step to contact MB about this letter?

There is no letter.

However, since our fan high heid yins and mini murray has access they could, once and for all, show us this letter.

we got heat from uefa the board shat it the fans groups went along and we are banned from singing a song that everyone else in Scotland can sing

the filth have been done 13 times, over the last 12 years, by uefa they haven't caved in and only this week turned a pr disaster into charitable headline coverage around the globe

our failures are entirely down to our meek manned, bridge building, lets be pals board, both current and previous

1 minute ago, thehost said:

There is no letter.

However, since our fan high heid yins and mini murray has access they could, once and for all, show us this letter.

we got heat from uefa the board shat it the fans groups went along and we are banned from singing a song that everyone else in Scotland can sing

the filth have been done 13 times, over the last 12 years, by uefa they haven't caved in and only this week turned a pr disaster into charitable headline coverage around the globe

our failures are entirely down to our meek manned, bridge building, lets be pals board, both current and previous

so this is the way forward?

Just now, Sweetheart said:

so this is the way forward?

way forward for what?

we caved in ten years ago, we live in a rampantly open republican filth hole of a country, there is no parity of esteem

I just saw two threads about the billy boys and felt it important for those, who weren't about at the time, to know this oft referred to uefa letter doesn't actually exist

6 minutes ago, thehost said:

way forward for what?

we caved in ten years ago, we live in a rampantly open republican filth hole of a country, there is no parity of esteem

I just saw two threads about the billy boys and felt it important for those, who weren't about at the time, to know this oft referred to uefa letter doesn't actually exist

Fair do's, I thought you were getting proof that there was no letter, to help in any court case of overturning the ban through the courts. My misunderstanding.

6 minutes ago, thehost said:

way forward for what?

Excactly mate way forward for what.  For a number of years we have caved into this republican country im so many aspects.

They bastards played it well and we let them win.  We lay down like a wee bitch.

There is nothing to go forward on or nothing to go back on. Everyone of us stay united and sing the song. 

Would the way forward not be to speak with those who met with MB and to MB himself? Maybe request a copy of the letter from PM the club should have it on file somewhere. From there get a lawyer and let the courts decide whether words need to be changed or not?

Just now, MayboleLoyal_atb said:

Sadly doesn't matter now if uefa have banned it or not singing it in Scotland will get you the jail.

Yes, it will but the courts can decide if the song can be sung and legally say whether words need to be changed. They can also legally agree new words in place of the old, which will see fans with a legal song.

Couple of things here ladies and gents

1. That Wiki link

In 2011, "Billy Boys" was included in a list of chants that had been banned from Scottish football grounds as part of new legislation from the Scottish government. It was specifically banned because of its "Up to our knees in Fenian blood" line.

There is no such definitive list so I would caution against treating anything within that article as accurate.

2. UEFA bannng a song does not empower the forces of law and order in this country to take action -  that comes solely from Scottish legislation most notably OBFA in this instance.

6 minutes ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

Rather than initiating a full scale investigation into whether it's banned or not, why don't those who wish to sing it, sing it. And those who don't, don't! 

Wouldn't it be better to take the song to court and legalise it officially by challenging it and changing it if need be? There's money in the RFFF 

Rangers Fans Fighting Fund holds funds of £483,144.45 http://www.rangersfansfightingfund.uk/currentfund.html

3 minutes ago, Sweetheart said:

Wouldn't it be better to take the song to court and legalise it officially, There's money in the RFFF 

Rangers Fans Fighting Fund holds funds of £483,144.45 http://www.rangersfansfightingfund.uk/currentfund.html

In this day and age you would have no chance of getting approval of wading in in someone else's blood. That's just the way it is. 

Just now, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

In this day and age you would have no chance of getting approval of wading in in someone else's blood. That's just the way it is. 

The courts can agree to a change of words so that the song becomes legal. Then when it is sung there's no come backs for the club or fans being arrested.

Just now, Sweetheart said:

The courts can agree to a change of words so that the song becomes legal. Then when it is sung there's no come backs for the club or fans being arrested.

That's true - but everyone's got to abide by the new words. 

Read the previous posts on this thread - do you think everyone will toe the line? 

3 minutes ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

That's true - but everyone's got to abide by the new words. 

Read the previous posts on this thread - do you think everyone will toe the line? 

I believe if we fight to get the song 'officially legalised', everyone would abide by the change in words