Community Engagement

Guest Lloyd72

RANGERS has continued its unwavering commitment to improving relations with the wider Govan community by launching a new Community Engagement blueprint which will strive to enhance relations with local residents.

Rangers Managing Director Stewart Robertson joined Chief Inspector Simon Jeacocke from Police Scotland and midfielder Andy Halliday – who was born and bred in Ibrox – at the stadium today to launch the programme.

Following a series of fact-finding meetings with councillors in order to understand local concerns, the Club has been proactive and confirmed a number of measures which will encourage positive behaviour in and around the Stadium.

• A new video has been created which will be played on the giant screens at all matches encouraging supporters – home and visiting – to respect their local environment
  • Visible police and steward patrols in the local areas have already commenced and have earned praise from the SPFL delegate at the home match against St Johnstone earlier this month
  • More portable toilets will be installed around the Stadium footprint
  • The Club will arrange, with the assistance of Glasgow City Council, more recycling bins to be brought in to the surrounding streets to minimise littering

Stewart Robertson commented: “Rangers Football Club fully respects the residents in the local and wider Govan community and we have a responsibility to ensure all areas around Ibrox Stadium are kept in good order.

“We have introduced dedicated stewards, paired with Police Scotland officers, who will be on patrol at all home games and urge supporters, as the majority already do, to act as ambassadors for their Club when making their way to and from Ibrox. 

“This initiative is the start of the Club looking to improve the wider matchday experience for fans and the community alike and although still in its infancy, we have already received positive feedback.”

Andy Halliday added: “I remember growing up on Copland Road and on a matchday there was a buzz and excitement about the place. But we all need to remember there are residents in the area and it’s important to respect the street as if it’s your own.

“On a normal day it is just like any street so we should all try and remember that. When you come to Ibrox please treat the surrounding area like it belongs to you.”

Chief Inspector Simon Jeacocke of Police Scotland commented: “Dealing with anti-social behaviour on matchdays is a priority for Police Scotland. We want to encourage all football supporters to act responsibly and respect the residents and businesses in the vicinity of the stadium. Police officers and stewards will be carrying out joint patrols on matchdays to address anti-social behaviour and encourage positive behaviour.

“This initiative is a great example of how, by working together, we can more effectively tackle this problem and improve the well-being of our community.”

1 minute ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

funny how you dont hear the tarriers having to set up initiatives like this as GCC do all the fucking work for them

But this is exactly what Liewell & Reid did from 2007 to diminish our role as the establishment Club, I'm encouraged that Robertson has the vision to identify one of the things we need to do to reclaim our rightful place.

Just now, fanaticCR said:

Something must have happened I'm guessing, strange time to bring all this out.

Maybe, but these wee things happen periodically anyway. The community guys at the club are always up to various things.

Anyway, never a bad thing to reinforce some of those messages. As a local resident myself, you're quite often presented by the bad side of being near a football stadium. People pissing in close entrances, throwing their rubbish in gardens and shit. No harm in at least showing the locals that you're trying. 

Wait a fucking minute! Is that not that fat mess SNP tarrier fuck Rangers hater Dornan on the left hand side of the table?!?! The guy sticks the boot into us anytime he can. Fat Alan Brazil cunt! Fuck this building bridges pish. I'm out! ??

1 hour ago, Lloyd72 said:

RANGERS has continued its unwavering commitment to improving relations with the wider Govan community by launching a new Community Engagement blueprint which will strive to enhance relations with local residents.

Rangers Managing Director Stewart Robertson joined Chief Inspector Simon Jeacocke from Police Scotland and midfielder Andy Halliday – who was born and bred in Ibrox – at the stadium today to launch the programme.

Following a series of fact-finding meetings with councillors in order to understand local concerns, the Club has been proactive and confirmed a number of measures which will encourage positive behaviour in and around the Stadium.

• A new video has been created which will be played on the giant screens at all matches encouraging supporters – home and visiting – to respect their local environment
  • Visible police and steward patrols in the local areas have already commenced and have earned praise from the SPFL delegate at the home match against St Johnstone earlier this month
  • More portable toilets will be installed around the Stadium footprint
  • The Club will arrange, with the assistance of Glasgow City Council, more recycling bins to be brought in to the surrounding streets to minimise littering

Stewart Robertson commented: “Rangers Football Club fully respects the residents in the local and wider Govan community and we have a responsibility to ensure all areas around Ibrox Stadium are kept in good order.

“We have introduced dedicated stewards, paired with Police Scotland officers, who will be on patrol at all home games and urge supporters, as the majority already do, to act as ambassadors for their Club when making their way to and from Ibrox. 

“This initiative is the start of the Club looking to improve the wider matchday experience for fans and the community alike and although still in its infancy, we have already received positive feedback.”

Andy Halliday added: “I remember growing up on Copland Road and on a matchday there was a buzz and excitement about the place. But we all need to remember there are residents in the area and it’s important to respect the street as if it’s your own.

“On a normal day it is just like any street so we should all try and remember that. When you come to Ibrox please treat the surrounding area like it belongs to you.”

Chief Inspector Simon Jeacocke of Police Scotland commented: “Dealing with anti-social behaviour on matchdays is a priority for Police Scotland. We want to encourage all football supporters to act responsibly and respect the residents and businesses in the vicinity of the stadium. Police officers and stewards will be carrying out joint patrols on matchdays to address anti-social behaviour and encourage positive behaviour.

“This initiative is a great example of how, by working together, we can more effectively tackle this problem and improve the well-being of our community.”

That not last seasons top in the background of the first video ?

and why have we released a video of children writing that ibrox is dirty , scary and awful ? Bizzare 

23 minutes ago, cr3_bear said:

That not last seasons top in the background of the first video ?

and why have we released a video of children writing that ibrox is dirty , scary and awful ? Bizzare 

It's a fucking embarrassment from the club! Is this where we are now? Putting ourselves down just like the rest of the country and haters do. 

12 minutes ago, B1872 said:

It's a fucking embarrassment from the club! Is this where we are now? Putting ourselves down just like the rest of the country and haters do. 

It's realism. We can bury our heads in the sand or accept that residents are rightly annoyed about some things. It's not putting ourselves down, it's trying to encourage people that do things that they shouldn't to stop. It's completely different to anything that haters do. Is it or is it not right to encourage fans to behave well around the stadium (when patently a few do not)? Of course it is. 

That said, the kind of twat that pisses in someone's close probably isn't going to give a fuck and won't stop because the club asks them to. It's those people that put the club down, not the people asking them not to do it.

Perhaps Halliday and Robertson could become the new community liaison officers, would get one useless cunt off the park and another one off the board.

Robertson should have gotten a local politician on board to highlight the lack of spending in the area by the GCC

So are we having a go at fans behaviour on matchdays? Funny that. Is it not the GB that hold impromptu marches on the way to their cesspit, stopping off to cause bother for local businesses and people ? No need for adequate policing there or commendable patrols? the bottles etc thrown or the damage to pub doors etc must all be good craic right enough.

I'm all for the club improving its profile with the local community but this smacks of pandering to a certain agenda driven initiative by the SNP and another club who seem to continually get away with anything and everything in this pitiable city.

I understand the thinking behind this and I agree with some of the intimations within the message. 

However... 

We seem to be lecturing our fantastic support with pc, self deprecating, appeasement style messages.  What with the cringe fest that is the "follow with pride" and now a new initiative to include another video telling us how we are bad and need to do xyz. 

Where are the infomercials telling taigs not to molest children or bottle weans or batter folk on trains or smash up dens park or hang effigies of orangemen and Rangers supporters or engage in state aid corruption.... The list goes on and on. 

Aye some folk litter and pish up closes and against motors and aye, they're arseholes for doing it but ffs man. 

Just make a wee advert like the old "bag it and bin it" campaign from the 80s, to be played at Ibrox, no need to hang us out in the fucking wind again. 

And as for pishing in public, maybe if old bill were patrolling the local streets rather than pointing 100 cameras at a few lads with a banner hoping to catch a naughty word, it might not be such an issue? 

Dunno. Just seems to me that, maybe understandably, we don't react well to any criticism now, warranted or not. Can't see the issue with this, personally.

All fan groups do this kind of thing near stadiums. At least we're making the effort. The public element of the criticism is part of community engagement and relations. Keeping it in house and on the big screens kind of misses the point of that. As a resident, I want to know that Rangers are helping.

By the way, the other thing about this is the whole parking thing. If you're going to persuade residents not to vocally back that new scheme where parking is banned effectively within a mile of the ground, creating a good impression isn't necessarily a bad idea.