3 Gers Rescue A Celtic Fan

Three Rangers fans made sure a rival Celtic fan was okay when he found himself outnumbered and intimidated after missing his supporters' bus home.

An image of friendship between Celtic and Rangers fans has become a viral hit after it was shared on social media.

The image, posted by Twitter user Oweny Bhoy, showed his Celtic-supporting friend with three smiling Rangers fans who had come to his aid in the wake of the Hoops' 5-1 win yesterday at Ibrox.

Oweny told how the Rangers fans had intervened after a "few guys started on his pal". He said he was "proud" of how they had stuck up for his mate in the incident, believed to have happened at Ibrox subway station.

Matthew McGovaney, 21, one of the Rangers fans who stepped in, said he had been at the game with his brother, Brian, 30, and another family member.

He said they would normally get a taxi home, but the trio fancied a few drinks in Glasgow city centre after the match so headed for the subway.

Matthew, in the blue jersey on the right of the picture, said: "There were about 40 or 50 people at the station queuing up at the station and we noticed this guy with a green jacket and scarf on.

"He was looking at us and seemed a bit intimidated. Then he offered me his seat, because I'm on crutches for torn ligaments.

"I thanked him for the offer, but then another seat became free and I said I'd sit beside him as he looked a bit intimidated.

"There was a bit of singing and some fans chucking a few growlers at him, but there wasn't any trouble.

"I just wanted to make sure he was okay, because I wouldn't like to think of any of my friends or family who support Celtic finding themselves in that situation. Or if I found myself in the same situation, I wouldn't like it.

"Nothing happened, but it could have all have ended differently.

It was the appreciative Hoops fan's idea to stop a passer-by for the photo.

Matthew said: "He couldn't thank us enough.

"I told him he must be mad getting the subway after a game in the first place and he said he'd missed his supporters' bus, so had to get the subway.

"Initially, when he'd seen us wearing Stone Island clothes, he'd been a bit intimidated by us.

"My phone has been going mad since last night with Celtic and Rangers people commenting and saying well done and congratulating us, but we're just glad to have got him back safe."

The image has received thousands of retweets, likes and comments.

Twitter user Gordon Fairhurst siad: "Total respect for them three, well done guys"

Another going by the name Raging Pacifist said: "Fair play, there is very good people on both sides of the divide!!!"

Sickening in my opinion. Imagine standing posing smiling for a pic after seeing us lose. Roasters.

• Replies 96

Tbh thats a great story. I think the majority of both fans know how to keep the rivalry real. Compare that story to the young bear who got skelped with a bottle at the league cup semi? Thats unexcusable and i would say exactly the same if it had been a sellick fan who got skelped  

What the fuck, a have just read that and nothing happened,so he felt a bit inTIMidated because he was on the subway with a green jacket and a scarf,am taking it was a taig scarf,what is he expecting,have a wee laugh and a bit of banter with the clown,get to fuck,well if it was the other way round we all know what happens as we have seen already with a Rangers Fan on his way home on a train getting attacked,and what is the guy mentioning Stone Island for,no need to mention what you were wearing ya fecking eejit, oooooh am wearing a bit of SI, makes me a bit harder on matchdays, clown.

I have no idea why people are getting annoyed, upset or even give a shit about this to be honest. If I saw a ceptic fan getting the shit kicked out of him (which he wasn't) I would intervene too as I have a mate or two who are ceptic and baby ceptic fans. It helps I grew up in the Highlands, we do not have to suffer the tolerance of Glasgow levels but for fuck sake they were only accompanying the bloke after a football game no matter the fucking score.

A story about nothing. Like 95% of the time nothing actually happens between fans.

Media love to exaggerate every detail. You get supporters busses leaving from the same street in these games and fuck all happens. Same at Hampden games you'll get 2 sets of fans going on the train to central and nothing happens.

Media hype to build it up and the slightest wrong doing gets multiplied by a million.

Its not a friendly derby obv! Far from it but it's nothing like the media make out to people who've never attended theses games.

The police presence at the semi final and the weekend was over the top those guys in the full black body armour dunno what that was about.

Would love to see the Scottish media go to a derby in turkey or Greece they'd pass out at the atmosphere and violence they way they talk about an old firm here. There is hatred quite rightly but let's be honest it's not really unsafe at all going to these games.

43 minutes ago, MisterBlueSky said:

Three Rangers fans made sure a rival Celtic fan was okay when he found himself outnumbered and intimidated after missing his supporters' bus home.

An image of friendship between Celtic and Rangers fans has become a viral hit after it was shared on social media.

The image, posted by Twitter user Oweny Bhoy, showed his Celtic-supporting friend with three smiling Rangers fans who had come to his aid in the wake of the Hoops' 5-1 win yesterday at Ibrox.

Oweny told how the Rangers fans had intervened after a "few guys started on his pal". He said he was "proud" of how they had stuck up for his mate in the incident, believed to have happened at Ibrox subway station.

Matthew McGovaney, 21, one of the Rangers fans who stepped in, said he had been at the game with his brother, Brian, 30, and another family member.

He said they would normally get a taxi home, but the trio fancied a few drinks in Glasgow city centre after the match so headed for the subway.

Matthew, in the blue jersey on the right of the picture, said: "There were about 40 or 50 people at the station queuing up at the station and we noticed this guy with a green jacket and scarf on.

"He was looking at us and seemed a bit intimidated. Then he offered me his seat, because I'm on crutches for torn ligaments.

"I thanked him for the offer, but then another seat became free and I said I'd sit beside him as he looked a bit intimidated.

"There was a bit of singing and some fans chucking a few growlers at him, but there wasn't any trouble.

"I just wanted to make sure he was okay, because I wouldn't like to think of any of my friends or family who support Celtic finding themselves in that situation. Or if I found myself in the same situation, I wouldn't like it.

"Nothing happened, but it could have all have ended differently.

It was the appreciative Hoops fan's idea to stop a passer-by for the photo.

Matthew said: "He couldn't thank us enough.

"I told him he must be mad getting the subway after a game in the first place and he said he'd missed his supporters' bus, so had to get the subway.

"Initially, when he'd seen us wearing Stone Island clothes, he'd been a bit intimidated by us.

"My phone has been going mad since last night with Celtic and Rangers people commenting and saying well done and congratulating us, but we're just glad to have got him back safe."

The image has received thousands of retweets, likes and comments.

Twitter user Gordon Fairhurst siad: "Total respect for them three, well done guys"

Another going by the name Raging Pacifist said: "Fair play, there is very good people on both sides of the divide!!!"

Sickening in my opinion. Imagine standing posing smiling for a pic after seeing us lose. Roasters.

The wee shite will go back to shouting get the "brits out " and "H** scum" as soon as he was back with his mates.

Well a have just seen the picture that they have got taken of some random passer by,all nice and happy with the thumbs up,positive it's Cathedral Street,have they got him off the subway and even escorted him up to get his bus,the guys hobbling about on crutches,what the fuck,fair play,but if you're daft enough to get on subway expect a bit of hatred about,as others have said,derbys all over the world with bad things happening, absolutely nothing happened here,but it will be overshadowed by the Big Bad Bigoted Racist Rangers Fans, no doubt about it.

Don't like this whole "rescued from rangers fans" angle in that article... They suggesting we would just launch at a random cunt in the street for wearing green and white? 

Aye he will get some harsh words thrown at him, especially for going to Ibrox station right after an OF game (stupid bastard, get your phone out and book a taxi ya fanny), but seriously unless he's spouting pish to bears he's in no danger of being attack ffs... Us big bad Rangers fans.