Caixinha talks transfers

Guest Lloyd72

Guest Lloyd72

TRUST IN ME 

Rangers boss Pedro Caixinha opens up on summer transfer plans after being linked with Ryan Jack, Kenny McLean and Graham Dorrans

HE has been linked with Scots galore — but Pedro Caixinha insists he will have no problems bringing in players he knows best this summer.

Ryan Jack, Kenny McLean and Graham Dorrans have all been mentioned as targets for the new Rangers manager.

Pedro Caixinha faces a huge rebuilding job at Ibrox this summer

But he proved in 2015 when he landed the Mexican title with Santos that he is happy to look outside his country of employment for fresh faces.

Keep up to date with ALL the latest news, transfers and goals from Scottish football plus fixtures, results and live match commentary

Caixinha admitted: “I’m assessing our squad, both Scottish players and international players.

“We have a database of players and I have a lot of knowledge of players from different leagues and competitions.

“I won’t be the first or the last coach to go for players I know and trust.

“In Mexico I brought in a lot of players at once and in six months we were champions.

“Most of the players who came in were from Argentina. Three of them were crucial — one goalkeeper, one centre-half and one midfielder.

“They were vital in winning the title and they’re still doing a great job.”

He added: “We want a new cycle at Rangers, a new era. And I know the changes that need to be made.

“But we need to remember, five years ago this club was in the Third Division.

“There’s no other club in the world who have experienced this situation.

“Within five years, here we are in European competition again so things are going in the right direction.

“It’ll take time but we’re working to reduce that time.”

Caixinha will mould his selection of pre-season games with the Europa League opener on June 29 in mind.