espanyolification

magic8ball

A good few years ago .even before the tax case issues came to light a bear on follow follow penned an article called espanyolification .for those who didn't read it or haven't heard of it .it was alerting the Rangers community to the potential of a situation that happened in Barcelona during the late 50s and early 60s.back then there was little between the 2 clubs in the city .the clubs being Barcelona and espanyol .

The basis was that during that period the 2 clubs were pretty much on a level pegging .the difference being espanyol were a traditional club with more Spanish values and Barcelona being of a more local Catalonian mindset.

now I don't need to update you on today's current standing .but the author warned of what was happening and what could happen if we didn't take heed and do something.and remember this was almost 10yrs ago long before we were hamstrung by being demoted 

watching the events of yesterday. not just play wise but attitude of those scumbag bastards strutting about as if they owned the place shows that the espanyolification proficy is close to being very true .and if the proficy does becomes complete then it has dire consequences not just for us bears or our children but for Scotland as a whole 

watching those 2 inbred dicks Lego and thumb goad the support after the 2nd goal should be the turning point .those guys don't come from a background of being sellik through and through but are quite happy to jump on their coat tails and add to their myth of being "all inclusive " open to all and a club for the oppressed. 

now if that doesn't open the eyes of our fan base nothing will.the consequences of sitting back and doing nothing are inconceivable. there's no point saying.well it's Pedro's fault.its our boards fault .etc.the time now is to act while we still can to stop the espanyolification of our truly great club 

we need to unite as a support and not only back our manager and board.(we do not have a queue at the door to do more )back them not just by words and turning up every 2nd week .but we need the fan base to act 

my proposal is for the fans to unite in a membership scheme .a scheme similar to Rangers first and to the Rangers pools which was started to help fund the redevelopment of ibrox post 1971 

a bears lottery properly organised can provide investment .proper investment .the board gets stick but they funded the manager more than anybody expected this year.the manager gets stick but he has a background of better quality than most of the realistic alternatives have .proper investment allows the required boost to give us .not just our support but our heritage from being consigned to a part of Scottish history 

14 minutes ago, magic8ball said:

A good few years ago .even before the tax case issues came to light a bear on follow follow penned an article called espanyolification .for those who didn't read it or haven't heard of it .it was alerting the Rangers community to the potential of a situation that happened in Barcelona during the late 50s and early 60s.back then there was little between the 2 clubs in the city .the clubs being Barcelona and espanyol .

The basis was that during that period the 2 clubs were pretty much on a level pegging .the difference being espanyol were a traditional club with more Spanish values and Barcelona being of a more local Catalonian mindset.

now I don't need to update you on today's current standing .but the author warned of what was happening and what could happen if we didn't take heed and do something.and remember this was almost 10yrs ago long before we were hamstrung by being demoted 

watching the events of yesterday. not just play wise but attitude of those scumbag bastards strutting about as if they owned the place shows that the espanyolification proficy is close to being very true .and if the proficy does becomes complete then it has dire consequences not just for us bears or our children but for Scotland as a whole 

watching those 2 inbred dicks Lego and thumb goad the support after the 2nd goal should be the turning point .those guys don't come from a background of being sellik through and through but are quite happy to jump on their coat tails and add to their myth of being "all inclusive " open to all and a club for the oppressed. 

now if that doesn't open the eyes of our fan base nothing will.the consequences of sitting back and doing nothing are inconceivable. there's no point saying.well it's Pedro's fault.its our boards fault .etc.the time now is to act while we still can to stop the espanyolification of our truly great club 

we need to unite as a support and not only back our manager and board.(we do not have a queue at the door to do more )back them not just by words and turning up every 2nd week .but we need the fan base to act 

my proposal is for the fans to unite in a membership scheme .a scheme similar to Rangers first and to the Rangers pools which was started to help fund the redevelopment of ibrox post 1971 

a bears lottery properly organised can provide investment .proper investment .the board gets stick but they funded the manager more than anybody expected this year.the manager gets stick but he has a background of better quality than most of the realistic alternatives have .proper investment allows the required boost to give us .not just our support but our heritage from being consigned to a part of Scottish history 

You are aware of the issues with previous attempts to unite the fans?

You say back the manager, yet he has not improved us one bit.

I'm not familiar with what caused espanyols problems, or where they are. What I do know is we spend the second highest on outgoings in Scottish football...yet we look like any other  team in the league. 

I appreciate anything investment wise helps, but there's not much point in investing if it's used to bring in the poor level of signings we have seen over recent years.

11 minutes ago, stewaj3 said:

You are aware of the issues with previous attempts to unite the fans?

You say back the manager, yet he has not improved us one bit.

I'm not familiar with what caused espanyols problems, or where they are. What I do know is we spend the second highest on outgoings in Scottish football...yet we look like any other  team in the league. 

I appreciate anything investment wise helps, but there's not much point in investing if it's used to bring in the poor level of signings we have seen over recent years.

Google espanyolification. it will get you to the article .read it and I'm sure you will be shocked at the similarities to what is and has happened in the last few years. 

now my post isn't a support Pedro.support our board post.its to highlight the plight and potential irreversible disaster our club now faces. as it stands today we need to back everything associated to our club.whether it's our manager.our board or even our worst player. espanyolification is happening and is very real.the only thing that can now stop it is  uniting and halting what is happening firstly then taking the next stage to take us back to being scotlands traditional premier club .then we can argue wether our manager or board is fit for purpose 

4 minutes ago, magic8ball said:

Google espanyolification. it will get you to the article .read it and I'm sure you will be shocked at the similarities to what is and has happened in the last few years. 

now my post isn't a support Pedro.support our board post.its to highlight the plight and potential irreversible disaster our club now faces. as it stands today we need to back everything associated to our club.whether it's our manager.our board or even our worst player. espanyolification is happening and is very real.the only thing that can now stop it is  uniting and halting what is happening firstly then taking the next stage to take us back to being scotlands traditional premier club .then we can argue wether our manager or board is fit for purpose 

I'm intrigued, will have a read 

I get the point. I can't take the word "espanyolification" seriously though.

It isn't happening though, it's already happened. We've been turned in to a small club, our rivalry with them has now been diluted to the extent that we're just something for them to poke fun at now. The games are one sided as fuck and our players no longer hate them but instead have a laugh and joke with them after the games while our youth players are all practically rimming them on social media.

The club needs cleansed from top to bottom.

2 minutes ago, SIRB_72 said:

So I just googled Espanyolification and it came up with loads of taig threads and highlights of the 5-1 game which is unfortunate considering I'd like to read this.  It also means they've picked up on it a while ago!

Of course they've picked up on it. They read our forums more than they read their own.

On many occasions i have brought up the subject of getting our club back where it needs to be and i can't see any other way to do this than pulling the fans together, this is exactly where we are and are heading unless the fan groups can sit down with each other and agree that a united fan base is the only real way we can reverse this trend.

Is it more important that we call each other wankers because we see things differently or is the future of our club more important.

We are in a very serious position at the moment and only money and trust can get us back where we need to be, we don't have a Knight in shining armour, it may even be that those who fucked us recently were in party with our scum neighbours.

We cannot trust anyone other than ourselves.

Surely there is a trustworthy dyed in the wool Rangers man that can head up such a fans group.

Reading most of the comments it seems we accept that money is the problem, is it really the problem or is it our inclination to in-fight that is the problem......

Almost 50,000 plus fans turn up every other week, where is the business nous in the club to take Rangers to Australia, America and where ever else in a weekly basis via website, TV, merchandise etc we are woeful in this space.

I have said before and i say it again i will pay a season ticket price plus more for free Rangers TV and a top every year to stop these manky bastards.

Another 50,000 worldwide debiting 10 pounds a week into our club for the playing pool only - is it really that much an ask and is it really that difficult to see what the outcome will be if we can't put our inter fan group bullshit aside.

I fear the worst at times, we talk it well we need to walk it better.

19 minutes ago, harry handsome said:

On many occasions i have brought up the subject of getting our club back where it needs to be and i can't see any other way to do this than pulling the fans together, this is exactly where we are and are heading unless the fan groups can sit down with each other and agree that a united fan base is the only real way we can reverse this trend.

Is it more important that we call each other wankers because we see things differently or is the future of our club more important.

We are in a very serious position at the moment and only money and trust can get us back where we need to be, we don't have a Knight in shining armour, it may even be that those who fucked us recently were in party with our scum neighbours.

We cannot trust anyone other than ourselves.

Surely there is a trustworthy dyed in the wool Rangers man that can head up such a fans group.

Reading most of the comments it seems we accept that money is the problem, is it really the problem or is it our inclination to in-fight that is the problem......

Almost 50,000 plus fans turn up every other week, where is the business nous in the club to take Rangers to Australia, America and where ever else in a weekly basis via website, TV, merchandise etc we are woeful in this space.

I have said before and i say it again i will pay a season ticket price plus more for free Rangers TV and a top every year to stop these manky bastards.

Another 50,000 worldwide debiting 10 pounds a week into our club for the playing pool only - is it really that much an ask and is it really that difficult to see what the outcome will be if we can't put our inter fan group bullshit aside.

I fear the worst at times, we talk it well we need to walk it better.

The sad thing is that the high heid yin fans are troughdwellers who actively pursue their own blue pound earnings over the well being of the club.

38 minutes ago, thehost said:

The sad thing is that the high heid yin fans are troughdwellers who actively pursue their own blue pound earnings over the well being of the club.

Dont in any way agree/disagree what we do need to do is move past that mindset or belief otherwise we are well and truly fucked. If and when we go down the route of fan ownership it needs to be with a clear defined business plan and independent accountant/auditor in the middle of it all, we can and do need to help our club. That means we need to change our mindset of its fucked to a mindset of its fucked and we need to fix it because no one else will. 

Im not totally against King etc and i do feel a sense of security with our club being in his hands - i don't feel a sense of ballsy investment or for that matter that he has access to the funds to do it even if he wanted to.

It has to be fan investment - we can't sit and shit all over people if we can't even agree between fan groups.

Just now, harry handsome said:

Dont in any way agree/disagree what we do need to do is move past that mindset or belief otherwise we are well and truly fucked. If and when we go down the route of fan ownership it needs to be with a clear defined business plan and independent accountant/auditor in the middle of it all, we can and do need to help our club. That means we need to change our mindset of its fucked to a mindset of its fucked and we need to fix it because no one else will. 

Im not totally against King etc and i do feel a sense of security with our club being in his hands - i don't feel a sense of ballsy investment or for that matter that he has access to the funds to do it even if he wanted to.

It has to be fan investment - we can't sit and shit all over people if we can't even agree between fan groups.

fan investment, my arse. We shove shedloads in. The fact that the board couldn't run a bath is our downfall. You have "supposed" fans in charge, we don't need fans we need actual businessmen with a degree of nouse and a desire to profiteer, that type of mentality would not accept the current model of abject failure.

I have more in common with liewell than I do with paul murray. 

10 minutes ago, thehost said:

fan investment, my arse. We shove shedloads in. The fact that the board couldn't run a bath is our downfall. You have "supposed" fans in charge, we don't need fans we need actual businessmen with a degree of nouse and a desire to profiteer, that type of mentality would not accept the current model of abject failure.

I have more in common with liewell than I do with paul murray. 

So where has the money come from that they invested in the playing squad this year? I get your point about the fans putting in - they do put plenty in but the harsh fact is we don't have a benefactor willing to pump millions in, where do we find money to counter the money they are pulling in - it can only be found through existing contributors...... 

If you look at my original comment - i said "another 50,000 worldwide" or are we kidding ourselves on that we have they numbers around the globe. 

Just now, harry handsome said:

So where has the money come from that they invested in the playing squad this year? I get your point about the fans putting in - they do put plenty in but the harsh fact is we don't have a benefactor willing to pump millions in, where do we find money to counter the money they are pulling in - it can only be found through existing contributors...... 

If you look at my original comment - i said "another 50,000 worldwide" or are we kidding ourselves on that we have they numbers around the globe. 

The money hasn't come from:

innovative sponsorship deals

commercial partnerships

or

CL revenue

have a look at the filth's revenue figures, then have look at ours

fans cannot make that difference

6 hours ago, magic8ball said:

The board only funded the manager with OUR money

I'm all for uniting the fans if the usual blue pound and blazer chasing subjects are nowhere near any venture to do so

If the espanyolification included how to deal with corrupt authorities who provide state aid, government bodies who pursue over legal tax schemes, biased footballing bodies who target one club and punish with illegal and unjust sanctions, compliance officers who turn blind eyes, and referees who show 'honest mistake" bias on a weekly basis then I'm interested.

Does it? 

We have become Espanyol to Celtics Barcelona. This is where we are now. Almost irrelevant in our own city. Thanks King, thanks Warbs and Pedro, thanks Mr Park and thank you behind the couch Paul Murray. You have all collectively made us a provincial non entity. The only difference between this board and the last one they outed is that they now incredibly do support Rangers, or rather, grew up Rangers fans, fuck knows what they are now because the clubs best interests ain't in their heart anymore. As we approach the Xmas period we sleep walk into a 3rd consecutive year of failure under them. Enough is enough. It's time we became fucking Real Madrid again and not fucking Espanyol. 

Interesting post OP.

Here's a wee snippet from Wikipedia.

"On numerous occasions the RCD Espanyol has complained of an unfavourable treatment and sometimes directly offensive according to them towards the club in favour of FC Barcelona by some public media dependent on the Generalidat of Catalonia like TV3"

These days we Rangers fans especially know that society and politics can have a huge influence on sport. Other examples that spring to mind are the profile raising and fawning too teams like Man United and Liverpool, whilst the more "traditional" establishment sides like Arsenal or newcomers like Chelsea are often maligned or receive less positive exposure.

Media people and much of what we would call higher society in politics in Scotland can't get enough of their beloved cellic. And down south they are all over Man United. And the ignorant egotistic "celebrities" follow suit. 

There is indeed a great danger the Tims will be kept in their position by favourably biased media and politicians.

So many parallels in the OPs post to us, however to end on a more positive note the one only difference is we have the "real"  (forgive the Spanish pun) tradition, heritage and popular support(and that includes the voting support who can get rid of the poisonous Labour/SNP catholic cabals) to return to the top, hopefully in the short term.

Not sure about the 50s and 60s but having been to their stadium and not being admitted to one of their games 

I can tell you .They have a very small club mentality that are quite happy to be the whipping boys for Barca nowadays 

Their Stadium is pretty good with a superb shopping ,restaurant and bars facility directly beside it .Bears would be in heaven with this .Very impressive 

However I take your point 

I think marginalised is a better word

That is what is happening here is Central Scotland 

2 minutes ago, eejay the dj said:

Not sure about the 50s and 60s but having been to their stadium and not being admitted to one of their games 

I can tell you .They have a very small club mentality that are quite happy to be the whipping boys for Barca nowadays 

Their Stadium is pretty good with a superb shopping ,restaurant and bars facility directly beside it .Bears would be in heaven with this .Very impressive 

However I take your point 

I think marginalised is a better word

That is what is happening here is Central Scotland 

Excellent post Eejay.