Wee Barry admires Lennon

Aye Barry, you're certainly angling for a media job!

Barry Ferguson has revealed his respect for former Old Firm nemesis Neil Lennon. Speaking to Si Ferry as part of Open Goal’s series of in-depth Scottish football interviews, Ferguson revealed how he ‘had a lot of time’ for Lennon, adding: “He got a bit of criticism for the type of player he was.

“But he was a player celtic needed. He wouldn’t win you a game but he just sat in the middle and did a great job.” Ferguson, who spent 13 years in total at Ibrox over two spells, also picked out Paul Lambert as ‘another guy I had a lot of respect for’. Ferguson continued: “Stan Petrov, I thought he was an excellent player. Roy Keane, was probably one of my favourite midfielders of all time.
“I know he’s a celtic man but you’ve got to see what he did at Man Utd. He was coming to the end of his career when he was at celtic but it was great to play against him. “Lenny was probably the battle. A celtic man through and through - and I’ve obviously been brought up a Rangers man. Two guys who just want to win. “People don’t realise that during the game, we hated each other and wanted to kill each other basically, to win for your team. “But after the game, it’s all forgotten about – the respect is there.” 

Seems entirely normal that two players playing for rival teams constantly doing battle with each other would retire respecting the others ability. They're both professional sportsman. and played for good teams at the top of their game. 

Im sure all rivals in all sports single or team games respect each other from boxing to football and from rugby to tennis  

This he should hate all their players cos they played for them stuff is childish school boy stuff. 

Non story. 

5 minutes ago, psb07158 said:

I posted it in The Bears Den. Folk just want to pick out small bits so they can get their dig in at him.

I'm not even a huge Barry fan either. Never forgave him after he left us for Blackburn because he was one of my heroes and when he came back I always classed him as a jumped up wee ned, but I actually really enjoyed watching that interview and can't wait to see the other instalments. He's back in my good books again :lol: 

Just now, McEwan's Lager said:

I'm not even a huge Barry fan either. Never forgave him after he left us for Blackburn because he was one of my heroes and when he came back I always classed him as a jumped up wee ned, but I actually really enjoyed watching that interview and can't wait to see the other instalments. He's back in my good books again :lol: 

Si Ferry did some with Kevin Thomson and Boyd too. Boyd is dry as fuck but Kevin Thomson's are pretty good. All on the Open Goal Twitter / website

3 minutes ago, psb07158 said:

Si Ferry did some with Kevin Thomson and Boyd too. Boyd is dry as fuck but Kevin Thomson's are pretty good. All on the Open Goal Twitter / website

Yeah they are good huh. I even watched the Scott McDonald one :mutley: 

I quite liked the Boyd one tbh. It was interesting when he said he had really got himself fit in the Le Guen season but felt he was struggling and didn't have enough energy and when Walter came back in he told him to get back on the burgers.

There's a similar story like that with Roy Keane who went on this crazy fitness regime with Ryan Giggs (I think) and had to give it up because he felt like he had no energy anymore and it was back down the pub a couple of times a week.

1 hour ago, McEwan's Lager said:

Yeah they are good huh. I even watched the Scott McDonald one :mutley: 

I quite liked the Boyd one tbh. It was interesting when he said he had really got himself fit in the Le Guen season but felt he was struggling and didn't have enough energy and when Walter came back in he told him to get back on the burgers.

There's a similar story like that with Roy Keane who went on this crazy fitness regime with Ryan Giggs (I think) and had to give it up because he felt like he had no energy anymore and it was back down the pub a couple of times a week.

Can't remember if you're a cricket fan or not, but Inzamam-ul-Haq got quite fit (for him) at one point in his career and he was consistently performing poorly. Went back to his old diet of curries during lunch and he was back scoring runs again :lol:. It's mental how it works that way for some people. 

11 minutes ago, psb07158 said:

Can't remember if you're a cricket fan or not, but Inzamam-ul-Haq got quite fit (for him) at one point in his career and he was consistently performing poorly. Went back to his old diet of curries during lunch and he was back scoring runs again :lol:. It's mental how it works that way for some people. 

Haha never knew that.

Inzamam was a great cricketer and one of my favourites.

On 03/10/2017 at 18:55, Loyaleastend said:

Aye Barry, you're certainly angling for a media job!

Barry Ferguson has revealed his respect for former Old Firm nemesis Neil Lennon. Speaking to Si Ferry as part of Open Goal’s series of in-depth Scottish football interviews, Ferguson revealed how he ‘had a lot of time’ for Lennon, adding: “He got a bit of criticism for the type of player he was.

“But he was a player celtic needed. He wouldn’t win you a game but he just sat in the middle and did a great job.” Ferguson, who spent 13 years in total at Ibrox over two spells, also picked out Paul Lambert as ‘another guy I had a lot of respect for’. Ferguson continued: “Stan Petrov, I thought he was an excellent player. Roy Keane, was probably one of my favourite midfielders of all time.
“I know he’s a celtic man but you’ve got to see what he did at Man Utd. He was coming to the end of his career when he was at celtic but it was great to play against him. “Lenny was probably the battle. A celtic man through and through - and I’ve obviously been brought up a Rangers man. Two guys who just want to win. “People don’t realise that during the game, we hated each other and wanted to kill each other basically, to win for your team. “But after the game, it’s all forgotten about – the respect is there.” 

This is why I hate those little cunt Ferguson bothers