Best film scene ever?

ElBufalo20

• Replies 63

7 hours ago, TheGovanIniesta said:

I’ve never understood why anyone likes that trainspotting scene, it literally rips the pish out of loyalists and makes them look like absolute morons, it seems funny to some purely because it slags Catholics but it’s actually aimed at the hippy Glasgow uni type wankers who slaughter Protestants to fit in.

Danny Boyle was in the louden to do research for this scene

I’ve never understood why anyone likes that trainspotting scene, it literally rips the pish out of loyalists and makes them look like absolute morons, it seems funny to some purely because it slags Catholics but it’s actually aimed at the hippy Glasgow uni type wankers who slaughter Protestants to fit in.

Renton actually pays loyalists a compliment at the beginning of that scene, saying that they are one of only a few communities left in society who have a sense of identity. 

It's funny and spot on. No need to be so serious. I'm sure you've been in many a scene like that yourself. I know I have, and also plenty of people do use 1690 as a pin/password etc. Nothing up with having a laugh at yourself.

Laugh at yourself and at life. Not in the spirit of derision or whining self-pity, but as a remedy, a miracle drug, that will ease your pain, cure your depression, and help you to put in perspective that seemingly terrible defeat... Never take yourself too seriously.

4 hours ago, With Heart and Hand said:

wouldn't say hes high on the rabid scale, dislikes the catholic church and nationalism

And he was friends with Princess Anne. I'm fairly certain he something along the lines of "I'm not going to not be friends with her because some socialists in Glasgow don't like it".

7 hours ago, Bearsden bear said:

Must admit, i found it quite funny.

Not exactly the same but our support are often villified and others assume many things about us cos we follow a certain team.

Well they can piss off with that, i wont change my feelings or behaviour to fit in or because i am worried what others might think. I dont expect any other Gers fan would do so either.

Correct wear out colors with pride and remind them at every opportunity on what they are, parasites trying to destroy their host 

10 hours ago, TheGovanIniesta said:

Yep, it's a cheap shot intended to reinforce the undesirable subculture of idiots impression and to mock us yet some Rangers/Unionist people lap it up.  

They would never have touched an IRAoke the same way, because the type that made that are much more comfortable ripping the piss out of the PUL community, probably because they hate it more. 

The PUL community are inept at winning the propaganda battle. Seeing this as funny as opposed to an insult is just another example of that.

5 minutes ago, Inigo said:

Yep, it's a cheap shot intended to reinforce the undesirable subculture of idiots impression and to mock us yet some Rangers/Unionist people lap it up.  

They would never have touched an IRAoke the same way, because the type that made that are much more comfortable ripping the piss out of the PUL community, probably because they hate it more. 

The PUL community are inept at winning the propaganda battle. Seeing this as funny as opposed to an insult is just another example of that.

The 1690 bit made me laugh just because it was quite well written, if it was left at that then fair enough.

I typed out the same thing about 5 times that if it was about Muslims or Catholics it wouldn’t make the film regardless and that it panders to those who slaughter orange walks but never say a peep about republican walks, but didn’t want to seem like a greeting faced bastard who likes the sound of his own voice :lol:

28 minutes ago, TheGovanIniesta said:

The 1690 bit made me laugh just because it was quite well written, if it was left at that then fair enough.

I typed out the same thing about 5 times that if it was about Muslims or Catholics it wouldn’t make the film regardless and that it panders to those who slaughter orange walks but never say a peep about republican walks, but didn’t want to seem like a greeting faced bastard who likes the sound of his own voice :lol:

Like yourself you don't want to go on and on and the whole thing gets tiresome but it was very much part of the "dehumanisation" process we've seen time and time again. Forgive me for using the word "dehumanisation" as i'm aware it appears hysterical and over the top but it's true. 

A journalist in a national newspaper completely fabricated a story that Rangers fans "used children as human shields" and every two-bit journalist in the county lept to her defence. 

Just now, gsa said:

Like yourself you don't want to go on and on and the whole thing gets tiresome but it was very much part of the "dehumanisation" process we've seen time and time again. Forgive me for using the word "dehumanisation" as i'm aware it appears hysterical and over the top but it's true. 

A journalist in a national newspaper completely fabricated a story that Rangers fans "used children as human shields" and every two-bit journalist in the county lept to her defence. 

That’s why as cringe worthy as it is to moan about it as if it’s a big deal it does get to me a bit, it all ties into the current fenian fest scotland is, it’s really not a seen as the popular choice to be a Rangers fan or a Protestant in modern day Scotland, too many jump on the bandwagon and it’s 100% always the gimps who have a stauner for Muslims, Catholics and free speech.

11 hours ago, TheGovanIniesta said:

For some no doubt which is why I find it quite funny but it was definitely intended to be your typical big bad Protestant piece rather than anyone in Scotland ever daring to take a swipe at Catholics, always see my mates share it or whatever completely missing the point of the scene 

I doubt many people who like or share the video are actually missing the point of the scene tbh It's pretty obvious its a piss take.   

It's still funny though and the songs catchy as fuck :lol:

9 hours ago, To Be A Ranger said:

It's funny and spot on. No need to be so serious. I'm sure you've been in many a scene like that yourself. I know I have, and also plenty of people do use 1690 as a pin/password etc. Nothing up with having a laugh at yourself.

Laugh at yourself and at life. Not in the spirit of derision or whining self-pity, but as a remedy, a miracle drug, that will ease your pain, cure your depression, and help you to put in perspective that seemingly terrible defeat... Never take yourself too seriously.

its one thing having a laugh its another playing to and encouraging the stereotype that were all knuckledraggers whos main concern is the elimination of catholics

people believe that the 12th and 1690 are remembered not as a celebration of our culture, but because we killed lots of catholics, loyalists didnt defend their communities during the troubles they just murdered catholics, we dont hate celtic because they are our biggest rivals and are terrorist supporting scum we hate them because they're catholic. We don't care about ourselves our only concern is the elimination of catholics

all this does is play into that

apparently the authors next book involves and is set on the date of the Hibs final where the riot occurred, will it be funny and catchy if it features scenes of Rangers fans throwing their weans in front of riot vans?

folk bang on about the way we are portrayed in the media etc then when a major motion picture, probably the biggest scottish film of the decade, features Rangers fans in the stereotypical knuckle dragging bigoted fashion folk lap it up and play into the stereotype, then when the media moan about us singing it they'll act offended

and the film was shite anyway. Its funny and catchy if youre about 12 years old and like discovering new swear words and naughty songs, yet you get full grown men giggling like wee lassies about it

Rabid tarriers take the piss in rabid tarrier film shocker...

FFs it's a 3 minute scene in what is overall a shite film, people are reading too much into it. Having a wee laugh about it and jokingly saying its a catchy tune is hardly playing to and encouraging the stereotype that we're all knuckledraggers or that we're 12 year olds learning new swear words and naughty songs and giggling like wee school lassies. :lol:

We used to laugh at the tarriers getting all offended by everything and anything, some of us are getting as bad... Beep beep all aboard.

1 hour ago, With Heart and Hand said:

its one thing having a laugh its another playing to and encouraging the stereotype that were all knuckledraggers whos main concern is the elimination of catholics

people believe that the 12th and 1690 are remembered not as a celebration of our culture, but because we killed lots of catholics, loyalists didnt defend their communities during the troubles they just murdered catholics, we dont hate celtic because they are our biggest rivals and are terrorist supporting scum we hate them because they're catholic. We don't care about ourselves our only concern is the elimination of catholics

all this does is play into that

apparently the authors next book involves and is set on the date of the Hibs final where the riot occurred, will it be funny and catchy if it features scenes of Rangers fans throwing their weans in front of riot vans?

folk bang on about the way we are portrayed in the media etc then when a major motion picture, probably the biggest scottish film of the decade, features Rangers fans in the stereotypical knuckle dragging bigoted fashion folk lap it up and play into the stereotype, then when the media moan about us singing it they'll act offended

and the film was shite anyway. Its funny and catchy if youre about 12 years old and like discovering new swear words and naughty songs, yet you get full grown men giggling like wee lassies about it

Both films, both brilliant.

13 hours ago, Captain Hilts said:

Renton actually pays loyalists a compliment at the beginning of that scene, saying that they are one of only a few communities left in society who have a sense of identity. 

Renton in Trainspotting comes from a loyalist background in the book although he is a hibs fan.