RSC's - Our Lifeblood ?

D'Artagnan

On 14/07/2018 at 06:37, D'Artagnan said:

A quick trawl through online dictionaries provides a variety of similar and succinct definitions for “Lifeblood”.

“a vital or life-giving force or component”

“the indispensable factor or influence that gives something its strength and vitality”

“the thing that is most important to the continuing success and existence of something else”

RSC’s are not comprised of people who view themselves as “uber fans”, who consider themselves better or more deserving than others, they are just a group of bears who, most probably for geographical reasons, have aligned themselves together with the common purpose of following and supporting the club we love.

They have evolved significantly since the days of their forerunner – the brake club, a name given honouring the mode of transport. A brake was large horse drawn carriage which could transport 20-30 people and brake clubs often had their own distinct banner in much the same way our modern RSC’s have their distinct logos. What a sight to behold that must have been!

With the development of both motorised transport and the railways the days of the brake as a form of transport were numbered, but not so the recognised value of Rangers fans uniting together with the common purpose of following and supporting the club they loved.

The modern-day RSC is a vital component part of the Rangers community with many more far reaching benefits than just transport. It serves to bring together like minded Rangers supporters who otherwise would have been strangers. I have in my phone 23 names which would not had been there had I not joined my local RSC. These are guys I speak with, rip the piss out of (always reciprocated) and socialise with on an almost daily basis. Our local RSC is effectively networking, bringing together people with a shared mission and vision. Collectively it serves to ignite the flames of passion for our football club. It is vital, it is strength giving and it is indispensable.

Networking with other RSC’s is a further benefit, and on several occasions now we have enjoyed the hospitality of our friends in the Toryglen True Blues. Their passion and desire for our club is epitomised on the Rangers website “Buses leave 20 Social Club, Rutherglen for every Rangers game in Scotland and to every away European game that is reachable by bus” One can almost feel the “come hell or high water” oozing out of that!

For a club which draws its support from all over Scotland and beyond the local RSC serves as the focal point for the Rangers diaspora, and one only has to look at the incredible work and achievements of the Plymouth True Blues, @ThePTBs1988 for those on twitter, as a shining example.

Of course, irrespective of the many collateral benefits of an RSC, transport to and from games remain their primary function. The local Rangers Supporter Bus provides not only an essential service, but also by their character and nature, an indispensable service. They bridge the gap in the lack of provision afforded by public transport. With their localised pick ups and unique dropping off points they can make the difference between success and failure in our desire to follow Rangers, particularly for those who find themselves less able these days. In short, they offer affordability and accessibility. It is probably no co-incidence that the largest RSC in the world is in the far-flung regions of Lewis & Harris.

As an RSC member I consider myself no better nor deserving than the bear who jumps in his or her car and makes the solitary journey to watch our beloved team. Having done that for many a year myself, I have the utmost respect for them. But having joined my local RSC, the energy, vitality and sense of belonging it provides is a drug of addiction I couldn’t be without.

Our RSC’s are our lifeblood in so many ways – let’s make sure we sustain them.

A post I 100% agree with!! Good job! 

In an ideal world, I would have posted this as a separate topic, however, as a new subscriber, seems like I can't start a new thread.

That duly acknowledged, perhaps this naturally 'follows on' (sic) from my only ever post, on this thread, recently noting I was 60 in May there and recalling my reminiscences with those formative days a as youngster on the *Rangers supporters bus*.

So... my son has suddenly taken a liking to being a Rangers fan...

Well, not really, he was born a Bear, just that his musical career meant we've only really had some time to ourselves of late.

The genesis remains that close community this topic celebrates and maybe sometimes we are now in a situation where time allows us to pass  on same.

We watched this earlier:

'Dynamos Draw With Rangers (1945)'

A few years back, as a result of some non football related historical research, I became aware that 'Pathe News' had just released their landmark archive film vault online. As many of you might realise, some/all of that content is now available on YouTube.

There was some extraordinary, legendary, historical Rangers footage.

Haven't revisited this for a couple of years and earlier was showing the Rangers content to my son and his mates, who had never seen anything like this before. 

Our shout, aside from the 1928 era cup finals - fair enough, there's not always sound on these early films - but that's not the point, - we still have the glorious sight of 120,000 bunnets!

So, if we might suggest: search on YouTube for:

We were all simply stunned and could never have imagined this 1945 film existed.

Consequently, we decided to accurately document the essence of  that 1945 'Pathe' , 'commentry', as the more we watched it, the more it became abundantly evident this was such an elemental snapshot of not only football history, it defined the Club's status at that time.... 1945... 

We have just run a search on this fixture and no surprise, it was indeed somewhat landmark.

That now understood, these are some remarks from the accompanied 'Pathe' narrative which you might find fascinating - given when it dates from.

And so, our 1945 Rangers film naturally begins with the ubiquitous Scottish pipe band...

'Pathe' commentary:

"Glasgow turned on a characteristicly 'Hielan' welcome, when the Moscow Dynamo invaded Ibrox Park to meet the Rangers".

"...The 90,000 crowd were in for a treat, recalling the days when Scotsmen were considered the supreme footballers".

"...Set Rangers the task of representing British football and they went into the match, determined to do just that".

"...Scotland brightened up 5 minutes before the interval, Jimmy Smith scrambled through to score".

"...Rangers seemed all set for striking a blow for 'Bonnie Scotland'".

"...Gave Rangers a second penalty chance. Young did the scoring, not world beaters, but a magnificent team, Dynamo should visit again this year".

Essentially, we all agreed it was  justified the reason I would post this was twofold:

One was the above...

The second was the accompanying narrative - we have to keep in mind that not only was this 1945, the narrator is *somewhat 'quintessentially English'* and the above extracts are inadequate - you really have to see and hear this Rangers capture from 1945 - it's easily available online and a fabulous watch.

D'Artagnan.... you started this.

Consequently, after much deliberation amongst ourselves, we feel it is only fitting that the following newly found Rangers historical landmark should be dedicated to you.

What's that mate...?
What did we uncover...?

Only what is arguably one of the best football quotes ever - our narrator,... *Rangers,1945, 'Pathe News'*:

"After the turnaround, the Dynamo blow a fuse "...

On 14/07/2018 at 07:02, Rfc52 said:

We are local to Glasgow but I went home on our bus. You'd think we'd just beaten barca the way our bus were singing and dancing the whole way home. Like you say the buzz on a bus at times is brilliant.

You then have all the characters, you get the daft drunk who's always a mess, you have the sensible head that looks after all the loonies, you have the member who does ridiculous stuff whether it's a 10 minute journey or 4 hours.

It's a great wee community and tbh without my own bus, KPL, Drumchapel loyal RSC, and the bus that leaves the brigton 7ways I'd not have made even 1/4 of the games I have.

4 buses that have been fortunate enough to have my company. 

Nae idea what you’re referring to, know no one sensible :lol:

great article Dart

i had no idea that RSCs existed before buses were a thing. Had never heard of Brake Clubs.

Hopefully RSCs are something that exists as long as the club does, id hate to see the tradition die out although i cant see that happening anyway any time soon

untill i was 16 and we moved to Largs id never been a member of a Club or travelled by Rangers bus to the games, wouldn't have it any other way now. Its definitely the best way to travel to games.

My bus is really tame compared to other buses tho, really strict with drink and moaning about singing etc, but still a great bus and Club, would love to do an away trip on one of the mental buses we always pass where its clear that drinking and partying on the bus isnt an issue :lol:

On 20/07/2018 at 08:03, Callum_Doon said:

In an ideal world, I would have posted this as a separate topic, however, as a new subscriber, seems like I can't start a new thread.

That duly acknowledged, perhaps this naturally 'follows on' (sic) from my only ever post, on this thread, recently noting I was 60 in May there and recalling my reminiscences with those formative days a as youngster on the *Rangers supporters bus*.

So... my son has suddenly taken a liking to being a Rangers fan...

Well, not really, he was born a Bear, just that his musical career meant we've only really had some time to ourselves of late.

The genesis remains that close community this topic celebrates and maybe sometimes we are now in a situation where time allows us to pass  on same.

We watched this earlier:

A few years back, as a result of some non football related historical research, I became aware that 'Pathe News' had just released their landmark archive film vault online. As many of you might realise, some/all of that content is now available on YouTube.

There was some extraordinary, legendary, historical Rangers footage.

Haven't revisited this for a couple of years and earlier was showing the Rangers content to my son and his mates, who had never seen anything like this before. 

Som great stuff there Callum - many thanks for sharing

On 20/07/2018 at 17:46, With Heart and Hand said:

great article Dart

i had no idea that RSCs existed before buses were a thing. Had never heard of Brake Clubs.

Hopefully RSCs are something that exists as long as the club does, id hate to see the tradition die out although i cant see that happening anyway any time soon

untill i was 16 and we moved to Largs id never been a member of a Club or travelled by Rangers bus to the games, wouldn't have it any other way now. Its definitely the best way to travel to games.

My bus is really tame compared to other buses tho, really strict with drink and moaning about singing etc, but still a great bus and Club, would love to do an away trip on one of the mental buses we always pass where its clear that drinking and partying on the bus isnt an issue :lol:

There used to be a Brake Club Banner in the Bouvrie Rangers Club in Port Glasgow.

Spoiler

Rsc are the lifeblood of the away support imagine travelling to every away game via car or train wouldn’t be the same. I’ve met some of my best mates through Kelso loyal. A lot older guys on our bus but good mix of a few middle aged lads too, Great run and great laugh, made the last 5 year bareable 

11 hours ago, D'Artagnan said:

Som great stuff there Callum - many thanks for sharing

It's a pleasure. I have long admired the terrific, unselfish, work by yourself and others with only the club's interest at heart.

Just a final highlight I thought may be of interest to many subscribers:

'With the Glasgow Rangers in Ontario (1930)'

Recently, I was revisiting the Pathe news archives made available online from YouTube in 2014 - there's always the possibility still something of note you might not have come across before.

I wondered if this could be such an occurrence.

The headlined video is one I have never seen before or heard of, although I obviously expect it's not entirely unknown.

It's almost 11 minutes long and although a shame there's no accompanying soundtrack, not untypical for such and old film and let's be grateful for the visual that has survived.

What first caught my attention was the opening sequence :

William Struth places a wreath on the Cenotaph.

It's extraordinarily superbly filmed, as the camera pauses and then slowly pans up to reveal a truly magnificent Cenotaph, etched, "TO OUR GLORIOUS DEAD".

Perhaps, like myself, many might find this short sequence alone poignant

So... on to the game itself!

It's being played at 'Ulster Stadium'.

And Rangers are facing 'Ulster United'.

Can you see where this is going...?

Is that a 'Red Hand' in the centre of their strip...?

Really... seriously...

Damn, wish this was in colour.

For some on this forum though, perhaps the resulting historical interest is the 1930 'Ulster United' kit.

Never mind the Orange top Hummel, get *that* strip sorted.

On 14/07/2018 at 06:37, D'Artagnan said:

A quick trawl through online dictionaries provides a variety of similar and succinct definitions for “Lifeblood”.

“a vital or life-giving force or component”

“the indispensable factor or influence that gives something its strength and vitality”

“the thing that is most important to the continuing success and existence of something else”

RSC’s are not comprised of people who view themselves as “uber fans”, who consider themselves better or more deserving than others, they are just a group of bears who, most probably for geographical reasons, have aligned themselves together with the common purpose of following and supporting the club we love.

They have evolved significantly since the days of their forerunner – the brake club, a name given honouring the mode of transport. A brake was large horse drawn carriage which could transport 20-30 people and brake clubs often had their own distinct banner in much the same way our modern RSC’s have their distinct logos. What a sight to behold that must have been!

With the development of both motorised transport and the railways the days of the brake as a form of transport were numbered, but not so the recognised value of Rangers fans uniting together with the common purpose of following and supporting the club they loved.

The modern-day RSC is a vital component part of the Rangers community with many more far reaching benefits than just transport. It serves to bring together like minded Rangers supporters who otherwise would have been strangers. I have in my phone 23 names which would not had been there had I not joined my local RSC. These are guys I speak with, rip the piss out of (always reciprocated) and socialise with on an almost daily basis. Our local RSC is effectively networking, bringing together people with a shared mission and vision. Collectively it serves to ignite the flames of passion for our football club. It is vital, it is strength giving and it is indispensable.

Networking with other RSC’s is a further benefit, and on several occasions now we have enjoyed the hospitality of our friends in the Toryglen True Blues. Their passion and desire for our club is epitomised on the Rangers website “Buses leave 20 Social Club, Rutherglen for every Rangers game in Scotland and to every away European game that is reachable by bus” One can almost feel the “come hell or high water” oozing out of that!

For a club which draws its support from all over Scotland and beyond the local RSC serves as the focal point for the Rangers diaspora, and one only has to look at the incredible work and achievements of the Plymouth True Blues, @ThePTBs1988 for those on twitter, as a shining example.

Of course, irrespective of the many collateral benefits of an RSC, transport to and from games remain their primary function. The local Rangers Supporter Bus provides not only an essential service, but also by their character and nature, an indispensable service. They bridge the gap in the lack of provision afforded by public transport. With their localised pick ups and unique dropping off points they can make the difference between success and failure in our desire to follow Rangers, particularly for those who find themselves less able these days. In short, they offer affordability and accessibility. It is probably no co-incidence that the largest RSC in the world is in the far-flung regions of Lewis & Harris.

As an RSC member I consider myself no better nor deserving than the bear who jumps in his or her car and makes the solitary journey to watch our beloved team. Having done that for many a year myself, I have the utmost respect for them. But having joined my local RSC, the energy, vitality and sense of belonging it provides is a drug of addiction I couldn’t be without.

Our RSC’s are our lifeblood in so many ways – let’s make sure we sustain them.

Found this pic and thought how very true your words are.

image.thumb.png.2080ba82962c2c2f13b8dd31cbc59976.png