Why are people expecting things to click after just 5 months?

RFCRobertson

Just now, RFCRobertson said:

Critism is always a valid thing when it is good and well thought out however some of the comments people on here and social media are making are straight up ludicrous and are in need of a reality check. 

We’re 5 months into Gerrad being our manager and he’s brought up good success in europe and he’s made Ibrox a fortress. It is pish we aren’t further up the table or in the league cup final but that’s to be expected of a fairly fresh team with a manager learning the ropes of the game.

Already we have people accusing it of being another Warburton and Pedro era. But the thing is is like or dislike it we need to grind out poor results and standings, else we’ll find ourselves in a terrible situation where we’re bringing a new manager in every season and that does set back progress.

We need to squash the negativity for now and just get behind the team and the manager. People criticised Gerrad for making late changes or the wrong changes, well last might that didn’t appear to be the case. The only thing wrong last night was creativity and our final ball, things that can and will be adressed with another transfer window. 

This shit takes time, Look across the city. Rodgers didn’t buy the majority of his players a lot of them are still Deila players but the thing is is he’s had a basis to build on. That’s what we’re doing right now and truthfully it’s looking good, we have fewer passengers and our bench is looking decent.

Keep the head and back the Manager. He needs time and support above all else. I was appalled by the crowd last night, much more effort put into negativity rather than singing and getting behind the squad. Opposition come to Ibrox and will play on that mentality as it actively hurts the team. 

TL:DR Stop being moaning cunts, keep the head and back the gaffer. We’re not going to be greats in 5 months alone so stop expecting it to be that way. Should shit still be shit this time next year after two windows then yeah it’s poor and very serious questions need asked.

(Sorry!)

great post - 100% agree with this - and any critique should look at positives as well but all many see are the negatives. 

There is no binary fix here. 

We need patience - we don’t have it but we need it. 

Well why wouldn’t we? Should’ve left Caixinha in charge if we were waiting to build success. His results were poor he needed to go.

You make a change of manager for a difference. Sadly we’ve not seen any.

Why should Gerrard be given extra time over Warburton and Pedro.

A lot of people are giving Gerrard a free ride sadly to his ‘celebrity’ status.

3 minutes ago, Prso's headband said:

Hearts literally signed a whole squad, have played every team in the league and sit top. 

We should be clicking a lot more than we should have to the tune of at least another 6 points and it isn’t happening. 

We're about 40 seconds off of having they 6 points, if we didn't bottle it twice. Sticks in my throat they two

Inconsistency I expect, especially with players who haven't played many 1st team games at any level. SG gets two more windows to make sufficient progress.

But we've shown what we are capable of already but stopped doing it. Manager and players are repeating mistakes and not learning. We are losing points to poor poor teams. We have lost all momentum.

So aye let's keep the heid, let's be realistic, but criticism is warranted and justified.

Oh and fortress Ibrox was breached, again, last night.

The Rangers support has no patience, never has and never will. If Gerrard doesn’t start getting results soon then more will turn against him.  

On the face of it it’s ludicrous to expect a rookie manager to come in and sort all our problems in one transfer window but it’s the way it is.  Expecting anything else is pissing into the wind.

6 minutes ago, born a blue nose said:

We're about 40 seconds off of having they 6 points, if we didn't bottle it twice. Sticks in my throat they two

Exactly mate. Even if we did get beat at Livi, we could’ve walked away with an extra 4 against Aberdeen and Motherwell that’s the problem here. 

We should always be looking to win at least 16 of our 18 home games, slip ups happen but in the context of the weekend it doesn’t happen after that. 

We should be 6 better off and that’s down to a mixture of the players mentality, Gerrards decisions and poor refereeing. 

12 minutes ago, ElBufalo20 said:

Well why wouldn’t we? Should’ve left Caixinha in charge if we were waiting to build success. His results were poor he needed to go.

You make a change of manager for a difference. Sadly we’ve not seen any.

Why should Gerrard be given extra time over Warburton and Pedro.

A lot of people are giving Gerrard a free ride sadly to his ‘celebrity’ status.

You sound like  like an infiltrator

The beggars will be desperate for us to turn on SG .

4 minutes ago, eejay the dj said:

You sound like  like an infiltrator

The beggars will be desperate for us to turn on SG .

I don’t give a fuck what the tarriers think. I just want a successful Rangers.

Not another rebuild job which it’s turning out to be.

The calls for sacking are just stupid, but the management rightly deserve criticism for the performance of the team. 

It’s like watching a rerun of the end of Warburton, keep the ball pass it side ways or back slow paced football. 

If we were going to sit and accept some poor results while rebuilding a team we shouldn't have given the job to a rookie manager, simple as that.

We can be patient if it looks like the manager has a clue or you've seen what he's done at previous clubs, in Gerrards case he has neither right now & he has to turn it around very quickly or the calls for him to go are completley fair.

As it stands, I wouldn't be trusting him with any more money in Janruary 

27 minutes ago, Prso's headband said:

Hearts literally signed a whole squad, have played every team in the league and sit top. 

We should be clicking a lot more than we should have to the tune of at least another 6 points and it isn’t happening. 

I agree with this though the counter point to that is that Hertz have an experienced manager in Levein whereas Gerrard is just starting out. 

I'm pissed off with the last two results same as everybody else but there was always going to disappointments. 

6 minutes ago, Creampuff said:

Largely because what we’re seeing is notably better than what we saw under PLG, Pedro, and Warburton.

Is it .. really? I’m all for giving him time but the performances of late have been uninspiring with Warburton esque no plan B. Results based industry and those Europa results are the only difference 

Bit early to be calling Ibrox a fortress, we’ve failed to win in our last two matches there. Away from home we’ve been dug shite and fucked another chance of a final against a pish Aberdeen. The manager has made some strange decisions and chops and changes the team nearly every match, if we drop anymore points away from home at the weekend we could possibly drop out the top six.  It’s only natural after the shite show of the last few years people are going to be worried. 

Talk of sacking him at this stage though is bonkers, imagine another season of Murty replacing the interim manager and talking pish about how wonderful the tarriers are and being happy sitting 3rd or 4th. ?

Gerrard simply has to get this right and keep the players with him or  we’re basically fucked and back to the drawing board,  again. 

Our Europa run will mean fuck all if we’re not successful domestically.