The Gaffers Naivety

KeyserSoze

1 minute ago, sandyinroyalblue said:

If we hadn't just beat the tarriers you're probably right.

That win means fuck all now sadly since the gaffer decided to play Russian roulette with our season, handed our 2 debuts and completely changing our shape at one of the toughest away venues in the league is unforgivable 

3 minutes ago, TMB said:

Kilmarnock don't have any money to spend.  They  shop for free agents and loans.  They also have a very strict wage budget.  Since the day Clarke took over both Old Firm teams have struggled to get the better of his Kilmarnock side.  During the year 2018 his team earned more league points than any other.

People on here don't want to admit it but the job Clarke has done is nothing short of exceptional.  He's literally taken a team from the bottom of the table and made them title contenders spending nothing.  

Clarke seems to be an ideal fit for Kilmarnock, solid, unspectacular and nothing showy, just gets on with the job. And what a job he's doing. 

Could he do the same with a bigger team under more pressure? Who knows, but if you swapped things around Kilmarnock wouldn't be sitting in 2nd place with Gerrard in charge and I doubt we'd be any worse off with Clarke. 

Outwith McAuley for Goldson how could the manager not start with the same team that played so well against celtic?

It was tempting for all of us to see Davis and Defoe start but the shirt is earned not gifted and McCrorie and Candeias both earned their place in the first eleven and tbh both fit the profile of guys you want on the park away to Kilmarnock.

If we were struggling then we could look into using Davis and Defoe from the bench who though they may no be 90 minute fit but will be sharper than any player going into the last 20/25 minutes.

The managers subs were again baffling. The change from the diamond to a flat 442 left us exposed and stopped us from building any momentum and left us to our usual big cross panic. It may work against St. Johnstone but it doesn't mean it'll work against Kilmarnock.

1 minute ago, 6superbarry6 said:

That win means fuck all now sadly since the gaffer decided to play Russian roulette with our season, handed our 2 debuts and completely changing our shape at one of the toughest away venues in the league is unforgivable 

Frustrating thing is that when we beat them it was like the penny finally dropped on how to get the best out of his players and then he just chucks it all away in the next game,he's capable I think but is running out of time to prove it.

20 minutes ago, cushynumber said:

Gerrard fell into the trap of thinking even semi fit average or old EPL players will walk it in the SPL. The league is littered with these failures.

Yet Defoe looked every inch a 36 year old forward at the end if his career. So why play him?

So did the vast majority of our fans.

It's too early to write them off but it's not looking good.

Davis was a shadow of the player who left us.

3 minutes ago, cushynumber said:

In fairness he was excellent against celtic and bar injury I would have picked the same team. 

Possibly one other game he was decent. Other than that he's rank. Give him time to think, he get's Alzheimers. No offence meant to fellow sufferers.

1 minute ago, 35 Yard Dangerman said:

Candeias looked absolutely scunnered at half time when he was knocking the ball about with Katic. Felt a bit for him.

I could not blame either him or Katic for looking scunnered.  Imagine if you were replaced by someone as shite as Worral in your job despite doing it to the book? Ridiculous.

2 minutes ago, kanjo said:

I could not blame either him or Katic for looking scunnered.  Imagine if you were replaced by someone as shite as Worral in your job despite doing it to the book? Ridiculous.

Exactly mate. Hope the harmony isn't affected with Defoe and Davis going straight in. They both shouldn't have started.

Gerrards interview was worrying tbh. The formation didn't work and he picked the wrong personnel. I don't think he saw that going by his interview. 

Tavs interview at least was honest and you can see he is hurting. Hoping he man's up and gets stuck into them like a captain should. 

5 minutes ago, kanjo said:

Imagine somebody who just bossed a game against the Tarriers keeping their place in the team, it's McAuley being ahead of him that is truly baffling.

4 minutes ago, chris182 said:

Allen could probably 

Aye, fair enough :lol: 

17 minutes ago, TMB said:

Even with the Worrall mistake the system didn't work.  Same as with the 3-5-2 game against Motherwell and Goldson slipping that day.  The system doesn't suit us and it's the manager who has to take responsibility for changing something that worked, for something that doesn't.

Ageeed. How the fuck after Motherwell, fenians away and Livi away can he think that going away to Killie of all places and fucking with the formations would work? Fully expect Livi to beat us this weekend anawl. Lack of experience is why we’re behind right now. 

8 minutes ago, ForeverAndEver said:

Imagine somebody who just bossed a game against the Tarriers keeping their place in the team, it's McAuley being ahead of him that is truly baffling.

Aye, fair enough :lol: 

How many good games has Worral had? And did you seriously think we would get those every week going forward?

McCauley was garbage and that i accept... but he at least does not make mistakes you would find at amatuer level.  

4 minutes ago, kanjo said:

How many good games has Worral had? And did you seriously think we would get those every week going forward?

McCauley was garbage and that i accept... but he at least does not make mistakes you would find at amatuer level.  

A fair few, he's just inconsistent.

He's the worst centre back at the club, and it'snot even a debate

52 minutes ago, cushynumber said:

Gerrard fell into the trap of thinking even semi fit average or old EPL players will walk it in the SPL. The league is littered with these failures.

Yet Defoe looked every inch a 36 year old forward at the end if his career. So why play him?

The bits in bold are bullshit.

There's one player in our team who could be called an average or old EPL player who might be a 'failure' and that's McAuley, who's been absolutely fine so far. 

Defoe isn't an average EPL player. He's the 10th highest goalscorer in the EPL and scored 20 goals for England. He might be old but he's definitely not a failure.

Davis is the captain of his country and played 23 EPL games last season, and has won the title with us in the past. Likewise he might be old but hardly a failure.

Any chance you could point out which other SPL players have that pedigree, coz there's obviously a good number of the league is 'littered with these failures'?

39 minutes ago, 35 Yard Dangerman said:

Candeias looked absolutely scunnered at half time when he was knocking the ball about with Katic. Felt a bit for him.

Candeias is the fall guy every fucking time.  He’s made way for all Gerrard’s tinkering yet he’s the most consistent player we have. 

Baffling