Bhoys v Bluenoses podcast

The Dude

Just now, The Dude said:

No formal training. Work full-time reporting on Rangers and Scottish football. Have written for a number of different  places and been doing it as my job for a couple of years now. 

Fair play. Had seen some of your stuff with the record and this and was just curious 👍

Just now, M-89 said:

Fair play. Had seen some of your stuff with the record and this and was just curious 👍

This will be my sixth season doing it. Started off doing youth football voluntarily and writing a column for Shoot. Built up something of a name over the last few years and started doing it as my main job in 2016. I guess I am a propdr journalist in that its my job title but Im a chancer who got a bit lucky really. 

2 minutes ago, The Dude said:

This will be my sixth season doing it. Started off doing youth football voluntarily and writing a column for Shoot. Built up something of a name over the last few years and started doing it as my main job in 2016. I guess I am a propdr journalist in that its my job title but Im a chancer who got a bit lucky really. 

😂

Got to respect the ability to go ahead with something despite knowing how much backlash it’ll likely get. Respect for that, and certainly the personal abuse, although I’m sure expected, isn’t necessary.

Side note, Rangers News website is one I can’t take to all the time. The news aspect is a bit lost when it generally reports on things already out there, rather than hunting out stories of their own. The click-bait nature of the titles on the likes of Rangers News Now can be annoying too, but recently at least the level of detail and summarisation of stories that have been in the news has been much better.

Good luck with this new endeavour. It won’t be popular with many, but that challenge doesn’t seem to faze.

1 minute ago, Marky. said:

Got to respect the ability to go ahead with something despite knowing how much backlash it’ll likely get. Respect for that, and certainly the personal abuse, although I’m sure expected, isn’t necessary.

Side note, Rangers News website is one I can’t take to all the time. The news aspect is a bit lost when it generally reports on things already out there, rather than hunting out stories of their own. The click-bait nature of the titles on the likes of Rangers News Now can be annoying too, but recently at least the level of detail and summarisation of stories that have been in the news has been much better.

Good luck with this new endeavour. It won’t be popular with many, but that challenge doesn’t seem to faze.

Cheers mate. Thats something we're very much trying to work on and I'm hoping is going to noticeably change soon. We've had a big shift with a few things recently and I've only been on board around six months but looking to have nore exclusive  news and interviews etc. 

The headlines stuff is something that's a little out of our hands in that, as a business, we need to make money or there is no site. Unfortunately its a bit of a race to the bottom as everyone tries to get the same traffic and more and more rely on really misleading/poorly titled stories to get hits. 

Just now, The Dude said:

Cheers mate. Thats something we're very much trying to work on and I'm hoping is going to noticeably change soon. We've had a big shift with a few things recently and I've only been on board around six months but looking to have nore exclusive  news and interviews etc. 

The headlines stuff is something that's a little out of our hands in that, as a business, we need to make money or there is no site. Unfortunately its a bit of a race to the bottom as everyone tries to get the same traffic and more and more rely on really misleading/poorly titled stories to get hits. 

Regarding the first point, glad I could notice the difference. I would always be interested to read stuff that’s came originally from a source like that. Heart and Hand’s interviews are often picked up by the papers for quotes and could be an avenue worth exploring for yourselves.

With regards to second point, I get it’s outwith your control and ultimately not what you’re there for, but more just meaning for the site in general and those in charge. I reckon if point 1 is done right, point 2 will come naturally. 🙂

Just now, Marky. said:

Regarding the first point, glad I could notice the difference. I would always be interested to read stuff that’s came originally from a source like that. Heart and Hand’s interviews are often picked up by the papers for quotes and could be an avenue worth exploring for yourselves.

With regards to second point, I get it’s outwith your control and ultimately not what you’re there for, but more just meaning for the site in general and those in charge. I reckon if point 1 is done right, point 2 will come naturally. 🙂

Aye its just a case if getting access now more than anything. Edgar has the advantage of being something of a well kent face having been around for a while on a few prominent positions so has existing relationships that help there . Of our three, two are relatively new out of uni and I'm just getting myself settled.

They do to a point. Sometimes really good stuff goes barely read because its not a 'stunning swoop' or 'shocking comments.' We're in a healthy place now where we have a decent subscriber base so dont need to be as click-baity but other times its just the nature of it. There can even be times when others force your hand a little with it. If you're using quotes from a particular interview that a been published on, say the club site, then you need to make sure their headline doesnt blow your story too. 

While I agree this is a load of shite, and I'd probably rather sit through fucking river city, or love island before I'd listen to some taigs opinions.

I don't get why people are pure raging about it. If everyone just ignored it it, it would probably have disappeared  down the topic list by now...

51 minutes ago, The Dude said:

Aye its just a case if getting access now more than anything. Edgar has the advantage of being something of a well kent face having been around for a while on a few prominent positions so has existing relationships that help there . Of our three, two are relatively new out of uni and I'm just getting myself settled.

They do to a point. Sometimes really good stuff goes barely read because its not a 'stunning swoop' or 'shocking comments.' We're in a healthy place now where we have a decent subscriber base so dont need to be as click-baity but other times its just the nature of it. There can even be times when others force your hand a little with it. If you're using quotes from a particular interview that a been published on, say the club site, then you need to make sure their headline doesnt blow your story too. 

Interesting.

Well, if you are looking for people to add new articles....😎 

7 hours ago, The Dude said:

Aye, there's that wanker again😉

9 hours ago, Bobby Hume said:

Funny how close Freelancer is to outright chancer ... eh?

Yet ..... the amount of shite you spewed out at the time ..... about how you were just a poor semi- literate boy who had to make a living .... and if anyone else cared to cover the cost of paying all your monthly bills .... mortgage as well ... that  the DR were paying you for your scribblings .... that would be fine. 

How you were so indebted to them for your livelihood and the chance of raising your own personal bar ..... yada yada yada ...blah blah blah ..... was all just your usual pish  defending your choice to work for your rebel masters ..... that more than a few  of us on RM sussed out as shite from day one.

Glad that's all cleared up now and that you have moved on  ..... the DR must be glad to get you off the wage bill  (whew! such an expense) ..... so that a proper journalist (:rofl:) can now benefit from your leaving.

So now we have you testing the waters here again on RM with a podcast that has a 50% taig input .... and you think we are being unjustified with our criticism of this poxy vomit inducing  venture .... Fuck right off.

🇬🇧

They are nothing like each other. 

Weird. 

9 hours ago, AlbertzLoyalRSC said:

While I agree this is a load of shite, and I'd probably rather sit through fucking river city, or love island before I'd listen to some taigs opinions.

I don't get why people are pure raging about it. If everyone just ignored it it, it would probably have disappeared  down the topic list by now...

That's too sensible.

8 minutes ago, LaudrupsPatrickBoots said:

That's too sensible.

👍

Hmmm! ..... good point mate .... and being a fairly sensible person myself  ... and recognising myself to be guilty of giving this shit topic air ..... I will now leave this thread with this final note on the difference between sense and nonsense.

Pity the same sentiment was not expressly followed on the BJK thread ... the one that was taking up the challenge of innocent children who were sexually abused by staff of ... and extremely "close associates" of CFC ..... a thread that was genuinely trying to expose the real possibilities of an organised paedophile ring operating out of their own backyard that even Stevie Wonder could see .... literally ..... a thread that was also genuinely trying to help the victims in their search for closure .... recompense and ultimately justice.

Or was that thread not worth the combined efforts of decent human beings doing something basically good for sexually abused children .... who had been manipulated and intimidated and left with life long trauma that even closure .. recompense and justice still may not be able to cure?  ...... just reflect for a moment on how devastating that must be for a child ..... then put your own child's face in place of the victims' faces .... then think again.

The input on that thread had more worthwhile discussion and purposeful aim than this heap of self seeking shite of a thread ... put up by a self seeking Bengal Lancer .... out to line his own pockets by believing that Rangers supporters are as thick as him and would readily sit down with the attempted murderers ... still active by the way as they are happy to tell us "they have not gone away" ..... of the most successful Club in the world.

Just who the fuck needs enemies with that kind of insane logic.

Or is that asking too much .... or being "too sensible"

Bring Back The BJKnew .... along with every other cunt ..... Thread ..... by bringing it back it will have more impact for decency .... and suck the air right out of this self serving mind numbingly naively shit thread ..... in an instant.

🇬🇧

5 minutes ago, Bobby Hume said:

👍

Hmmm! ..... good point mate .... and being a fairly sensible person myself  ... and recognising myself to be guilty of giving this shit topic air ..... I will now leave this thread with this final note on the difference between sense and nonsense.

Pity the same sentiment was not expressly followed on the BJK thread ... the one that was taking up the challenge of innocent children who were sexually abused by staff of ... and extremely "close associates" of CFC ..... a thread that was genuinely trying to expose the real possibilities of an organised paedophile ring operating out of their own backyard that even Stevie Wonder could see .... literally ..... a thread that was also genuinely trying to help the victims in their search for closure .... recompense and ultimately justice.

Or was that thread not worth the combined efforts of decent human beings doing something basically good for sexually abused children .... who had been manipulated and intimidated and left with life long trauma that even closure .. recompense and justice still may not be able to cure?  ...... just reflect for a moment on how devastating that must be for a child ..... then put your own child's face in place of the victims' faces .... then think again.

The input on that thread had more worthwhile discussion and purposeful aim than this heap of self seeking shite of a thread ... put up by a self seeking Bengal Lancer .... out to line his own pockets by believing that Rangers supporters are as thick as him and would readily sit down with the attempted murderers ... still active by the way as they are happy to tell us "they have not gone away" ..... of the most successful Club in the world.

Bring Back The BJKnew .... along with every other cunt ..... Thread ..... by bringing it back it will have more impact for decency .... and suck the air right out of this self serving mind numbingly naively shit thread ..... in an instant.

🇬🇧

Triggered. 

10 minutes ago, Bobby Hume said:

👍

🇬🇧

This. Great post but unfortunately too many self obsessed, deluded hand-wringers and sympathisers on here mate. Carfin Loyal Bhlues!

17 minutes ago, Bobby Hume said:

👍

🇬🇧

The BJK thread has nothing to do with Rangers so should never have been in the Bears' Den in the first place. There's already a thread about it in General Sports anyway.

3 minutes ago, eejay the dj said:

Got to hand to them though

The wives got the BjK thread removed and the main protaginist become the centre of attention over night 

Played a blinder for the bheasts for me 👏

Keep the thread on topic please. We dont want you having another wee tantrum over it. 

1 minute ago, The Dude said:

Keep the thread on topic please. We dont want you having another wee tantrum over it. 

To be fair, the BJK thread was derailed by a few wee fuds but the only person that had a wee tantrum was Govan Blue!

Don't create a story based on untruth!