Timing of the statement

dee9

3 hours ago, Courtyard Bear said:

Why would this stop Stevie doing anything?? 

Why would the full stadium be closed?? 

You do seem rather keen for all this to happen, why would that be?? 

Ah the usual pish from an RM expert, everybody who has a different opinion is one of them.

You do and sing what you want, but the club will suffer.

2 hours ago, The Dude said:

Even easier if fans hadn't sang about fenians to get us the first charge.

Are you now saying it's 100% the fans fault?? Even given previous when warned about action taken we toned everything down and cut out the singing. Are you saying that if the board had told us weeks ago that we were being punished for the singing with a stadium closure imminent we would still be sitting in the exact position we are rather than the hope you seem to enjoying atm 

Just now, rabc10000 said:

Are you now saying it's 100% the fans fault?? Even given previous when warned about action taken we toned everything down and cut out the singing. Are you saying that if the board had told us weeks ago that we were being punished for the singing with a stadium closure imminent we would still be sitting in the exact position we are rather than the hope you seem to enjoying atm 

I absolutely am saying it's the fans fault. We've been told for 13 years not to sing TBB or sing about fenians. We're not talking about weans here. Grown fucking adults that can't keep their mouth shut for a couple of hours and then when there's some sort of consequence to their action they want to point the finger everywhere else.

1 minute ago, The Dude said:

I absolutely am saying it's the fans fault. We've been told for 13 years not to sing TBB or sing about fenians. We're not talking about weans here. Grown fucking adults that can't keep their mouth shut for a couple of hours and then when there's some sort of consequence to their action they want to point the finger everywhere else.

Exactly 13 years since we were last warned, it all went quiet despite the songs being sung including last season. 

Do u honestly believe that if King had came out after St Joseph's game and told the fans we were being charged and a partial stadium closure would be put on us then we would have sung those songs last week?? 

If you do more fool you and while I'm not deflecting away from the fans in attendance blame surely must be shared about

2 minutes ago, rabc10000 said:

Exactly 13 years since we were last warned, it all went quiet despite the songs being sung including last season. 

Do u honestly believe that if King had came out after St Joseph's game and told the fans we were being charged and a partial stadium closure would be put on us then we would have sung those songs last week?? 

If you do more fool you and while I'm not deflecting away from the fans in attendance blame surely must be shared about

You're re-writing history there.

Does King need to come out and explain the possible outcomes of all the rules to supporters? .

3 minutes ago, The Dude said:

Does King need to come out and explain the possible outcomes of all the rules to supporters? .

Well maybe aye because I doubt 50 thousand people are up to snuff on the UEFA rules and regulations.

90% of football supporters don't even know what constitutes a fucken handball these days.

8 minutes ago, The Dude said:

No but he really should have told the fans about uefa charges and the possible outcomes tho don't u agree?? 

6 minutes ago, Getstiffed said:

Well maybe aye because I doubt 50 thousand people are up to snuff on the UEFA rules and regulations.

90% of football supporters don't even know what constitutes a fucken handball these days.

We've known for years we can't do it. Did we think UEFA were suddenly cool with sectarian singing? 

3 minutes ago, rabc10000 said:

No but he really should have told the fans about uefa charges and the possible outcomes tho don't u agree?? 

Not really no. If he comes out and tells fans to stop singing sectarian songs because UEFA are investigating us for it, he cant then go and make ANY real meaningful defence to UEFA. 

Anyone else think that we should be asking for more clarity ? Anyone else feel queasy about the idea of an independent group having a right to bear witness on someone without recourse ? Judge Jury and Executioner of a football club based on second hand eyewitness testimony ? Has anyone had any such power in, forget football, the legal system ever ?

3 minutes ago, The Dude said:

We've known for years we can't do it. Did we think UEFA were suddenly cool with sectarian singing? 

The club have sat on a charge they could have told us we had and have no doubt that the away support in Legia would have behaved.

Fans that sang the song(s) are too blame for the charge, no-one is arguing that. The club could have done more because football supporters are the same across the board, if they don't get into trouble running onto the park or singning songs then they, and other supporters, will just think "oh well it must be ok then". This isn't up for debate. We've seen it lately with the increase in fan incidents involving pitch invasions, particularly ones that result in players being assaulted or confronted. Our support has watched them play in Europe every year for the last what? 7 years? And all they ever get is measly fines. You can argue the difference in the charges etc, but as I've said most supporters don't look into the nuances of UEFA rules and regulations.