Club statement | Resolution not deemed competent

OceanRain

• Replies 27.7k
18 minutes ago, GersInCanada said:

Sheep coming on board today is massive. Now if Hibs follow suit that's all of Scotlands top teams bar 1.

Aye, the one team with the moral high ground due to their silence.

FFS they're only quiet because the gutless smsm won't ask them any questions 🥴

38 minutes ago, coopsleftboot said:

Aberdeen Football Club will vote for the resolution at tomorrow’s SPFL EGM. Chairman, Dave Cormack, sets out the Club’s position.

“We reiterate our belief that an independent inquiry is the only way of drawing a line under what has become a highly damaging episode for the whole of Scottish football.

“There is a distressing lack of confidence and trust between the SPFL leadership and many of the clubs, and it is hard to see a resolution, far less a reconciliation, without some form of impartial and objective assessment of the many claims and counter-claims.

“Some of those involved will be prepared to make information known in confidence through an independent inquiry, which they would not otherwise be willing to disclose. The SPFL will be able to provide details of the contractual consequences for the SPFL of different possible outcomes, which they have felt unable to share with members, and therefore the opportunity to obtain confirmation that their proposal was the only practicable option available.

“Importantly, there will be the opportunity for the SPFL’s Chief Executive and Legal Advisor to be cleared of the serious allegations that have been made.

“It is difficult to see how these outcomes could be achieved in a different way.”

That’s some highlighted sentence right there. 

Just now, esquire8 said:

The joke would be us, the tarriers, the sheep, the jam farts and hivs all voting for it and yet it still doesn't pass. The 4 club's I mentioned before will still vote against it.

celtic will abstain, I think

Effectively a no vote but means nobody can point fingers 

3 minutes ago, beararse said:

If Hibs join then that’s unquestionably 4 of the 5 biggest clubs in Scotland supporting calls for an inquiry.

If celtic don't follow  suit then it’s going to look rather suspect.

Can see the tarriers fall for the line in Aberdeen’s statement that enquiry gives Donkey and the lawyer a chance to clear their names 😃

Either that they will want to resolution to fail thereby seeing the “Masonic” SPFL  carry on regardless 😀

Just now, Courtyard Bear said:

Slant eyed Pete, must be wondering what way to jump. 
Does he vote Yes and hope they don’t throw him under the Bus or vote No and look guilty as sin by going against the other top clubs in Scotland. 

If Dempster says she is going to vote in favour then the fat jap will follow suit. He knows he already has his puppet clubs able to vote this down.

Hugh Keevin’s latest pish...

It is becoming hard to keep up now with Scottish football's anger management issues.

Rangers are offering to pay the legal costs involved in launching an independent investigation into the SPFL's allegedly dubious work practices. 

It's a clear attempt to influence the vote when the forty-two member clubs are asked tomorrow whether they want such a thing to take place. 

But there's nothing wrong with that. All is fair in love and war, and this is now a full scale battle. 

And if anyone should ask to see Rangers' money up front just to make sure they've got it then that would be an allowable response as well in these days of outgoings and no income within the game. 

But these are incredible times, even for the one who said long before the lockdown that Scottish football habitually runs on spite, malice and distrust. 

Partick Thistle have made public a letter denouncing the SPFL and Aberdeen's owner, Dave Cormack. 

A former Hearts chairman, Leslie Deans, has offered a four figure sum to start the crowdfunding of a legal action against the SPFL following the collapse of reconstruction talks and the likeliehood that the Tynecastle side will be relegated. 

It's just as well the lockdown will prevent the representatives of the forty-two clubs from convening at Hampden tomorrow. 

It could have been the first such gathering to require Police Scotland officers to be in attendance to maintain order and prevent breaches of the peace. 

This is a sorry mess and I genuinely wonder if the vote will only see to it that we descend to a new level of farce and somehow damage the game's credibility even further. 

If that's possible. 

It has reached the stage where I seriously question whether the clubs can successfully vote properly on the need for a new investigation. 

It's not just the concern that someone at Dens Park has located the letters Y,E,S,N and O on the club computer's keyboard and can press the right ones at the vital moment. 

Something daft will happen tomorrow. Somebody somewhere will "Nelms it" and try to change their original vote from black to white. 

Someone will say they didn't fully understand the question or didn't feel they had been given enough time to digest Rangers' dossier. 

Somebody will say they didn't have the SPFL's e-mail address to register their vote. 

In the current climate somebody will fail to grasp that all they're being asked is whether they want an independent investigation or not. 

Even if the question is the intellectual equal of asking, "do you take sugar?" 

There will inevitably be a complaint that the vote was conducted in a suspicious manner and there will then be a call for an inquiry into the vote for an inquiry. 

William McIlvanney, the late brother of the incomparable Hugh, used to say eleven Scottish players was too many to have in our national team. 

The great crime novelist meant by that there were too many mavericks, too many unpredictable "characters" for one national side to cope with under duress. 

We were too daft for our own good whenever cool heads were called for on the park. 

It feels like that now off the field. 

Still, there's always the great Scottish public. 

On Friday night I listened to the most eccentric call I have ever heard on Superscoreboard, and I used to sit beside the legendary Jimmy Sanderson when he was saying to people, "were you at the game caller?" 

Or asking them, "are you accusing me of mendacity?" 

But I witnessed the bar being raised to a thirty-five year personal high when a man came on and said Rangers should form a breakaway organisation known as the Sporting Integrity League in retaliation for having been shafted by the SPFL over the decision, not yet taken incidentally, to call the Premiership over for this season and declare celtic the champions. 

So, if Rangers invite you to join you have integrity, but if you don't get asked then you are as mendacious as wee Jimmy was accused of being back in the day. 

Cast out into the wilderness by UEFA, who don't do breakaway leagues. Condemned to play against the cream of Wales and Northern Ireland, as the caller envisioned the brave new world for the morally superior. 

What's not to love? 

So, here we are, incapable of walking and talking at the same time when it comes to holding a vote among an electorate numbering forty-two. 

And so overcome by an obsession with chicanery, real or imagined, that random notions of breakaway leagues have started to form in the minds of fans now losing the plot in the midst of ongoing mayhem. 

The spite, the malice and the distrust is now seriously out of control. 

The game, incidentally, is going down the gurgler as we speak. 

Hugh Keevins

1 minute ago, Courtyard Bear said:

Slant eyed Pete, must be wondering what way to jump. 
Does he vote Yes and hope they don’t throw him under the Bus or vote No and look guilty as sin by going against the other top clubs in Scotland. 

The way things are going he may face that dilemma 

3 minutes ago, Courtyard Bear said:

He will be if we get an Inquiry, he has as bad as the other 2 it will all come out eventually. 

Hope so . We were after him last year before it went quiet .