Walter Smith: Faceless fans are tarnishing the club

NOLUWDC

There seems to be a fair degree of ''they do it so why cant we do it'' mentalities.

I still dont think he is having a dig at me coz ive not done anything wrong, so I dont get angry.

I still dont class the people he is talking about as fans. The people he is talking about are the ones who do spout this 'bile' and there are quite a few. Its not club tradition to be sectarian.

So your a better fan than me then are you pal?

Have whatever beliefs you like, but please dont bring them to a football match.

I believe all religions are false. I support Rangers football club. If I followed any religion or denomination I'd go to Church to sing about it, not Ibrox.

You just don't get it do you?

If you are saying that that you are one of the ones spouting the bile and you are infact a sectarian, then YES I AM a better fan than you and I am infact a better person than you. You are the kind of person I avoid in life.

If you loved your Club you would not put it and its fans in jeopardy by saying these thing. Your there for the Religion not the Club.

If your not sectarian or a bigot then I am your equal.

you might not like this but our club has lived of religion most of its life, they have been happy to take the good protestant money.

Yeah thats fine. The same way its fine for the Protestant or Catholic church to collect its money from the congregation. The difference being you dont sit in a Protestant church singing songs about how the Catholics are the devil and everyone should go burn down their churches. They let them get on with it and concern themselves with their own.

Most be along time since you been to church where you learn the deference between the two.The Protestant faith is well of without you.

• Replies 246

People just make things up as they go along, I can honestly say I have never heard a Rangers fan at Ibrox say he is going to kill a Catholic, burn their chapels or even sing they hate them in my life.

Anyway, once again, what songs should I not sing? The Sash, Derry's Walls?

Im not asking you not to sing any songs. Thats not the issue. The issue is the internet culture and the things people are able to say. That is what Murray and Walter were talking about.

You just told me if I wanted to sing about something, go to church. Now your back peddling.

Not much now granted, but the original platform this arguement is based on is the 'forum' culture etc.

I understand your point of view (and actually agree some people are over-egging the pudding here) but let's get one thing straight - there is no singing at Ibrox about catholics; none at all.

As for bile and or anything else SDM/Smith talked about lately, I don't think they were talking in specific terms about forums or about us people who use them. More towards the kind of crap we see on YouTube etc which is a bit beyond the pale and does the club harm.

Generally forums are well moderated to avoid that.

That quite true.

People just make things up as they go along, I can honestly say I have never heard a Rangers fan at Ibrox say he is going to kill a Catholic, burn their chapels or even sing they hate them in my life.

Anyway, once again, what songs should I not sing? The Sash, Derry's Walls?

Im not asking you not to sing any songs. Thats not the issue. The issue is the internet culture and the things people are able to say. That is what Murray and Walter were talking about.

You just told me if I wanted to sing about something, go to church. Now your back peddling.

Yes perhaps I said that without thinking it through, but its not my main point at all so yuo can disregard it.

Not much now granted, but the original platform this arguement is based on is the 'forum' culture etc.

I understand your point of view (and actually agree some people are over-egging the pudding here) but let's get one thing straight - there is no singing at Ibrox about catholics; none at all.

As for bile and or anything else SDM/Smith talked about lately, I don't think they were talking in specific terms about forums or about us people who use them. More towards the kind of crap we see on YouTube etc which is a bit beyond the pale and does the club harm.

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?...t&p=1618131

I think he was right to give his opinion when questioned. I can see the issue if he had just made a statement, but as part of an interview, I am in no doubt that he should give his opinions. We're being attacked from all angles, and his shirking away from the question would not have helped at all. Disagree with what he says by all means. But I still think he is right to have said it.

Fair enough. But his comments have added to the all-angle attack - not alleviated it.

He's hard poor guidance here from MediaHouse but Walter should really have known better than to get involved in a subject no win is winning out of IMO.

Would you have prefered dignified silence? Agreed he perhaps hasn't put his point across as delicately as it could have been, but to say he should be keep out of any club issue other than managing the squad is wrong imo.

could he not have spoke out about our fans when they got beaten up in spain, or about nachos death threats, other events where our players have been attacked at parkhead.

Yes perhaps I said that without thinking it through, but its not my main point at all so yuo can disregard it.

So I can sing the Sash, Derry's Walls and a few other Orange/ABOD classics without you thinking your better than me then?

Spot on Frankie but how does he suggest we stop illiterate spotty youths from posting sectarianism on these sites(youtube etc)?

Half of them wouldn't Know Ibrox from Parkhead so the point in commenting on it an interview is pointless and feeds the mhedia.

Would you have prefered dignified silence? Agreed he perhaps hasn't put his point across as delicately as it could have been, but to say he should be keep out of any club issue other than managing the squad is wrong imo.

I don't know the terms of the interview but generally I'm of the opinion if someone can't say something constructive then, yes, they shouldn't say anything at all.

Smith could have used the question to defend our great support, take issue with generalisations and say it's time people moved on. Indeed, he did so to a degree but still allowed the media to spin his comments and make them appear more negative than they are.

Now, we have people moaning about him, moaning about the club, more division amongst fans and further problems with the support and the club.

The club keep scoring own goals here. Sure, I don't think they are intentionally but they are nonetheless.

Spot on Frankie but how does he suggest we stop illiterate spotty youths from posting sectarianism on these sites(youtube etc)?

Half of them wouldn't Know Ibrox from Parkhead so the point in commenting on it an interview is pointless and feeds the mhedia.

Agreed.

If Smith (or Bain or SDM) want to comment on the issue, then they should do so with common sense and some partisan praise for us while they are at it. Target the people exaggerating the subject - not faceless people who's opinions most people laugh at.

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?...t&p=1618131

You looking fir a choclate star or something ?

And Its "Fenians" go to hell, never heard kaffliks used instead anytime ive heard that version sung.

That guy should never have been singing that at the match, but imagine grassing him up, your worse than him.

No he's not.

That thread debates the pros and cons of reporting people to the club. I certainly don't agree with it generally but those that do aren't worse than the yobs who do bring down our reputation.

Agreed.

If Smith (or Bain or SDM) want to comment on the issue, then they should do so with common sense and some partisan praise for us while they are at it. Target the people exaggerating the subject - not faceless people who's opinions most people laugh at.

They really haven't thought that out at all

No he's not.

That thread debates the pros and cons of reporting people to the club. I certainly don't agree with it generally but those that do aren't worse than the yobs who do bring down our reputation.

Aye he is.

Infact I'd go as far to say after that, the guy makes me physically sick. As I said boy should never have sung it, but at the same time, grassing him up over it makes you just as bad if not worse. You probably just got that boy a lifetime ban from Ibrox. Rangers is pretty much my life, and if that had been me, I'd have knocked his cunt in and I'm not a violent man.

Agreed.

I agree that they should temper what they said with praise for the majority, which is the way Celtic did it. Don't agree with you that Smith shouldn't have said anything about the subject though.

No he's not.

Aye he is.

Infact I'd go as far to say after that, the guy makes me physically sick. As I said boy should never have sung it, but at the same time, grassing him up over it makes you just as bad if not worse. You probably just got that boy a lifetime ban from Ibrox. Rangers is pretty much my life, and if that had been me, I'd have knocked his cunt in and I'm not a violent man.

I Whole heartedly agree mate it really is despicable thing to do tae another bear even if he was in the wrong. (tu)

Agreed.

I agree that they should temper what they said with praise for the majority, which is the way Celtic did it. Don't agree with you that Smith shouldn't have said anything about the subject though.

do you not mean the same smith plus certain players sang the same songs in the dressing room during nine in a row, plus jock wallace loved a good sing song.

Rangers fans have cleaned up their act big style. They will never stop coming after us.

If he was referring to people who post on you tube then it's a non issue.

I personally despise this "police yourselves" culture.

Sounds as if it's came straight from the Gestapo rule book circa 1940.

Agreed.

Its not a big enough problem to warrant commenting on,I'd prefer to know if hes had a word with our keeper who seems to make more

headlines near the front of the paper than the back.Any ned who has access to a PC will post this pish on their bebo's and youtube etc.

Its not something you can actively tackle,a "No comment" would have stuck the fingers up to the shit stirring mhedia

Mr Dignitys "ludicrous paranoia" is well founded & based on fact.

LMFAO...sure it is.

:lol:(tu)

So, Boab and Briton, you feel that the media and political reporting/coverage of Rangers football club and its fans/players etc is fair, even and ballanced then?

Its has become now, that if someone refers to a bigot (in Scotland) then, people will instantly think this implies a bear, whether said or not, or, dont you see that either?

Agreed.

Its not a big enough problem to warrant commenting on,I'd prefer to know if hes had a word with our keeper who seems to make more

headlines near the front of the paper than the back.Any ned who has access to a PC will post this pish on their bebo's and youtube etc.

Its not something you can actively tackle,a "No comment" would have stuck the fingers up to the shit stirring mhedia

A no comment would have been classed as an admission of guilt, rather than how it was meant. You know it, I know it, everyone knows it, only some refuse to acknowledge.

I seriously think Smith said enough in that to defend us, perhaps not as we would have wished it done, but, enough to make some people think

Mr Dignitys "ludicrous paranoia" is well founded & based on fact.

LMFAO...sure it is.

:lol:(tu)

So, Boab and Briton, you feel that the media and political reporting/coverage of Rangers football club and its fans/players etc is fair, even and ballanced then?

Its has become now, that if someone refers to a bigot (in Scotland) then, people will instantly think this implies a bear, whether said or not, or, dont you see that either?

And part of that problem is that they look at the headlines such as today "Rangers Bigots" doesn't matter what's reported underneath...that sticks!!

Agreed.

A no comment would have been classed as an admission of guilt, rather than how it was meant. You know it, I know it, everyone knows it, only some refuse to acknowledge.

I seriously think Smith said enough in that to defend us, perhaps not as we would have wished it done, but, enough to make some people think

Yea mate i get what you mean but what if the mhedia ask him in every interview,its reflecting so bad when first the chairman

then our manager are telling the world we have a problem,i think Murray already stated the clubs feelings on it im just a bit pissed off

Wattie has been dragged into it too