Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 The big man's "argueably", still doing a job for us but would someone please tell him to STOP trying to play football and STOP playing that useless fucking punt up the park to the opposition. How many times is he going to do this, how many games over the past few years has he done this, how many time are we going to have to watch this stupid, useless fucking waste of possession!!!!? 38 years old now surely to fuck, if noone else has, he should know himself he cannot pick a long pass. STOP FUCKING DOING IT DAVIE, totally sick of it!!! :angry: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobby Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 been thinking this myself. few times we played some decent stuff, only for big davie to punt it into nowhere. gotta love the big man, but someone needs a quiet word. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 Someone's needed a quiet word for 2 years!! Ok occasionally he's had to clear his lines but the majority of the time there's a square pass on and he still hoofs it away to fucking noone. FKn shite! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 The big man's "argueably", still doing a job for us but would someone please tell him to STOP trying to play football and STOP playing that useless fucking punt up the park to the opposition. His distribution is poor, and it has been since the day he joined us, so it's not an indication of his ability to perform at all. Until the day comes that he can't tackle, header and organise the defense then there is no "arguably" about it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 The big man's "argueably", still doing a job for us but would someone please tell him to STOP trying to play football and STOP playing that useless fucking punt up the park to the opposition. His distribution is poor, and it has been since the day he joined us, so it's not an indication of his ability to perform at all. Until the day comes that he can't tackle, header and organise the defense then there is no "arguably" about it. There most certainly is an "arguably" about it bud as many a Bear think's he's well and truely done and wanted shot of him after his first season. I believe he still does a job but for that one main gripe. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 Most of the people who think Weir is "finished" are just being ageist IMO. I agree that come the summer we should be looking for a new centre half, but in terms of defending at this moment in time Weir is as solid and relibale now as he was ten years ago. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 some of his Punts actually find the strikers. his distribution is alot better than it used to be imo . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nvager Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 Most of the people who think Weir is "finished" are just being ageist IMO. I agree that come the summer we should be looking for a new centre half, but in terms of defending at this moment in time Weir is as solid and relibale now as he was ten years ago. He uses his experience very well. Still one of the reasons for our good defensive record. The biggest danger in defence is at RB I think. Still he will be 40 next year and that should give Walter a hint. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 some of his Punts actually find the strikers. his distribution is alot better than it used to be imo . Once at 55 minutes he found a winger.. Other than that you're having a laugh... Watch the game again and count the punts. Build a ratio to possession lost and you'll know what I mean. Infact do that in any game over the last 2 years and you'll change your opinion. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ForeverBlue_Since91 Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 I started a thread on this weeks ago why does he keep doing it because he doesnt have a clue what to do with the ball when he gets it that is obvious so he just punts it up the park hopeing boyd or miller will get it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gid Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 Thought he was solid again today. Agreed his distribution is suspect though but then he's not in the team to pass the ball. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 Thought he was solid again today. Agreed his distribution is suspect though but then he's not in the team to pass the ball. There's my whole point there. No he's not in the team to pass the ball so someone tell him do stop fecking doing it!! I also agree he was solid. But this "suspect" distribution should not be let off lightly. It has cost us in the past and it will cost us in the future if it isn't addressed. It invites uneccessary pressure from opponents and it keeps on happening. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gid Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 Thought he was solid again today. Agreed his distribution is suspect though but then he's not in the team to pass the ball. There's my whole point there. No he's not in the team to pass the ball so someone tell him do stop fecking doing it!! I also agree he was solid. But this "suspect" distribution should not be let off lightly. It has cost us in the past and it will cost us in the future if it isn't addressed. It invites uneccessary pressure from opponents and it keeps on happening. Ferguson should be taking the ball off the centre backs and starting moves like he used to. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 Thought he was solid again today. Agreed his distribution is suspect though but then he's not in the team to pass the ball. There's my whole point there. No he's not in the team to pass the ball so someone tell him do stop fecking doing it!! I also agree he was solid. But this "suspect" distribution should not be let off lightly. It has cost us in the past and it will cost us in the future if it isn't addressed. It invites uneccessary pressure from opponents and it keeps on happening. Ferguson should be taking the ball off the centre backs and starting moves like he used to. Agreed. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 some of his Punts actually find the strikers. his distribution is alot better than it used to be imo . Once at 55 minutes he found a winger.. Other than that you're having a laugh... Watch the game again and count the punts. Build a ratio to possession lost and you'll know what I mean. Infact do that in any game over the last 2 years and you'll change your opinion. Nah . First half twice he found kyle lafferty with a diagnol . Watch the game again Davie Weir was solid today and we got a clean sheet . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
polar bear Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 The big man's "argueably", still doing a job for us but would someone please tell him to STOP trying to play football and STOP playing that useless fucking punt up the park to the opposition. How many times is he going to do this, how many games over the past few years has he done this, how many time are we going to have to watch this stupid, useless fucking waste of possession!!!!? 38 years old now surely to fuck, if noone else has, he should know himself he cannot pick a long pass. STOP FUCKING DOING IT DAVIE, totally sick of it!!! :angry: That's the plan though Ted,when Boyd plays. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShootSpeedKillLight Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 I was going to start a post on this. It's really strange. Weir is clearly one of the most intelligent footballers in our team, and can read the game better than any except maybe Mendes, but still he insists on punting the ball up the park as far as possible on a regular basis. I don't think he's being instructed to do so, but on the other hand I can't think of any other explanations. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 The big man's "argueably", still doing a job for us but would someone please tell him to STOP trying to play football and STOP playing that useless fucking punt up the park to the opposition. How many times is he going to do this, how many games over the past few years has he done this, how many time are we going to have to watch this stupid, useless fucking waste of possession!!!!? 38 years old now surely to fuck, if noone else has, he should know himself he cannot pick a long pass. STOP FUCKING DOING IT DAVIE, totally sick of it!!! :angry: That's the plan though Ted,when Boyd plays. Are you saying Walter is clueless? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ted E Bayer Posted February 28, 2009 Author Share Posted February 28, 2009 some of his Punts actually find the strikers. his distribution is alot better than it used to be imo . Once at 55 minutes he found a winger.. Other than that you're having a laugh... Watch the game again and count the punts. Build a ratio to possession lost and you'll know what I mean. Infact do that in any game over the last 2 years and you'll change your opinion. Nah . First half twice he found kyle lafferty with a diagnol . Watch the game again Davie Weir was solid today and we got a clean sheet . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TMWWBK Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 I've learned to not account for Weir's passing, for months it would irritate the life out of me, but now i understand it's an inherent part of his game that the fans just have to accept. Today however, he really took the piss with it. Solid as ever and dominant in the air, but his passing really, really put us on the backfoot at times. For a while he kept it short and we were fine, but then he started going long for a reason which is alien to me. As i touched on, he did breeze it defensively. The passing is just a sour attribute. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speuan Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 I've learned to not account for Weir's passing, for months it would irritate the life out of me, but now i understand it's an inherent part of his game that the fans just have to accept. Today however, he really took the piss with it. Solid as ever and dominant in the air, but his passing really, really put us on the backfoot at times. For a while he kept it short and we were fine, but then he started going long for a reason which is alien to me. As i touched on, he did breeze it defensively. The passing is just a sour attribute. He's to old to fanny around on the ball, cause he will and has got caught on it. Bougie can do the sexy stuff and big davie can defend so ain't gonna complain about it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delparlane Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 Most of the people who think Weir is "finished" are just being ageist IMO. I agree that come the summer we should be looking for a new centre half, but in terms of defending at this moment in time Weir is as solid and relibale now as he was ten years ago. He uses his experience very well. Still one of the reasons for our good defensive record. The biggest danger in defence is at RB I think. Still he will be 40 next year and that should give Walter a hint. Aye, but Wattie's 61 on Tuesday, so Davie's still a spring chicken tae him. I admire Weir a lot, but even I admit that those punts often get oan ma' t*ts. Still, he did have a few today that found their marks to spring a chance, even if said chances ended in hee-haw. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cornelius11 Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 i dont think weir connected a pass all game, did his marking job immaculately but his distribution was crud. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 some of his Punts actually find the strikers. his distribution is alot better than it used to be imo . Once at 55 minutes he found a winger.. Other than that you're having a laugh... Watch the game again and count the punts. Build a ratio to possession lost and you'll know what I mean. Infact do that in any game over the last 2 years and you'll change your opinion. Nah . First half twice he found kyle lafferty with a diagnol . Watch the game again Davie Weir was solid today and we got a clean sheet . ? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Andypendek Posted February 28, 2009 Share Posted February 28, 2009 It's supposed to be a mix-up of styles, designed to keep the opposition team sitting in a wee bit deeper than they would do if we built slowly thru Ferguson, for example, every time. Are we going to attack slowly, thru the middle? Are we going to launch it long, looking for a striker? Not knowing means the CBs and midfiield of who we're playing will sit maybe 10 yards deeper...that's the plan, anyway. With Miller's speed and willingness to work, we can belt it into channels and pick up crumbs. It's not my idea of good football, but I can see the reason why we would do it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...