Were Is Glasgow Rangers Glass Ceiling ?

DJBLUE72

As one of the most supported clubs in world football were is, our glass ceiling

Last 16 Champions League

QF Champions Leauge

SF Champions League

F Champions League

Winners Champions League

Think of all the teams throughout Europe that are on our level or below and have done more than anyone ever imagined

and if you really do think its impossible

I think we are a team and club with enough experiance and future potential to particapate in a Champions League Semi Final but with

just a little too much top class experiance to ever win it unless we were taken over by a rich billionare

We will always be 1st in the SPL but are capable of so much more as a club we could be a top 5 club in the EPL if they ever decide to let us in.

Guest gersfan2233

winning the spl every season should be our main aim in europe i would like us this season to get to the last 16 and c wat happens there would love us to go to the final but wi so manu great teams that are spending crazy money be hard

Porto are a fair comparison I would say, in terms of the country they are based in (not one of the Euro 'super leagues') and size of support. In fact, I would say our support, and therefore our potential, is greater than Porto's, so in theory the sky's the limit.

Before we all get carried away though, we should remember that Portugal produces a far higher calibre of native footballer than Scotland, and that doesn't look likely to change anytime soon for reasons largely outwith the club's control.

We'll never win the Champions league in my lifetime unfortunately, unless ofcourse we move down south or some mad, dafty, crazy, downright stupid billionaire bought our club.

Porto are a fair comparison I would say, in terms of the country they are based in (not one of the Euro 'super leagues') and size of support. In fact, I would say our support, and therefore our potential, is greater than Porto's, so in theory the sky's the limit.

Before we all get carried away though, we should remember that Portugal produces a far higher calibre of native footballer than Scotland, and that doesn't look likely to change anytime soon for reasons largely outwith the club's control.

The difference as you say is the natural footballer. Porto were able to go far because of local talent that didn't cost them that much. The only way we'd be able to win the CL or come close is buying expensive foreign players. Also even though it isn't one of the 'super leagues' Portugal is still ranked quite a few places above Scotland, not only did Porto win and regularly compete in Europe Sporting Lisbon and Benfica do well as well something which a third team in Scotland hasn't done for a long time.

they produce a higher calibre of footballer through proper football coaching unlike the pish we suffer here!

The difference as you say is the natural footballer. Porto were able to go far because of local talent that didn't cost them that much. The only way we'd be able to win the CL or come close is buying expensive foreign players. Also even though it isn't one of the 'super leagues' Portugal is still ranked quite a few places above Scotland, not only did Porto win and regularly compete in Europe Sporting Lisbon and Benfica do well as well something which a third team in Scotland hasn't done for a long time.

very true about foreign players,remember that they have very strong connections wit h brazil and a ready suply of talent thro some loophole with passports.

I think Rangers have the ability to become a huge team throughout Europe year after year.

However, I do not know if it will be possible without hiring a European manager...and look how that went last time.

One of the main problems, in my opinion, are the conditions of our players compared to players playing for Man U, Barca etc.

Football has changed over the decades. We have sports scientists and dieticians informing players of how to exercise, when to exercise, what to eat and when to eat etc. This brings more factors into how good a player is.

The best players in the world do have footballing brains, they do know when to do a dribble or make a pass. But they are also unbelievably fit so that after 80 minutes of a gruelling 1-1 match, a lot of the time in the scorching sun, their fitness levels allow them to be able to perform the world class abilities that were given to them.

The problem is within society in Scotland which either needs to be addressed or a European manager (IMO) needs to address at a very early age in a footballers career.

This is probably why there has not been a footballer produced in Scotland that has the abilities to play for Man U or Realy Madrid when even poor footballing countries are able to do this, Drogba, Essien, Kaladze etc.

Really interesting question.

Are we operating at our optimum capacity, considering the league that we're in? Arguably we are. Last 16 of the Champions League and UEFA Cup Final is not bad at all, considering that we're in a football backwater. In football, of course, anything is possible. You only need to look at the Porto vs. Monaco CL final a few years ago to see this. However, if we're being realistic, while in the SPL, the best we can hope to become is regular quarter finalists. Even that would require great management.

Good point. And considering the factors, we probably are doing reasonably well considering our circumstances.

But that doesn't mean we shouldn't strive to improve. We have one of the biggest fan bases in the world. The prestige of our club is quite impressive considering we are not making the last 16 of the CL every year and have not won a European Trophy since Barca 72.

I would really love to see us compete in some Super League or the EPL. This would force people in charge at our club to change.

we have made it out the group stages before so no reason why we cannot do that again, and with a favourable draw in last 16s, we could, and it is a massive question, we could get to the last 8s, but that would require a very fortuname draw, and a lot of luck on the way. Don't see us going any further than that in foreseable future mind

Until we can regularly produce our own high quality technical players and only have to buy to fill spaces we haven't filled from our youth system, then we'll bumble along hoping we get straight into the group stages of the CL. If we have to qualify in the future, given the standard we'd now have to face, we'd struggle.

We're a club with big ambitions but precious little talent coming through the ranks and even less money to buy it so that's where we're at.

A consistent spell in the Last 16 of the Champions League , with the revenue from that being used to construct a squad of a reasonable calibre could see this football club easily , easily win a European trophy in the upcoming decade. Of that I have no doubt.

As David Holmes said , we , with the correct formula , can achieve anything.

If the club fulfilled its potential, we could make the latter stages of the CL. However, in its present state we'll be lucky to get out of the groups, because more or less every team we'll face in Europe will have at least 10x the money we do.

screw the idea of going to the EPL.. its alrite for those armchair bears who think they know best.. but like SDM, these "fans" do not think of the real fans who follow the team every week, can u imagine the costs to tour the country every other week? fuck that!

So what you're saying is that you're prepared to follow the team, but not outside Scotland. What do you think supporters of Barcelona, Marseille and AC Milan do? It's the price you pay for being in a better league.

actually i was including Europe away aswell ;)

Of course we don't have the financial clout of other teams in Europe. But money alone does not guarantee success... Will Real walk the CL this year? No chance.

Our goals should be imho..

SPL and one additional CUP every year. Treble every 2/3 years.

Europe...

CL Last 16 ever yyear, the odd quarter final.. perhaps even a semi now and then.. but last 16 is the goal

IF we drop out of cl into the Europa, then Quarters/Semis...

We should be able to do this.