Do you think Mowbray and Fortune are a threat to us?

I'm not unduly worried by any of these imports to the glitterdome but ray hepburn thinks they are, he also must be on here to when he says 'the silence is deafening from Murray', these words were on here not 2 days ago ? :sherlock:

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/columnists/r...15875-21512661/

Would a Govan publican be as effective as David? By Ray Hepburn 12/07/2009

Rangers may well have won the SPL title on the final weekend of the season in May, but it is Celtic’s fans who are striding confidently toward the new season with a spring in their step.

Deprived on the last day of a fourth straight championship, Celtic have spiced up the summer with new manager Tony Mowbray and £3.8million striker Marc-Antoine Fortune.

That’s just the sort of pick me up that fans need in the cricket season, proof that their season ticket money is not only valued but has been counted and invested in the future.

Over at Ibrox however, the silence has been deafening. Christian Dailly, Brahim Hemdani and Graeme Smith have left, but in Rangers’ defence, they do rely on other parties to take their surfeit of superfluous players.

But more importantly, not the slightest hint of new men coming in. No indication that some of the Champions League cash is going to be spent on improving a side which made a painful, early exit from Europe last time.

It is always very dangerous to start criticising individuals in football over an unwillingness to spend. We are all entitled to privacy over our finances and they should be no different.

But what is the point in having Sir David Murray, one of the most successful businessmen in Scotland’s proud fiscal history, at Rangers if he is unable to improve the product in the team?

It is no secret that Murray is not a football man. From his schooldays rugby was his game and he only became involved in football because at the time the Rangers brand was a bargain.

• Replies 88

He brings up our embarassing exit to Kaunus yet it means fuck all now, we are already in the Champions league and its Celtic that need to get past the qualifying rounds, we will see who is sitting pretty come the end of August

They will give us a tough season but fear them? No, whoever this hack is who wrote this puff piece was short on things to write about methinks. We know the score, there aint much money and I would rather we went about our business quietly than going round chasing every mercenary footballer under the sun who just wants to come for a nice pay day. I refuse to give any credibility to any hack who writes for the mirror.

Before Mowbray was appointed Celtic were linked with:

Martinez: A man who works to a budget, plays nice football, and overachieves.

Coyle: A man who works to a budget, plays nice football, and overachieves.

But they landed Tony The Tiger. Who works to a budget, plays decent football, but categorically, undeniably underachieves.

Not too worried really, mis-Fortune's powderpuff anyway.

And a very biased article if I do say so myself.

Going by Mowbray's man management and brilliant managerial record so far, the signing of the next Pele in Fortune and the fact they hammered the world famous Brisbane Roar...they're a cert to win the SPL and the Champions League this year.

Will be tight again this year probably but I'm not scared of them. They could've spent £3.8 million on a far better player than Fortune plus they seem to be linked with old West Brom players.

in todays SPL there is nothing really between the mhanks and us ,therefore regardless of who is the manager or whom they sign they will always be a threat to us next season.

why?

because they were a complete failure last season and therefore should not be underestimated beacuse as at the moment they will be licking thier mhanky wounds just as we were the season before last.

but one thing is for sure,that peter 'the pied piper' liarwell will only replace what he loses in regards to his playing squad therefore i sincerley hope that when those durty f*ckers lay out thier stall murray pulls a few surprise signings out of his sleeve.

they will always be a threat, its how much of a threat. While i think fortune is a half decent player for the money they could have done so much better. Their defence is still pish and if Mowbray does change the captain it could unsettle the rest of the team as well. They havent done anything yet that REALLY concerns me. We will have to improve on last year if we are to win 2 in a row but i think thats attainable. We dropped a lot of silly points last year.

the beggars will be a threat, with the current financial state at ibrox we wont be running away with titles for a wee while yet, so post split title scraps are to be expected by us

but will monkey boy and his monkey manager (oops was that racist) make the difference, hard to say, the beggars defence still is fucking woeful, good strikers cant always drag you out of trouble on a cold december night in dundee when your 1 behind and fucking struggling

if they buy a defender or 2 then rangers need to invest, if tims start the season with mcmanus/caldwell/loovens as their 3 choice centre halves then i'll piss myself laughing

Nothing that lot do ever bothers me because its them that should be worried about us.... We are the Champions and we are the better team, Smith is a better manager than Mowbray in every way...

Mowbray can spend 3.8 million on all the no-marks he wants, how many were worried when Jan Venegoor of Hesselink joined them? He hardly lit the place up did he, whatever happened to that Italian guy Donati? Or Sno or Crosas or all the other superstars? Celtic do not have any players that cause me any concern

Natural order is restored, we are the top club in the country and we have control of our own destiny, what we do with it is our only threat. If we keep the core of the winning team together for the next couple of seasons I can see us starting another period of dominance.

Modern football at our level is often a PR exercise, the fans over in Timland would have expected nothing less than a new manager and a big money striker. They have got a decent enough striker and a tough but unproven manager. He's a celtic man, unlike Strachan, so the fans will be silenced for now. Do you want a team that bows to the wishes of the fans or do you want a team that is run by competent management? Let them buy their way out of trouble and we'll play our way to another SPL title. Europe is for money right now, our manager will buy if he unloads more players, but I'd rather be in Rangers position with a younger leaner squad than Celtic's. We also need a bit of luck with injuries, we need Thommo, Boogie, and others in the squad right through the season or we are screwed.

We dont need to add players to beat that load of shit Tony Nobody wasnt a threat to us when he was at Hivs he wasnt a threat to anyone in the EPL and he certainly wont worry Rangers.

Their season starts about 3 weeks before ours so no wonder they are in a bigger rush to get players signed. They have also changed their whole management team this summer so they should spend more than us.

It’s nice that we are the side that don’t need an urgent rebuild this summer

.. Tony Mopery os as yet won fuck all - papers would have him crowned King of the World, BUT he still has to get past us first.

Oh, and Rangers always play information tight - do we really want to hear every rumour about every player we even sniff at - I do prefer just hearing about signings!

He makes reference to our early exit to Kaunus as if we have done nothing to strengthen since. Remember Davis, Mendes, Edu, Laferty all arrived after the Kaunus debacle.

But most of them only played a handful of decent games over a season as for Edu only played a couple of games

"But more importantly, not the slightest hint of new men coming in. No indication that some of the Champions League cash is going to be spent on improving a side which made a painful, early exit from Europe last time."

We spent the cash we needed to beat the tottie wheekers after that happened ya pr1ck ! That exit wouldnt have happened a month later on, so no wonder the scum are racing to get their sh1t in order. If they were to copy our performance from last year in europe, id laugh myself sick.

Nice unbiased reporting by someone who obviously only watches the filth. We spent cash last year, got some very useful bodies in and will still be using them this year, the fhannies got crap and need to replace - uch aye, their great ya pr1ck ! dont know a single scumhead who has a phuking spring in his step.

WATP