HELP! What pub to watch the Old firm game?

MKGER

So im up on saturday with the missus to watch The Big FeniYin at the secc and was hoping to catch the OF game the following day in a good Gers pub.

Now ive done this kind of thing before when i watched an OF game in the Grapes which was good but it opened at 12.30pm! What kind of time is that? plus its a bit small as is Annie Millers which ment we had to stand for the 2 hours which im fine with, but but my wee girlfirend.....not so much!

Now i know its the law and all that up there to open at no earlier then 12.30 on sundays but surely theres other places where i can get in, get settled, and get merry, at say about 11am?

Our flights back home are at 4ish so need to be a reasonably short distance from the airport.

So can anyone reccomend a non-regurlar/member only bar that will welcome me n the missus to watch the game and that doesnt open as late as 12.30 and that isnt far fromt eh airport?

And finally can anyone confirm that the croft bar in paisley (which i found on bluenosebars.com) is closed or not? i tried phoning the number all over the net but it was a private residences number, poor guy said hes had loads of calls relating to a pub he knew nothing about!

So im up on saturday with the missus to watch The Big FeniYin at the secc and was hoping to catch the OF game the following day in a good Gers pub.

Now ive done this kind of thing before when i watched an OF game in the Grapes which was good but it opened at 12.30pm! What kind of time is that? plus its a bit small as is Annie Millers which ment we had to stand for the 2 hours which im fine with, but but my wee girlfirend.....not so much!

Now i know its the law and all that up there to open at no earlier then 12.30 on sundays but surely theres other places where i can get in, get settled, and get merry, at say about 11am?

Our flights back home are at 4ish so need to be a reasonably short distance from the airport.

So can anyone reccomend a non-regurlar/member only bar that will welcome me n the missus to watch the game and that doesnt open as late as 12.30 and that isnt far fromt eh airport?

And finally can anyone confirm that the croft bar in paisley (which i found on bluenosebars.com) is closed or not? i tried phoning the number all over the net but it was a private residences number, poor guy said hes had loads of calls relating to a pub he knew nothing about!

Are you staying in a hotel?

lf so,have a drink in bar then a quick taxi to the boozers at half time,Lord Nelson Paisley rd West is well sighted for airport,enjoy (tu)

Are you staying in a hotel?

lf so,have a drink in bar then a quick taxi to the boozers at half time,Lord Nelson Paisley rd West is well sighted for airport,enjoy (tu)

Lord Nelsons sounds promising thanks. Not been there before. Yer stayin in the smiths hotel right at he top end of of sauchihal street, its cheap and cheerful but doesnt have a bar (td)

Bit off topic but a few of my mates are heading to Amsterdam for the weekend and are planning to watch the game in an irish pub. I think they're very brave if they go ahead with it :lol:

:praise: theyll be fine! id imagine decent banter and a lota highs

Croft Bar is open! Good Rangers bar mate.. And 5 mins from the airport...

http://www.bebo.com/Profile.jsp?MemberId=5844493748

its defo still open, just looked on their bebo page

seems to be first come first served and when its full nobody is getting in

its a 2 minute walk into the town centre where you could get a bus to the airport (10 minute journey)

Thanks bud, but id found that page too. I rang the number given on the bebo site just to make sure we were welcome and the guy that answered said its hes own home number and that hes had loads off calls relating to the pub in the past 2 months.

It sounds and looks perfect given the pictures and location but i dont wanna risk getting a taxi or bus to paisley to find a boarded up boozer unless i can contact the place!

its a 2 minute walk into the town centre where you could get a bus to the airport (10 minute journey)

Thanks bud, but id found that page too. I rang the number given on the bebo site just to make sure we were welcome and the guy that answered said its hes own home number and that hes had loads off calls relating to the pub in the past 2 months.

It sounds and looks perfect given the pictures and location but i dont wanna risk getting a taxi or bus to paisley to find a boarded up boozer unless i can contact the place!

al be heading by it later mate so al have a look but im sure its still open

are ya!? cheers man, let me know yer! And cheers gaffbear, that looks like a decent option!

Bit off topic but a few of my mates are heading to Amsterdam for the weekend and are planning to watch the game in an irish pub. I think they're very brave if they go ahead with it :lol:

The Hoopman on the Leidseplein, the ower is a dutch guy who supports the gers

are ya!? cheers man, let me know yer! And cheers gaffbear, that looks like a decent option!

awrite mate, its defo open and turns oot i know the managers husband

they dont open till 12.30, says they cannae take a chance opening any earlier

awrite mate, its defo open and turns oot i know the managers husband

they dont open till 12.30, says they cannae take a chance opening any earlier

legend, thanks mate (tu)

whats annie millers like? i thought it was a pretty big pub??

is it a total rangers bar theme or is it just where rangers fans chose to go?!

very small considering how popular is it. Tucked away round a corner too, ud not find it unless your looking for it if thats makes sense. And yes its decked in rangers this and that, and when you walk through the door the 1st thing u see is HM the Queen looking down at you from above the bar. Good place for a pre-match sing song, not so good to watch a game imo

Thanks btw rangers4eva, i googled mapped The rosevale in partick and your not wrong, it would be ideal tho ive decided on the Croft

The Croft is deffo open m8 ma m8s wer in ther on fri coz they wer havin strippers in :D