bluenose4life 5 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 Quite seriously, Sky pay each EPL club atleast £50m per season (in another post) (larger clubs get 3x this) and they also get much better sponcership deals etc... too. Sky have said they want us in the EPL aswell as the tims. Now what sky want, sky get as they are putting billions in to the EPL and if they are not happy and withdrew, the EPL would fall on its arse. So, as the SPL and EPL tv contracts are up for renewal at the end of 2012 season, i wonder if they will get us to join the EPL. Sky hold all the cards here mind as if they dont get what they want and withdraw, EPL has no tv coverage = no sky money each year for each team... ESPN could not afford this eitherWith that said, if they asked us to join for this weekend, who woudl you be trying to buy/get on loan? Bear in mind, £50m from sky and another few mill from sponcership deals... (as for debt of the club, Man Utd have £750m of debt so our £30m is a piss in the pool) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OceanRain 2,845 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 So, as the SPL and EPL tv contracts are up for renewal at the end of 2012 season, i wonder if they will get us to join the EPL.Is this a joke?No, really? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t_gets 0 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 It's never gonna happen NEVER! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flecky1 4 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 sorry mate, it will never happen, we have to get our head around the fact a turnover of between 40 and 60 million is us, thats Rangers, we have to live within that and do our best with what we have, its more than enough to realise my, and our, ambitions, and i am very ambitious, it can be done here, just not with cunts like bain and murray running our affairs!i think its good enough, we just have to do better and be more cleverEPL is a pointless debate, it is more boring than the sectarianism shite up herei await the day Sky and the EPL go tits up, shouldnt be too longfuck the EPL and fuck Skys investment in it, it will all end in tears Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sdunsmb 43 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 Sky may prefer it if the Old Firm were in the EPL but not enough to hold the English to ransome over it, keeping in mind Sky need the football clubs as much as vice versa. Talks of the Old-Firm joining the EPL are almost a yearly thing and have been for a while. I'm not gonna say it'll never happen but I cant see how it ever would personally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
broxi51 48 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 not this again, the the epl clubs voted no to the old firm joining just a few months ago.We have to concentrate on getting the finances back onto track without european money and still pay off the debtWe have to get our youth to progress to the the first team far more effeciently than we are doing nowoverhaul our scouting system to buy good raw products which we can sell on for a profit to the epl clubs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluenose4life 5 Posted August 12, 2010 Author Share Posted August 12, 2010 Is this a joke?No, really?no joke. its been public for a while now. Sky do want us there - they have said this publicly too. It comes down to it, they hold the cards! Chances of it happening is slim i agree but this is still a possibility.as for the clubs voting - this is a non starter as sky will say okay, we are pulling out, see you later. clubs are left with no sky tv money and only ESPN money which is nowhere near the money of sky tv. comes to it, call their bluf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OceanRain 2,845 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 I personally don't think there is a chance in Hell of them ever doing that for the sake of getting the Old Firm down there. Ever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
laudrupno1 3,932 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 cant see it happenin would love to see a british cup thou Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GersBear 6 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 They allow welsh teams so why not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
.Williamson. 88,498 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 The idea of a Scottish club winning their league makes them sick.That and the fact they wouldn't want their league to be associated with any form of sectarianism. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
krisboyuk 6 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 Will never ever happen. I don't really care if it ever does either all this pish about best league in the world... is it fuck! just cos you pay someone £200k a week and 10x the transfer money any other country would doesn't make you a good player. The EPL just sells itself really well, you say something enough and people start the believe it. I prefer to watch the German and the Spanish leagues. Both are a better standard imo. I think most English people dont a fucking clue the size of the Old Firm. If we went down there and got the same money the do... granted would take a few years... but would end up budging 2 of their 'big 4' back down the league. Who other than Man U is genuinely a bigger club? I don't mean richer club... but in terms of fan base, history, worldwide interest? There was a boy up at my work the other day who is a Sunderland fan trying to say they are bigger club than Gers. I told him to stfu, got more spending power aye but no even a spec the size of gers. It annoys me there fucking arrogance!I would like if we had a TV contract that gave us enough money so that we only lost players to their 'bigger' clubs but don't want to go to their shitty wee league were we would get constant grief for sectarianism and other pish with people saying we shouldnt be there. If anything a Euro league but fuck England... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MosesMcNeil 1,664 Posted August 12, 2010 Share Posted August 12, 2010 As club desperation for greater revenues grows faster than the current supply of said revenues - there is an easy and obvious solution to providing them: add the Old Firm to the EPL menu.He who pays the piper calls the tune - it is inevitable we will depart the Scottish leagues. And the quicker the better as far as I am concerned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...