McAnus Takes Blame

Stephen McManus today held his hands up for the mistake which deprived Scotland of one of their best-ever results.

The Middlesbrough defen-der conceded he made a crucial error to allow Spain’s Fernando Llorente the opportunity to secure a 3-2 win in last night’s Euro 2012 qualifier at Hampden Park.

After battling back from two goals down to level the scoreline at 2-2 against the world and European champions, McManus mistimed a cross and was made to pay when Spanish sub Llorente slammed home the winning goal with just 11 minutes left.

It was a crushing blow for McManus, who had been outstanding at the heart of the Scotland defence up until that moment.

He said: “I’m sick about it. I felt as though I had timed everything well and had got up early, but the ball seemed to shoot through the air.

“Unfortunately, these things can happen. Spain have world-class players all over the park who can make the most of any opportunity. I’m gutted about it because we worked so hard to get back into the game.”

Despite managing to bank only four points out of a possible 12 in their bid to qualify for the 2012 Championships, McManus is confident last night’s performance provides Craig Levein’s side with something to build on.

He said: “There are still a lot of matches to be played and we are still in contention. I thought we played very well last night. The manager wanted us to play in a different style and it worked well, in my opinion. Even when we went two goals behind we didn’t give up.

“We were facing the best team in the world, but we still displayed great character to come back from two goals behind.

“There is now a break before our next set of fixtures, so we’ll take stock and see how things go, but I definitely believe we are still in the mix and capable of finishing second in the group.”

Och well he's only human; these things aye seem to happen in fitba...to us. :power_of_anguish: If it wasn't him, no doubt someone else on our team would've popped up to snatch an agonising defeat from the jaws of a glorious result.

OK, I apologise...I was out of line there. After all, we did beat France twice. :5260: Occasionally we do get a favourable wind in the sails before the ship inevitably gets sucked into Corryvreckan.

The bit in that article that jumped out at me was that he was having a great game up until then?

What the hell? he was always the last one to step out, keeping the Spanish onside all night and was caught out of position more than a few times. He's a diddy.

The bit in that article that jumped out at me was that he was having a great game up until then?

What the hell? he was always the last one to step out, keeping the Spanish onside all night and was caught out of position more than a few times. He's a diddy.

Think they meant solitaire, not football. ;)

Guest SandyIniesta-Nordahl

McAnus, I see what you did there :craphead: :craphead: :craphead: :craphead:

---------------------------------------------------

Post made by Sandy, an award winning contributor.