Jump to content

Novo`s goal agianst Seville


Fergie1873
 Share

Recommended Posts

Sporting had a goal ruled out seven minutes from the end as Nacho Novo sent the ball into the goal via Mate Bilic who, in an offside position, may or may not have got a touch but was certainly interfering with play. To add insult to injury, Novo was booked for his celebration of the non-goal. Bilic was denied in the dying moments when Palop produced a fine flying save to keep out his header.

Taken from Fifa.com.

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a goal, for me

Common sense required

Yes the player in an offside position makes a move towards the ball but he doesn't touch it and the goalkeeper is already on his arse on the other side of the goal and would never have got to the ball regardless of the other player!

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a goal, for me

Common sense required

Yes the player in an offside position makes a move towards the ball but he doesn't touch it and the goalkeeper is already on his arse on the other side of the goal and would never have got to the ball regardless of the other player!

Common sense would be that seeing from the Refs angle the way Bilic flicks his foot back in a backheel motion it could be construed he's helped it in from an offside position, hence the decision. If Bilic just moves his foot to the side there would have been more of a chance of it getting giving.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events found
×
×
  • Create New...