RFC55 104,117 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 A GANG of thugs laid siege to Celtic star Anthony Stokes's home as his parents cowered inside after Sunday's Old Firm clash.The 22-year-old striker was out when the baying gang appeared.But his parents John and Joan were trapped inside as the yobs shouted death threats and sang sectarian songs.And a wheelie bin was thrown against the living room window of the house in Broxburn, West Lothian.The shocking incident was revealed after yesterday's Record told how match referee Willie Collum received a telephone death threat after the game.Stokes's parents had come over for the game and saw their boy's side lose 3-1 to Rangers at Parkhead.Police were called after 15 thugs gathered outside his home.A witness told the Record: "There was a mob of about 15 outside Anthony's house."The were singing anti-Catholic songs and saying they were going to 'kill the Fenian b*****d'."I saw them pick up a wheelie bin and try to launch it through the front window."They weren't kids - they were grown men in their late 20s, early 30s, and looked like football hooligans."It was shocking and intimidating. The men were very drunk."It was clear they targeted the property because a Celtic player lives there. This sort of thing gives Broxburn a bad name."Stokes is believed to be renting the £400,000 five-bedroom property and living there on his own - but is now considering moving out. He only recently moved there from Edinburgh.A neighbour said he heard the singing and shouting. He said: "I heard a lot of noise coming from outside Anthony Stokes's house."The police arrived but by that time the gang had gone. I feel sorry for him and his parents. He's only just moved to Broxburn and I can't believe no one told him it's a huge Rangers town."It's about the last place a Celtic player who knew the score would want to live."A spokesman for Lothian and Borders police said: "Officers in Broxburn attended at an address following reports of a disturbance outside."Upon arrival, there was no disturbance ongoing and no damage had been caused to the property. The appropriate advice was given to the occupier and no further police action was taken."Stokes was booked after just one minute of Sunday's game for a late tackle on Rangers defender Sasa Papac.He has three caps for the Republic of Ireland and moved to Celtic from Hibs in the summer for £800,000.Stokes owns The Players Lounge sports bar in Dublin along with dad John, 53, who runs the popular bar.Earlier this year, a gunman opened fire indiscriminately at the front door of the bar, hitting three men.The big stupid headline, the amount of stuff the poor poor man must have went through, only for the police to say the part in bold How did i know there would be a wee story regarding a tim and being threatend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RFC55 104,117 Posted October 27, 2010 Author Share Posted October 27, 2010 So essentially, a group of thugs were on their way home from the pub, noticed they were passing Stokes' house, so shouted abuse at it? Aww diddums...Yes because it is a well known fact that when Rangers fans sing they are being thugs. If only we had a nice friendly IRA songbook and Anthony could have joined in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueben_d 40 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 The folk who participated are idiots nonetheless. Funny how they manage to quote the "sectarian" abuse but no quotes attributed to willy collums Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnyboyrfc 296 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Exaggerating much?A few guys were singing songs to a house.... they make it sound like they burned the place down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carsons Dog 9,878 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Stokes owns The Players Lounge sports bar in Dublin along with dad John, 53, who runs the popular bar.Earlier this year, a gunman opened fire indiscriminately at the front door of the bar, hitting three men.Interesting eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ozblue 4,331 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Imagine the fucking idiot signing for the scummies and then renting a hoose in "I"Broxburn FFS I don't agree with that happening at all because it's just dragging us down to his level..although the little scabby cunt certainly deserves a few broken legs for that tackle assault on the Papac on Sunday.Singing sectarian songs? Probably just a wee loyalist folk song giving him a bit of advice where he can get some cheap tatties across the water noo that the famine is over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarcheVinny 1,003 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 so these people sang anti catholic songs...but whoever rang willie collum had a sectarian undertone? its always so much worse when it concerns alleged rangers fans misbehaving. not even in the english papers have they referred to collum incident as anythign more than old firm fans. ridiculous.also that story looks like load of nonsense to try deflect the attention offa timmy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RFC55 104,117 Posted October 27, 2010 Author Share Posted October 27, 2010 Police were called after 15 thugs gathered outside his home.Just noticed this bit, ayou can always tell how bad it is when there is time to do a headcount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
stuvey 5 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 I smell shiote! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheHammer 10 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 This is reeking, the deflection campaign is now in full flow.They have a bigoted demented alky for a manager a drunk driver as assistant, they are on a slippery slope and they know it.Prepare for more shite being flung at us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mmrfc1873 48 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Was hoping to read "the thugs then threw a brick through the window which put Anthony in hospital where he met Sasa Papac (the man he basically assaulted) who then was unable to stop laughing at the head injury he deserved to receive".It's his own fault for moving to such a Rangers area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
J-Maestro 9,355 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Was hoping to read "the thugs then threw a brick through the window which put Anthony in hospital where he met Sasa Papac (the man he basically assaulted) who then was unable to stop laughing at the head injury he deserved to receive".It's his own fault for moving to such a Rangers area.If this turns out to be true how the hell could it be his own fault?Shows how much Celtic care about their players though forgetting to mention that Broxburn won't be the best place for him to live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chef 436 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 wow someone threw a wheely bin in broxburn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mmrfc1873 48 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 If this turns out to be true how the hell could it be his own fault?Shows how much Celtic care about their players though forgetting to mention that Broxburn won't be the best place for him to live.Because it is, simple. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueben_d 40 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 I heard a rumour, and you can take it with a big pinch of salt, about Stokes and why Hibs didn't put up a fight to keep him.Rumour is that he owes/owed the riordan family up to £250k in gambling debts and was getting threats to break his legs etc so he spoke to Hibs about it and they agreed to let him go so he could get away from it and use his cut to go towards his debts.Like I say totally unsubstantiated rumour but interesting all the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RFC55 104,117 Posted October 27, 2010 Author Share Posted October 27, 2010 I heard a rumour, and you can take it with a big pinch of salt, about Stokes and why Hibs didn't put up a fight to keep him.Rumour is that he owes/owed the riordan family up to £250k in gambling debts and was getting threats to break his legs etc so he spoke to Hibs about it and they agreed to let him go so he could get away from it and use his cut to go towards his debts.Like I say totally unsubstantiated rumour but interesting all the same.TBH mate, i listen to no such rumours. We ahd the guy on here who said Kris Boyd used to hang around a swing park whilst at Rangers taking gear and drinking buckie, Boruc and cocaine and saying his son wasnt his, Big revelations due to come out in the paper about super Ally, Lennon etc etc, Even Steven Gerrard was the most recent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smile 26,535 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Is it just me thinks liewell and Reid were outside shouting and causing trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1st_Jan_1994 4,868 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 If there's even a grain of truth in that, I feel a bit deflated. How can we campaign to sort the taigs out for their antics when we have people doing stuff like that.It makes anything we have to say rendered pointless. I am really starting to think the two of us are just as bad as each other. If that's true, of course. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bombaybadboy08 15,660 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 So a wheelie bin was thrown against the living room window yet the police report no damage to the property ?Shouldn't the window have cracked,shattered whatever ?How convenient that a bystander knew it was anti-catholic songs and could describe how many of them there were and that they looked like football casuals.Must have been scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BarGLoyal 12 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 I for one do not believe this story , i dont believe anything that produced that cunt is capable of telling the truth. Glad to see they came over tho to watch us hump them tho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
delparlane 5,253 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Is it just me thinks liewell and Reid were outside shouting and causing trouble.Wouldn't be surprised in the least. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ritchieshearercaldow 21,567 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Funny but the Herald reported this incident in an interview with wee Lemmon,the wee moron he said Stokes never metioned it when he arrived at training, so it couldn't have been that bad.It's the usual Daily Rag reporting, always make a mountain out of a mole hill Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace 3,556 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 While i do think it is a bit of muck raking by the DR, i am also disspaointed at the reaction to the story by normally sensible people.IF and it is an incredibly big IF the story was true, can you imagine YOUR mum & dad sitting in thier house, only see a group of young pissed neds standing outside your house, shouting abuse and not knowing what they were going to do next.As i said, probably not correct but if it was ... they should be hunted down & jailed becasue that is not how i expect ANY rangers fan to represent thier club. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bombaybadboy08 15,660 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 Disapointing the way some people are reacting to this. The one post saying its his fault for moving there in particular.He stays in Larkhall Kev,that's how they roll there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rfcfraserrfc 262 Posted October 27, 2010 Share Posted October 27, 2010 If sasa broke his leg it could have been alot worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...