Nintendo dsi/ds lite

RFC55

Looking at getting the wee man one of these for his xmas, he turns 4 in December so i think it would be an ideal little console to get him. Have any of you guys got these or even know if they are worth it? I noticed they have Toy story 3, thomas the tank engine etc out for it so it should be all good. Btw in no way do i want this console to play Mario Kart :sherlock:

I have one and love it to bits. I tend to play Final Fantasy/Dragon Quest games on mine but there're plenty of kiddy games out there. My mate's 2 year old loves his one and plays it all the time.

I'd suggest a standrd DS Lite for a wee one. The only difference between that and a DSi is that you have a camera on the DSi and the screen's a wee bit bigger.

Mario Kart's brilliant on it by the way :pipe:

my kid is 7 and loves his DS and recently got a DSI too.

I would say if he is 4 the DS is plenty because:

cheaper - they will break (im on DS no.4 in 4 years)

additional feaatures of DSI wouldnt suit 4 year old - only difference is added software for taking pics and voice recording - but you need to be able to read to navigate it.

Should be able to get a Brand new DS for about £80 now, thats defo the one to get ;)

Excellent stuff guys cheers. He loves my ps3 and i keeps trying to play it when im at work so hope the wee man appreciates it.

Ive read online reviews from people saying its great if your going on journeys etc and that it keeps them amused so im hoping i wont have to hear him grumbling every 5 mins going on holiday etc.

I wasnt really going to bother with a dsi anyway as when i read the features it seemed a bit too much for a 4year old, so i think i will buy him a basic 1.

Oh aye and mario kart :pipe:

Excellent stuff guys cheers. He loves my ps3 and i keeps trying to play it when im at work so hope the wee man appreciates it.

Ive read online reviews from people saying its great if your going on journeys etc and that it keeps them amused so im hoping i wont have to hear him grumbling every 5 mins going on holiday etc.

I wasnt really going to bother with a dsi anyway as when i read the features it seemed a bit too much for a 4year old, so i think i will buy him a basic 1.

Oh aye and mario kart :pipe:

As Bobby says it's much cheaper as well (tu).

The Mario Kart on the DS is the best one yet imo.

A wee tip, turn the brightness down when you get it as it's usually on full pelt. Saves hours on battery life for each charge. That and not having the sound up full.

Cannae be arsed looking for the charger loyal :pipe: