My take on Valencia

1st_Jan_1994

I could be wrong here and others may correct me, but I thought the Spanish Police were actually OK (for a change)

They seemed a little more laid back in their approach. They were even happy enough to let me hang my banners up despite worries before hand that no-one would get in with flags etc.

The stadium was an absolute shit hole that's falling to bits. I went for a pish at half time and got lost. Couldn't find where I was at all and fell down the steep steps too :disappointment:

Valencia is bigger than I thought too. Very easy getting lost. Loads of streets all looked the same and you'd find yourself walking for miles in the wrong direction before realising.

Was a really quiet trip for me. Had a good skinful on match day, was pissed in fact but the rest of the time I spent just walking about and looking at shit. Which is a first for me lol.

On the night after the game, the first pint I had was when the Milan vs Real game kicked off lol.

Forgot to bring my phone charger and it conked out on the first night :anguish:

Came back with the cold, though. :disappointment:

• Replies 51

I could be wrong here and others may correct me, but I thought the Spanish Police were actually OK (for a change)

They seemed a little more laid back in their approach. They were even happy enough to let me hang my banners up despite worries before hand that no-one would get in with flags etc.

The stadium was an absolute shit hole that's falling to bits. I went for a pish at half time and got lost. Couldn't find where I was at all and fell down the steep steps too :disappointment:

Valencia is bigger than I thought too. Very easy getting lost. Loads of streets all looked the same and you'd find yourself walking for miles in the wrong direction before realising.

Was a really quiet trip for me. Had a good skinful on match day, was pissed in fact but the rest of the time I spent just walking about and looking at shit. Which is a first for me lol.

On the night after the game, the first pint I had was when the Milan vs Real game kicked off lol.

Did you use the wee Viet Cong chap's place across from your hotel? The vodkas and Fanta were huge. One of the boys I was with, flagged down a taxi after a few in there........to take him to the Silken Puerta!! :lol:

Haha.

In the hotel the halfs they were pouring at the bar was huge. Two lads ordered a Bacardi and lemonade and the wee guy just opened the bottle and poured 2/3's of the way up the glass.

Because my phone conked out, I shit myself about setting the alarm to get up in the morning at 7.30am so I decided to stay awake rather than sleep in. It got to about 4am and was watching Copland in Spanish when I had the brainwave to get reception to give me a wake up call doh wish I had thought of that earlier.

I also lost a holdall in the ground with a flag in it, incase anyone came across it? long shot, I know.

I've got a sneaky feeling I was standing right next to you in the stadium in the 1st half.

If thats the case then the guy from London, who I think you were with, was gonny take your flag with him so I guess you have got it back.

I thought you had got the jail when you didn't return :rolleyes:

I know mate. It's my own fault. I get too drunk.

The lads in the Mestalla are better fans than me. I can tell you that right now. After getting beat the last thing I want to do is still sing my heart out and applaud the players.

Good on them, I just can't do it. I want as far away from the stadium as possible after a pumping :disappointment:

I think 3-0 flattered Valencia aswell. They deserves to win, but we didn't take our chances. The goals we conceeded were sloppy, 2 from full back areas - again!

Nevermind. Sunday's game can't come quick enough to get back to winning ways.

I've got a sneaky feeling I was standing right next to you in the stadium in the 1st half.

If thats the case then the guy from London, who I think you were with, was gonny take your flag with him so I guess you have got it back.

I thought you had got the jail when you didn't return :rolleyes:

Aye that's right. Big Buts. I wasn't with him, but he was nearby. Was talking to him at the airport yesterday and he mentioned it.

I got that flag ok. It was another one that was in the bag.

Aye that's right. Big Buts. I wasn't with him, but he was nearby. Was talking to him at the airport yesterday and he mentioned it.

I got that flag ok. It was another one that was in the bag.

Fair enough - I wiz gonny take it but I wont be back at ibrox til the Man Utd game so he 'volunteered'

Cheers (tu)

I had to just pick a spot and wait until the fans started piling out then fire across and grab it when I could get a better view as I couldn't miss it.

i agree with ur opinion on the spanish police and the size of valencia,,it was huge!!

only bad experience i had with the police was when we saw the players gettin on the bus after the match outside the stadium they totally surrouned us with horses and and wher quite heavy handed to get us as far from the bus as possible! lafferty was tryin to get off the bus to get a picture of us and they wouldnt let him off aswell!!! one fuker actually made his go strait for me! apart from that i had a great trip!

dont know if anyone was ther but there was a great sash bash in a bar called Gordons on the nite before the match! i got up at 7 and went to the stadium then to get a tick which was sold to bears no problem at the ticket office! then on the nite of the match we went to a few bars and ended up in some niteclub called The MusicBox,,they wher more than happy to let us in with our colours on aswell which was surprising!

All in all I had a great trip apart from the result!!

Never made it, but sounds like seville, got lost countless times, not the cold a certain type of flu probably?? laugh.gif

Naw haha :D

I think it was my own fault. I didn't realise that during the day was roasting but at night time the temp dipped and daft arse here sleeps with the windows open and the air con on cold for the night - that did it, I think :disappointment:

I would have got a better swally if you didn't demand me and martini moved you're flag anytime a car went by :D

I agree with you; in the past the Spanish police have been alot worse, nothing really major to report about!

Haha :D

Only moved it twice and once was because a dirty big meat wagon pulled up and no cunt could see it :disappointment:

Haha :D

Only moved it twice and once was because a dirty big meat wagon pulled up and no cunt could see it :disappointment:

Aye that was a cunt of a move!

It attracted some amount of attention the first few hours I was there as well, guys walking by themselves and setting the timer on their phone for a photo :lol:

Aye that was a cunt of a move!

It attracted some amount of attention the first few hours I was there as well, guys walking by themselves and setting the timer on their phone for a photo :lol:

Haha yeah.

You two get home ok? I've still got that wee monkey keyring I found who's eyes light up. Forgot all about that :happy:

Haha yeah.

You two get home ok? I've still got that wee monkey keyring I found who's eyes light up. Forgot all about that :happy:

:lol: :lol:

Aye mate got home wednesday afternoon, felt like a burst baw! You ? Some poor wean canny sleep at night now cause they've not got their monkey keyring, ya horrible bastirt :D

:lol: :lol:

Aye mate got home wednesday afternoon, felt like a burst baw! You ? Some poor wean canny sleep at night now cause they've not got their monkey keyring, ya horrible bastirt :D

Got home late last night. Just headed straight to my aunties with 10 bottles of Peroni. Was in no fit state to go home and unpack :lol:

Always get a good laugh with you and Martini. You's going to Turkey next month?

Got home late last night. Just headed straight to my aunties with 10 bottles of Peroni. Was in no fit state to go home and unpack :lol:

Always get a good laugh with you and Martini. You's going to Turkey next month?

:lol: I've got had a swally since tuesday, think I'm staying off it all weekend.

Aye mate we will be there, looking forward to it! I take it you'll be there as well :D ?