Muff 245 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Suprised there is no thread on this.Foster (Birmingham), Hart (Man City), Green (West Ham); Gibbs (Arsenal), Cole (Chelsea), Terry (Chelsea), Jagielka (Everton), Lescott (Man City), Richards (Man City), Ferdinand (Man Utd), Smalling (Man Utd); Walcott (Arsenal), Wilshere (Arsenal), Young (Aston Villa), Gerrard (Liverpool), Barry (Man City), Johnson (Man City), Milner (Man City), Henderson (Sunderland); Agbonlahor (Aston Villa), Bothroyd (Cardiff), Carroll (Newcastle), Crouch (Tottenham), Cole (West Ham). About time Andy Carroll was called up!Suprised to see Jay Bothroyd in there - never really thought of him as international class anytime I've seen him play, but he's been scoring the goals, albeit in a lower league, and it won't do anyone any harm trying him out in a friendly - that's if he get's a decent run out!?Bit suprised Kevin Davies (Carlon Cole in ahead ) has been left out and why Kevin Nolan is not in the squad?No Gary Hooper, Fabio Capello doesn't know what he's doing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheYellowSubmarine 22 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Andy Carrol pulled out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muff 245 Posted November 14, 2010 Author Share Posted November 14, 2010 Andy Carrol pulled out Ach well...Andy Carroll and Gabriel Agbonlahor picked up injuries playing for their clubs on Saturday.Just show's that it's a ridiculous time to be playing an international friendly. A lot of pull out's. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goianegra 4,600 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Until Bothroyd can show this kinda form in the PL, I'm not a fan and totally against this. I could name many forwards that deserve a call up more than him.Carroll was a no brainer, and glad to see Henderson in there.Smalling on the other hand is nothing but a fucking joke. Just goes to show that all you need is 1 game for a top 4 club and you're all that. He's nothing but a prick and should have stayed in non-league Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goianegra 4,600 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Oh aye, and why Agbonlahor? 1 game the whole season? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheYellowSubmarine 22 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Surprised Stewart Downing isnt included Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sdunsmb 43 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Dropping Davies seems ridiculous. Personally, Id never have called him up in the first place because of his age but his great form has continued, so I don't see the logic there?Bothroyd seems a good player and is in great form but it's a pretty big step up for him.Cole is not good enough and a pretty strange decision.A lot of youngsters have been called up though, and that's what England should be doing. They have the talent to base their team around a new generation, much like Germany so they should do it sooner rather than later and not waste time with 33 year olds.I just get the impression that Capello is doing it because of the media pressure, to please the public and as a reaction to a poor world cup as opposed to his belief in the players, which is not good. His decisions just seem so irrational. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas 52,642 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Albrighton deserved a call up IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
simplythebest 11,437 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Smalling is a bit of a surprise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SirWalterSmithLegend 206 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Suprised there is no thread on this.About time Andy Carroll was called up!Suprised to see Jay Bothroyd in there - never really thought of him as international class anytime I've seen him play, but he's been scoring the goals, albeit in a lower league, and it won't do anyone any harm trying him out in a friendly - that's if he get's a decent run out!?Bit suprised Kevin Davies (Carlon Cole in ahead ) has been left out and why Kevin Nolan is not in the squad?No Gary Hooper, Fabio Capello doesn't know what he's doing Its only a matter of time before Lemon and his friends in the media recommend him for a cap or 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madina 3,397 Posted November 14, 2010 Share Posted November 14, 2010 Bothroyd is never international class IMO. Really suprised he has been called up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muff 245 Posted November 14, 2010 Author Share Posted November 14, 2010 Albrighton deserved a call up IMO.He's had a great season so far, fantastic wee player. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
doddsyRFC 1 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Smalling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tristan 11 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Its only a matter of time before Lemon and his friends in the media recommend him for a cap or 2.Without questionRemember the 3 year campaign to get Alan Thompson into the England squad? He was so bad in his 1 and only cap that he was hooked at half time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amac9 2,060 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Bothroyd was a player I was mentioning last season that if he could get his head sorted out he would be a good signing for us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JimmyRFC 4 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Roger Johnson deserves to be in there before Smalling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
doddsyRFC 1 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Roger Johnson deserves to be in there before Smalling.Scott Dann as well, Smalling is awful :| Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
we_are_the_people 2 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Average squad.Hopefully France destroy them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clemdog 39,388 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Imo I think Smalling is a victim of his price tag (understandably), but I think he's a good footballer. He can play the ball on the deck and can rough it up if need be. I don't see how any Englishmen can complain about this, after the WC everyone was moaning about Capello and how he needed to bring in younger players. Englands defence is gash, surely they'd much rather give this boy a chance over the likes of the Lescott and Upson?! People forget he's started in 3 CL games, which is decent experience. Good luck to the boy, he already has a mountain to climb over his price-tag and if anyone can help nurture him, Fergie can. Like someone has already mentioned Marc Albrighton should of been given a chance, and perhaps Gary Cahilll from Bolton? (Just read he's come into the squad along with Stephen Warnock) Maybe Onuoha is another player who could of been called up? Hopefully these youngsters get a chance anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goianegra 4,600 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Imo I think Smalling is a victim of his price tag (understandably), but I think he's a good footballer. He can play the ball on the deck and can rough it up if need be.The reason I hate Smalling is because f what he said about us after the 0-0 Man Utd game. Pretty much said we were shocking.. this from some cunt no one has heard of that couldn't get games for Fulham and was playing non-league football not too long ago.Oh aye, and he's pish Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
we_are_the_people 2 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Smalling looks inept at defending and was woeful against Wolves.Nowhere near good enough for Man United or England. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clemdog 39,388 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 The reason I hate Smalling is because f what he said about us after the 0-0 Man Utd game. Pretty much said we were shocking.. this from some cunt no one has heard of that couldn't get games for Fulham and was playing non-league football not too long ago.Oh aye, and he's pish “To come to Old Trafford and get even a point is a credit to them and they were disciplined but I was quite disappointed that they were so negative. We just couldn’t get past them."It was unfortunate because I think we pressured them right up until the 96th minute and kept going for it but it was just one of those games that it didn’t come off.” I don't find that offensive really. It was his first CL start, something I'm sure he dreampt about like most footballers, and we completely killed his chance of a win with our great discipline and ability to snuff out their attack. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
we_are_the_people 2 Posted November 15, 2010 Share Posted November 15, 2010 Messi's comments about us were much worse Lionel should have used the same comments towards Inter/United/Chelsea against Barcelona. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
swanseabear 25 Posted November 16, 2010 Share Posted November 16, 2010 Bothroyd being in there is a disgrace. If they're are gonna dip into the lower leagues for players, Scott Sinclair should be in there. Fuck it, I hope they get pumped Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
we_are_the_people 2 Posted November 17, 2010 Share Posted November 17, 2010 Andy Carroll looks certain to start tonight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...