Steve Davis

We all know that he has the ability in abundance & when he is interested he is a fantastic player to be in the team. However, most of the games this season he has been demotivated, uninterested and puts in performances of a very sub-standard. It has been well documented throughout his career that he starts off great at a club then falls away. Well this is not acceptable at Rangers, yes everyone is aloud a bad game here and there but the performances he is giving weeek in week out are horrendous, but yet he is abstained from criticism of any substance.

If that was a Kris Boyd or even a Charlie Adam, fans would be in melt down. Adams auld man had to stop attending games because of the level of abuse (not criticism) that Adam was recieving. Yet because Davis is a N.I. prod he seems to immune to the level of criticism that others have recieved. By no means do i wish anyone to become personal with their comments but, at least open your eyes to what is going on.

At this moment in time he wouldn't be in my team.

C'mon Stevie, dig deep wee man and lets fucking see you drive us to the title.

Steve Davis win s the Man of the Match award on Sunday when played in a central role.

Last night the coward moves him to the right and he has a shite game.

Co-Incidence...nah not for me.

Davis is getting wasted to the point where he looks thoroughly pissed off now when asked to play there.

He won't be here next season and i for one don't blame him.

Ur right let's just play no-one for the remaining games

Did u look at the bench last night?

In the first half we never made consecutive passes, young Kyle Hutton was on the park no less than a minute and that changed. Fair enough we have injuries and suspensions, but Hutton is fit again, Ness will be next week (apparently). So in response, I would play those 2 instead of davis and edu.

I wouldn't

I would have Davis in the middle with Ness on his left and Hutton on the right.

Edu wouldn't get near my squad let alone the team.

We all know that he has the ability in abundance & when he is interested he is a fantastic player to be in the team. However, most of the games this season he has been demotivated, uninterested and puts in performances of a very sub-standard. It has been well documented throughout his career that he starts off great at a club then falls away. Well this is not acceptable at Rangers, yes everyone is aloud a bad game here and there but the performances he is giving weeek in week out are horrendous, but yet he is abstained from criticism of any substance.

If that was a Kris Boyd or even a Charlie Adam, fans would be in melt down. Adams auld man had to stop attending games because of the level of abuse (not criticism) that Adam was recieving. Yet because Davis is a N.I. prod he seems to immune to the level of criticism that others have recieved. By no means do i wish anyone to become personal with their comments but, at least open your eyes to what is going on.

At this moment in time he wouldn't be in my team.

C'mon Stevie, dig deep wee man and lets fucking see you drive us to the title.

Was Davis playing last night, I agree with all your points, I think Steve Davis is a quality player but he went missing last night when we really needed him although he wasn't the only one but I expect more from a player with his ability there's no leaders in our team Coisty was our star man last night for going toe to toe with Lemon the fenian mutant.

Steve Davis win s the Man of the Match award on Sunday when played in a central role.

Davis is getting wasted to the point where he looks thoroughly pissed off now when asked to play there.

Are you still pedaling this rubbish...

Fleck Edu Davis Whittaker

If Davis plaayed on the right then who played in the middle?

I thought Davis was poor last night like every other player to be honest with you but I take your point on him not being played in his correct position.

Even though he was playing in his correct position...

again, davis is the only guy working the engine room while the others are there having a sneaky fag break, davis is the only guy who posesses quality and skill unlike edu fleck and whittaker, he needs a player like thomson to get the nitty gritty tackles in, he needs a mendes type player to help him hell even a mcculoch type player to help protect him, since thomson and mendes were sold our midfield became a shambles, our defense looks shaky beyond beliefe.

certain players at the end of the season need to be shown the door and not given new contracts, its just a shame we wont have ricky foster next season i really do highly rate him.

I made a thread earlier on Davis' problem.

In my opinion he is incapable of playing in a team with the calibre of midfielders we currently have. He is simply not good enough in my opinion to be the main man or the driving force of the team, I don't think its a coincidence he has lost form after he is no longer playing alongside the likes of Mendes, Thomson and Ferguson.

Its not that Davis needs them to play well its the midfield just isnt as good without them!

Same thing happened to Fergie years ago, was alwways a great player but after a season or 2 he was the only one left.

Right now Davis is playing the same way, albiet without much confidence last night, but he ran the show against Sporting and against St Johnstone IMO, that ball for Diouf to go 1-0 up in Sporting was diffferent class...even though it came from him playing out on the right!!

He needs a hand and Edu for me is one of the worst players i have seen, he might have his moments (goals against motherwell and sporting) but he is consistently bad and every taig i spoke to before the game said that he was the weak link...

To be fair to you and the other poster it did seem like both of them were playing in the middle of the park and on the right as it was such a shambles. Whittaker definitely spent more time propping up in the middle of the park until he got sent off, and Davis was out on the right quite a bit. Whatever Walter had told them to do it was an absolute mess.

I thought it was pretty obvious that Whittaker was plying on the right, him and Foster to double up on Izaguirre and Commons, like we used to do with Broadfoot against McGreedy!

Aye once Whittaker got sent off Davis moved out a bit wider but the plan to start with was Edu and Davis in the middle!

Davis was in the middle last night with Edu with Whittaker drifting in to help out as Edu seemed to have vanished at times and gave the ball away with each pass.

We need stronger midfielders with some dig and fight, Davis has been impressive out wide but never really done it midfield.

We miss Ness, and its sad to say that because 2 months ago we didnt know what he could to, and also because we are counting on an 19 year old to control our midfield. We also missed Lee McCulloch and people may disagree with me on this one, but we miss that bit of bite in the midfield.

Something's not right with Davis this year. Yes he was MOM on Sunday in centre mid but that's a one off against St J. After all the carry on with McCulloch's injury I wouldn't be surprised if Davis is carrying an injury. Did he not have problems with a groin / hamstring injury at the start of the season? He just looks really lightweight now and seems to get brushed aside very easily.

Davis is a fantastic player and has proved it over the last few seasons.He suffers from being an attacking midfield player in a very defensive side with no one to pass to up front and from not getting a chance to settle into his favoured position.He his played really well when we have played 4-4-2 and have demolishesd Killie,Motherwell and St Johnstone at Ibrox

Sell both Steven Davis and Maurice Edu in the summer. I'm sick of Edu, he is pish, and Davis has been far too inconsistent all season.

Both have done nothing in the last four games against the bheggars, complete and utter pussy cats with no fight or bottle.

It's all very well starring against the likes of Motherwell and St. Johnstone (Edu couldn't even do that) but bottling it when it comes to the big games is no use.

Dont agreed that we were a mess last night, until the sending of i thought we were competing well with whits and davis right in there faces, not that we looked like creating mind but neither did they.

I thought Davis was one of our better players, dont want to lay all the blame with Edu, but Davis cant do it himself in there, especially when they are much improved in this area.