Posted

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/3549257/Gers-give-OK-to-Whyte-deal.html#ixzz1Kfu5CH8m

THE Rangers board has officially given Craig Whyte the thumbs up to buy the club.

SunSport can reveal the path is now clear for tycoon Whyte to snap up the Ibrox side in a £33million deal.

Last night a source said: "Whyte's people have been told the board will not stand in his way. It is all systems go and once a few things are ironed out Rangers will have a new owner.

"Things could now move very quickly."

The Rangers board were convinced of the buy-out following crunch talks with the Motherwell-born businessman after Sunday's Old Firm clash.

Whyte, 39, has vowed to give new boss Ally McCoist a £10m close-season transfer kitty.

He has also guaranteed McCoist £5m every year for the next four years.

Whyte will also wipe out the crippling £20m debt to Lloyds Bank, while Sir David Murray will pick up £3.3m for his shares in the club.

The whole package could top £55m.

The source added: "The deal has been a long time coming.

"It should have been done last week but there is light at the end of the tunnel."

Murray, Lloyds Bank and Whyte were ready to shake hands on a deal last week, but chairman Johnston demanded more time.

It was then revealed directors Paul Murray and Dave King were preparing a rival deal.

But Lloyds Bank and Murray insisted they were only interested in dealing with Whyte.

Posted

Hopefully an official bid made today or tommorrow. I dont like the wee bit about a few things ironed out though. Heard that before :sherlock::lol:

Posted

SSN just said in 48 hrs whyte will have control of rangers putting 28 mill straight in to the club, deal valued at 50 summit million, all looked rosy

Posted

Still think it'll be closer to months than hours. Not believing anything until it's 100% done.

This, we have stories coming out every couple of weeks that it'll be done within the next few days etc. I'll believe it when I see it but I would like to think if its gonna be done it'll hopefully be done by the end of the season.

Posted

Casey Jones said it wilnae happen tae efter the ST renewals are done and dusted...........................:craphead:

That was my opinion, yes, but I never once tried to claim it as fact, or that 'my source has told me'. Not everyone can say the same!

Posted

That was my opinion, yes, but I never once tried to claim it as fact, or that 'my source has told me'. Not everyone can say the same!

Sometimes "sources" are correct mate - even if they are unaware (like everybody else was) of the Tax complications.

Posted

Sometimes "sources" are correct mate - even if they are unaware (like everybody else was) of the Tax complications.

So they were correct, even though we're now another month down the line and still no deal has been done! I'll need to use that logic if I fuck up at work! Priceless.

Posted

So they were correct, even though we're now another month down the line and still no deal has been done! I'll need to use that logic if I fuck up at work! Priceless.

FFS get real.

It's common knowledge the deal was held up due to the tax case complications, along with a few other small details which had tae be ironed out.

When ye spend £52million on a company like the Rangers, ye need tae be sure of everything before doing so - as do the Rangers before accepting.

It's no like going tae the shops for a loaf of bread.

I get the feeling a lot of folks won't be happy if/when this deal goes through for no apparent reason other than to "just no be happy".

Moaning aboot the Rangers is a hobby for some - this deal will probably give them less opportunities tae dae that.

Especially the SDM bashers - whit are they gonny dae noo?!?!?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

PS less than 1 month behind schedule to complete a deal of this size is nothing really.

Posted

FFS get real.

It's common knowledge the deal was held up due to the tax case complications, along with a few other small details which had tae be ironed out.

When ye spend £52million on a company like the Rangers, ye need tae be sure of everything before doing so - as do the Rangers before accepting.

It's no like going tae the shops for a loaf of bread.

I get the feeling a lot of folks won't be happy if/when this deal goes through for no apparent reason other than to "just no be happy".

Moaning aboot the Rangers is a hobby for some - this deal will probably give them less opportunities tae dae that.

Especially the SDM bashers - whit are they gonny dae noo?!?!?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

PS less than 1 month behind schedule to complete a deal of this size is nothing really.

My, my, we are touchy! Those nightshifts are taking their toll. You dig me up, I give a bit back, and your toys come out the pram! :lol:

Posted

My, my, we are touchy! Those nightshifts are taking their toll. You dig me up, I give a bit back, and your toys come out the pram! :lol:

Away and play wae yer trains.........................................................:crabflute: