A question involving the media's reporting of Rangers

MisterC

Oh and on newsnicht at 11, they are going to be doing a piece on whether sectarianism actually exists. This may be worth watching...

doh Awe naw same old same old, fill the studio with tarriers and let them talk their shite. Kelly by fuck ?????????????? AGAIN ??????? 'My family don't know what sectarianism is because they go to a kafflic skool' ???????? You couldn't make it up ! Even playing field ? Absolutely no fuckin chance with these bbc bigots! :sherlock:

Irony is lost on these people Blue.

:) This whole thing has been about lennon and the title race, when you start to talk serious about it and you mention those two magic words 'seperate schools' they shit themselves and say like kelly did tonight there's no real problem. Nothing will change in a hurry but we'll no doubt have some fun with roseanna cunningham and the new lord advocate next season. We welcome the chase ! :sherlock:

We will have to be ready for them Blue, as you say we welcome the chase :) They tell us these schools are not sectarian or discriminatory and yet if I was to teach in one, I would have no chance of promotion because I am not an kafflic. State funded discrimination and yet if the boot was on the other foot...well you know the rest ;):sherlock:

We are Aye Ready for these people, and they know it, that's why they talk us down so much in the mhedia, but they don't matter anymore because the likes of RM are the new media. You are witnessing the death of jhournalism as it was known. They will have more to worry them in the next few years our mhedia friends as their jobs disappear like snaw aff a dyke. Meanwhile we will march on to 10IAR. Maybe more. We can only get stronger. :sherlock:

falling circulations, falling advertising revenue, newsrooms with skeleton staffs, they are dying on their arses, while, as you say, the new media is thriving and Rangers will thrive along with it (tu):sherlock:

And on the subject of the media being all too keen to publish 'bad news' stories about Rangers, take a look at this pish saying McCoist has few allies left at the club and may need to watch his back. No quotes just mere speculation and not even the mention that McCoist will most likely just get on with things regardless of who is or isnt involved in the running of the club

WHO would have thought a week spent white water rafting would prove to be the least turbulent thing in Ally McCoist’s life just now?

The new Rangers manager was expected back in Glasgow this morning after some time away conquering the searing rapids of the Salmon River in Idaho to raise money for the Rangers Charity Foundation. Given what lies ahead of him, he may in time consider that trip to have been a relatively tranquil experience.

This was always likely to be a summer of transition for Rangers, but the extent and pace with which new owner Craig Whyte has set about asserting his authority has taken many by surprise.

Only something particularly drastic or heinous would ever have stopped McCoist from agreeing to succeed Walter Smith as manager but he could be forgiven for harbouring fresh doubts as Whyte continues to clear out the old guard to make room for the new.

Familiar faces, with whom McCoist could lean on for advice or rely on for boardroom backing, are swiftly falling by the wayside. It will surely not have escaped his notice how quickly things can change. If McCoist had been appointed manager even as recently as six months ago, and Smith had agreed to stay around in the background, he would have had a raft of close colleagues with whom he could consult as he got to grips with his first managerial role.

Now, though, most have cut their ties with the club or had them severed involuntarily. Sir David Murray, the man who agreed to his appointment as assistant manager in 2007, has moved on, while Alastair Johnston, the erstwhile club chairman, has been shown the door rather unceremoniously by Whyte, the new owner making it clear that Johnston’s apparent insubordination would not be tolerated.

Then there is the case of Martin Bain, the chief executive having been suspended pending an internal investigation and presumably to be removed from office once the matter has been concluded.

There was always the chance that Bain would not survive the regime change, if only because any new owner was always likely to handpick his own man, but the unseemly matter of his drawn-out departure may not sit easily with McCoist given the personal relationship the pair have built up over the past 15 years or so.

Bain, like McCoist, has progressed through the ranks at Ibrox from his early, fairly humble start as a commercial executive and there is a mutual understanding between the pair. When McCoist was confirmed as Rangers’ next manager back in February, it was Bain who offered a glowing tribute at the press conference.

The chief executive was also one of McCoist’s shipmates on the recent rafting trip in America and it would have been interesting to have heard their conversation as the pair flew home together after Bain had learned of his suspension via a trans-Atlantic conference call. Watch your back, might have been the gist of it.

Even leaving aside the pair’s friendship, there is the small matter of the transfer window re-opening with nobody as yet appointed to handle negotiations. Sources close to Whyte insist that their man is not going it alone, pointing out the new owner has a coterie of “highly-skilled people” advising his every move.

That may be true but, with Rangers needing to freshen up their squad and pre-season training to commence on June 23, whoever assumes Bain’s role will have little time to get acquainted with players, agents, and officials at other clubs.

Smith, of course, is also no longer on the scene. The former Rangers manager had always insisted that he would not hang around to look over his former assistant’s shoulder, but it leaves McCoist short of allies, confidants he knows and trusts. His assistants, Kenny McDowall and Ian Durrant, could find themselves leant upon as never before.

Whyte has always spoken highly of McCoist and backed his candidature to be manager long before the takeover was concluded. That could all change, however, if McCoist were to struggle in his first few months in the job and Rangers were to fall off the pace at the top of the table.

It would undoubtedly generate a wave of negative PR if Whyte were to sack one of the most popular figures in the club’s history so early in his tenure, but recent events have demonstrated he is not someone to worry unduly about the consequences of his actions.

McCoist must feel like the protagonist in a teen slasher movie, the last person standing after everyone else has perished. His list of allies grows smaller by the day.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/spl/rangers/rate-of-change-has-left-new-manager-with-few-allies-1.1103520

The Scottish media are shite scared of Celtic, they know not to print anything too negative about them. We only have ourselves to blame for becoming an "easy target".

This. Sat Back For to long letting the mhedia walk all over us!hopefuly it wil change under the new ownership

Guest Andypendek

Very unfair comments on last night's Newsnicht. I couldn't resist watching and was stunned but delighted to see common sense is, once again, driving down timmy's headlong rush for martydom. I dunno who the wee Irishman was, might have been Dudley-Edwards, but he was spot on; Joyce MacMillan was spot on; even that pudding Kelly was spot on.

The Record and other media places are under no obligation to be impartial. We know which way they lean, and if we fund them by paying for said excuse for a newspaper we get what we deserve. The BBC is under an obligation, though, and it's been fantastic this last week to hear some sanity returning to the discussion on the Beeb this week.

I think it was Thurdsay night's Scotland at 10 on the radio, there was a cretinous wallah called Kelly from Edinburgh Uni who, apparently, has a list of articles from the mainstream media which display anti Irish-Catholic bias.

The man must have some fucking eyesight, that's all I can say.