Jump to content

Dopey goalie pays the penalty


Recommended Posts

THIS keeper paid the penalty as he cost his side PROMOTION by celebrating too soon.

The vital match between Termeno and Dro in the Italian seventh tier went to penalties.

With the scores level at 4-4 and in sudden death, Termeno's Michael Palma stepped up to take the spot-kick which would keep his side in the contest — only to hit the bar.

Dro keeper Loris Angeli ran off to be congratulated by his team-mates but what happened next was a total freak.

The ball landed on the pitch after flying in the air, span back towards the goal and trickled over the line.

Angeli was left red faced as he walked back towards the goal with Palma overjoyed, just seconds after his despair from missing.

To compound the keeper's misery, his team-mate then missed the next penalty meaning Termeno were promoted.

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3628550/Video-Dopey-goalie-pays-the-penalty-for-celebrating-too-soon.html#ixzz1OoKZbZam'>http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3628550/Video-Dopey-goalie-pays-the-penalty-for-celebrating-too-soon.html#ixzz1OoKZbZam

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3628550/Video-Dopey-goalie-pays-the-penalty-for-celebrating-too-soon.html

Link to post
Share on other sites

Best penalty ever! what genius knowing to hit the bar but put enough backspin on the ball so the goalie would think it was a missed penalty and run out of goal to celebrate, reminds me a little of Jelavic's off one post with side spin against Celtic total genius rubbing their rivals noses in it :lol: .

Link to post
Share on other sites

In a shootout, the moment the ball stops moving forward it's a miss.

Edit: unless it's crossed the goal-line obviously. :lol:

Was just going to post this, the penalty shoudnt have counted. The ref must have been biased just like all the scottish refs are against c****c

Link to post
Share on other sites

In a shootout, the moment the ball stops moving forward it's a miss.

Edit: unless it's crossed the goal-line obviously. :lol:

yeah but it didnt really "stop" did it

granted it came back off the bar, but the ball was still in motion, so the penalty is still in play so to speak

sure thats why it counts

Link to post
Share on other sites

yeah but it didnt really "stop" did it

granted it came back off the bar, but the ball was still in motion, so the penalty is still in play so to speak

sure thats why it counts

It doesn't need to stop tho Jim, just needs to stop moving forward.

Link to post
Share on other sites

It doesn't need to stop tho Jim, just needs to stop moving forward.

took this from the official rules

The ball may touch the goalkeeper, posts and/or crossbar any number of times. This was clarified after an incident in the 1986 World Cup shoot-out between Brazil and France. Bruno Bellone's kick rebounded out off the post and back into the goal off goalkeeper Carlos's back. Referee Ioan Igna gave the goal to France, and Brazil captain Edinho was booked for protesting that the kick should have been considered a miss as soon as it rebounded off the post. In 1987, the IFAB clarified Law 14, covering penalty kicks, to support Igna's decision.[6][7]

Link to post
Share on other sites

took this from the official rules

This perturbs me Jimbo.

I thought the ball not moving forward killed it in a shoot-out. Full stop.

I shall delve in and report back in Monday. (tu)

Link to post
Share on other sites

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

  • Upcoming Events

    • 13 August 2022 14:00 Until 16:00
      0  
      Rangers v St. Johnstone
      Ibrox Stadium
      Scottish Premiership
×
×
  • Create New...