My Msp On Rule Brittania

Sentry

I seem to recall Britain ruling the waves as recently as 1982 off the south east coast of Argentina. Maybe Gibson forgot about the Falklands. :disappointment:

If you had called them the Malvinas he would have remembered.

There is so much in his letter that needs comment but I can't be bothered - he's obviously not worth the effort.

• Replies 53

Guest Andypendek

(td)

Sometimes you wish people would just keep their mouths shut. But at least you know where he stands, and can vote accordingly.

It will be interesting to see if this issue has any play in the upcoming election around Greenock (might be Inverclyde).

If you had called them the Malvinas he would have remembered.

There is so much in his letter that needs comment but I can't be bothered - he's obviously not worth the effort.

Which is why they are allowed to remain in office because of our apathy.

We vote them in but we can also vote them out...if we can be arsed.

And that is a general comment not a go at you individually.

So you can sing songs about sending me home but I and also you can't sing GSTQ or Rule Britannia (When in Scotland) and ironically TFS which is a question about returning "home" rather than singing about an actually act.

:rolleyes::pipe:

Yes we are all guilty of allowing these Socialist Republican Fascists in power didnt people think before voting this lot there will be unrest on the streets of Scotland because of these bigot Socialist politicians.

Thats why after serving 16years in the HM Forces just to ne told there was no housing for me and my wife in Edinburgh. Even though our work is there.A Prisoner leaving prison had more priority than me.

They hate us and wont stop at this it will get worse for all presbytarians and Rangers supporting Unionists living in this shitty little Alcohol ned ridden country and thats a fact

i should never have came back.

Tell him to get a real job will you.

Which is why they are allowed to remain in office because of our apathy.

We vote them in but we can also vote them out...if we can be arsed.

And that is a general comment not a go at you individually.

And if you do stand up you're a bigot!! No win situation,

What people conveniently forget about Rule Britannia is that until we did rule the waves our fair isle was the subject of repeated invasion by such civilizations as the Roman Empire, Norse Vikings, various European efforts, and indeed at one point slave traders from Ireland .

It's a song about self determination guaranteed through strength, whether we actually still rule the waves is of no importance; but since it's a song of Britain it is destined to be the subject of twisted and propagandist attacks from her enemies - long may they continue to expose themselves so cheaply.

Dear Mr Sentry

Roseanna Cunningham is a republican but not in the narrow sense it is

often interpreted by some in the west of Scotland. She is republican in

the way that American, Austrian, French, Swiss etc people of all

political persuasions are.

Notice he didn't mention The Irish Republic

The Sectarian Bill will be even handed. Certain grounds will be targeted

as that's where most of the problems lie.

Even handed? certain grounds? so offenders will get away with it at Fir Park, because it's not targeted

The difference between sets of fans is that some sing blatantly

anti-Catholic songs, others republican and Irish nationalist.

The SNP sing anti English songs but that's ok

As I understand it - I don't know the words to such songs but have heard

enough - the two cannot be equated, although both may be equally

offensive to other sets of football fans and the population generally,

both are not necessarily equally sectarian.

Heaven forbid anyone is ever offended in Scotland

I don't find "Rule Britannia" offensive, although it is jingoistic and a

bit anachronistic and old fashioned. It has been more than a century

since Britain did rule the waves after all. However, it doesn't bother

me.

Flower of Scotland is every bit as jingoistic as Rule Britania

"Flower of Scotland" is a seventies song. It does not offend me in the

slightest. I find it quite inspirational - who wouldn't - as it is about

fighting to protect ones home and country from an invader.

As is Rule Britania..especialy the bit about never being slaves

Regarding Scotland's image abroad, many years ago when I first went

overseas, I expected people to think of Scotland as the land of the

Enlightenment, birth place of the Industrial Revolution, a nation of

doctors, explorers, scientists and inventors. Instead I was confronted

by the dreary Rangers/Celtic Protestant/Catholic stuff which died out in

most of Europe generations ago.

Wonder what bars he was in?

It's sad that a nation such as ours should have a reputation for bigotry

in the 21st century and so the Parliament - and all parties in it - is

keen to change that.

Maybe in his Eyes, we also have a reputation for bad weather

Best wishes,

Kenneth J Gibson MSP

Cunninghame North

This is what happens when we have parliament that nothing better to do than limit the freedom of it's citizens.

Wallace and his cry for freedom, will be turning in his grave

Scotland gets what it deserves. Your people make the SNP the majority party in Scotland and you allow people like this to talk crap without being challenged.

Problem is Keith the only alternative is Labour (the Murphia) - and they are worse.

Hope the original letter is verbatim as it could be deemed libelous if it wasn't, and perhaps amusingly, would potentially fall under the new legislation and new powers that are being enforced in Scotland. I'm sure it's real, it's just that some of the wording would seem from my experience to be unlikely from an MSP's office.

So if it's as was sent, then it's OK. But in all seriousness if it's not, then I personally would get it off the board as the posters IP address would be traceable.

I will continue to sing God Save the Queen and Rule Britannia and will go to Prison for it if I have to.

I will Fight for my Queen and the United Kingdom of Great Britain .......... If you are going to debate to anyone about this disgusting Biggoted Left Wing Socialist problem of Politicians in Scotland write to the Westminster Govt and you may just get somewhere, I will be .

post-57085-0-56308500-1308773540_thumb.p

Al MSP um the next time a fuckin see um. A few choice words will be in order.

Fuckin idiot of the highest order.

This correspondence should be photocopied and given out to people at every opportunity to let them know what kinda cunts we've got running our country, or is it our fuckin country? I'm beginning tae wonder.

Get this sent aff tae a newspaper that will print it - get it oot tae as many people as possible!

Aww fuck. A better calm doon - these cunts will be the fuckin death o me wae their shite spouters.

Disgusting reply from this clearly bigoted MSP, he should be reported to the Parliamentary standards committee. How he can say praising, singing in support and glorification of sectarian murder by the Irish Republicans is acceptable and is beyond any reason, Scumbag of the highest order.