ray Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Nowhere in the article do the SFL clubs say no.TUESDAY 26 JUNE 2012SFL clubs say no to newco but yes to quick solutionRichard WilsonSports writerThe Scottish Football League board will meet today to discuss proposals for merging with the Scottish Premier League and taking Rangers newco into the first division.David Longmuir has put all 30 clubs on notice of a meeting being called to voteWith six top-flight clubs now having indicated an intention to vote no to the transfer of the SPL share, the key issue is how the SFL teams will react to accommodating the club.Talks were held last weekend among the SPL, SFL and SFA over plans to merge the two leagues into a single body, but there are several details to be agreed. David Longmuir, the chief executive of the SFL, has, though, put all 30 clubs on notice of a meeting being called to vote on the issue. The proposals would also include the introduction of play-offs between the first division and the Premier League and new revenue-distribution rules.However, the supporters of some first division sides are uncomfortable at the notion of Rangers playing in their league next season, not least because they fear it would compromise the title race. Partick Thistle fans have been vocal in their protest and the Firhill club has pledged their views will be of “paramount importance” in their actions.A statement from the Firhill board read: “We want to ensure the sporting integrity of our game is upheld. At the same time, however, we also need to be mindful of the commercial situation within Scottish football, especially that of Partick Thistle. We believe Scottish football needs to be restructured – financial distribution needs to be fairer for all clubs and we believe play-offs must be introduced between the first division and SPL as a bare minimum.“However, before making any decision which will affect Partick Thistle we, as a board, will look at all the facts and make what we believe is a fully-informed decision which will benefit Partick Thistle and Scottish football. We are keen to emphasise the views of our supporters will be of paramount importance to us.“Working closely with the ‘onethistle’ group, we would make use of every avenue open to us to seek the views of, and canvas opinion from, our supporters to help us better formulate a position that promotes the best interests of Partick Thistle and Scottish Football as a whole. The future of the sport in this country is too important not to involve the lifeblood of the game, the supporters, in making the important changes necessary to safeguard the future.”Doing so quickly is equally important, according to John Christison. The chairman of Arbroath has urged the SPL to bring forward the July 4 vote so that SFL clubs can finalise their fixture lists – and even which division they will be playing in – for the new term.Christison said: “Surely for the sake of clarity for all clubs this vote should take place quicker and allow us all to plan for the future? We don’t know what league we will be in as there is no precedent and we don’t even know what the fixtures will now be for the very first game of the season in the Ramsden’s Cup.“If Dunfermline Athletic are readmitted to the SPL, will Forfar Athletic play Rangers? Or if Dundee go up will it be Brechin City? How do these clubs plan when they don’t know who they are playing?”http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/sfl-clubs-say-no-to-newco-but-yes-to-quick-solution.17977681The Telegraph is claiming the Sky deal is in doubt.According to a well-placed source , Green had budgeted for three possible outcomes; life in the SPL, life in the Third Division and also for a year spent as the footballing equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters should the Appellate Tribunal ban them from playing in Scotland.Now the future of the SPL’s new, four-year TV deal with Sky is in doubt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack1690 Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Pish poor reporting is what the scottish mhedia excel at. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarcheVinny Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 The Telegraph is claiming the Sky deal is in doubt.According to a well-placed source , Green had budgeted for three possible outcomes; life in the SPL, life in the Third Division and also for a year spent as the footballing equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters should the Appellate Tribunal ban them from playing in Scotland.Now the future of the SPL’s new, four-year TV deal with Sky is in doubt.http://rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=787:sky-will-honour-spl-deal-for-one-season-only-without-rangers&catid=101:club&Itemid=529 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D'Artagnan Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 The Telegraph is claiming the Sky deal is in doubt.According to a well-placed source , Green had budgeted for three possible outcomes; life in the SPL, life in the Third Division and also for a year spent as the footballing equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters should the Appellate Tribunal ban them from playing in Scotland.I dont think he's budgeted that well Ray the general feeling is that his consortium is running out of money due to the lack of investment by season ticket holders.Newco Vision Obscured by Doubt - Glasgow HeraldTheir Sevco consortium currently owns the business and assets of Rangers, but does not have the support of the fans, who are not buying season tickets; the leading players do not trust the new owners and so intend to leave on free transfers; and now enough Scottish Premier League clubs have indicated their intention to vote no to the newco's league share application on July 4 that they have effectively been given notice of moving to the lower leagues.The Rangers newco eventually will start next season in the first or third division, depending on the outcome of talks about merging the SPL and Scottish Football League. With Zeus Capital unable to build their investment book, and Sevco being chronically underfunded, there seems a credible danger that the new company could suffer its own insolvency event. Dave King was among many to voice concerns about the consortium's ability to fund the club, while at least one major bank refused corporate banking and credit facilities.It is seven weeks since Green appeared on the scene, and in that time he has only generated a series of questions. Who owns Rangers? Green pledged that he would reveal all of his investors on the day his consortium was either successful with its Company Voluntary Arrangement – which could never have been the case with such a weak proposal – or bought the business and assets. Apart from releasing a handful of names, some of which were just fund managers and one of which – Ian Hart – immediately denied he was an investor since he is a financial backer of the consortium set up by Douglas Park and Jim McColl, there's been no information.Whose money is Zeus Capital managing? The Manchester investment bank claims to have played a role in the original flotation of Manchester United, but neither Brian Stockbridge or Imran Ahmed, who are now on the board at newco Rangers, were with the company at the time. Zeus has two seats on the board, so exert considerable influence on the decision-making process, but there has been no explanation of who they are representing.Why did it take until last Thursday for Green to send an email to the players? Legal opinion on the TUPE regulations and the process of staff contracts transferring from the oldco to the newco seem firmly established, but Green chose to try to force the players to move to the newco. He did not set a time frame, as laid down by the legislation to give individuals the opportunity to reject the move, and nor did he seek to talk to the players and address their concerns. Many are uncertain about what the future holds for Sevco and understandably do not wish to harm their careers, but there was a willingness to move if the right owners were in place, then leave later in the summer, at least allowing the club to raise some money in the transfer market.Why did Green not even try to ensure this? Instead, he is now threatening legal action, but he also has running costs to address. More players are expected to register their refusal to move to the newco before pre-season training starts on Thursday, which is also pay day. Can Green and Zeus Capital meet the ongoing running costs without season ticket revenue?Both publicly and in a meeting with the Rangers Fans Fighting Fund last Wednesday, Green claimed that season ticket revenue would be ring-fenced in a secure account. He said this despite Lloyds Bank, the oldco's bankers, advising Green and Duff & Phelps that the current banking arrangements do not constitute a secure account. Instead, all the season ticket money is available to the administrators. There was also no means in place to transfer the money, because Sevco did not have the necessary corporate banking facilities.Where are the investors going to come from for a club that is in the first or third division? One major investor was initially prepared to fund Green's consortium for up to £4m as it pursued a CVA, only to pull out after doing due diligence on the books at Ibrox and on his fellow investors. So what leeway is there now for attracting outward investment?Rangers needs to be rebuilt piece by piece, yet so far there has only been a series of mis-steps. Green and Zeus Capital face a series of obstacles just to maintain their credibility.Furthermore should the bit in bold be sounding alarm bells for us ?Most cetainly....Fool me once.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 ££ was in meltdown due to the possible newco insolvency event mentioned, seems the papers are still getting their info from the boards.The bit they missed out was that many think the said event is the intention with Ibrox being flattened for hooses. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 I dont think he's budgeted that well Ray the general feeling is that his consortium is running out of money due to the lack of investment by season ticket holders.Newco Vision Obscured by Doubt - Glasgow HeraldFurthermore should the bit in bold be sounding alarm bells for us ?Most cetainly....Fool me once....Re the part that you highlighted...........why then if they know this as fact.........did they not print the name of this investor or company?New spin because of no spl.............. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D'Artagnan Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 The question we should be asking is why potential investors are pulling out having run due dilligence checks on the members of Green's consortium. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 ££ was in meltdown due to the possible newco insolvency event mentioned, seems the papers are still getting their info from the boards.The bit they missed out was that many think the said event is the intention with Ibrox being flattened for hooses.Sounds plausible after all house building has reached a new high...........builders are awash with cash and doubling their employees and the price of land is at it's highest..................now where did I put my medicationAsk a question of anyone on here, who works in the house building sector .............how really well the house builders are doing just now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 The question we should be asking is why potential investors are pulling out having run due dilligence checks on the members of Green's consortium.Should we not be asking this reporter why he never named this investor? I mean if anyone puts a similar claim this is the first thing they are asked. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peter huistra Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 duped once again by the looks of it . i fucking hate that word sevco should be banned from the forum Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D'Artagnan Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Should we not be asking this reporter why he never named this investor? I mean if anyone puts a similar claim this is the first thing they are asked.Part of the problem has been Green's reluctance to name his investors...then when he has some have denied eg Ian Harte.Greens stated at the outset he realised he had a major job re-building and re-establishing supporters trust. He has completely failed to achieve this and as a result there is no investment from season ticket holders.I have little sympathy for him now. He is just another businessman who saw the chance of a quick buck. The hopes, aspirations and feelings of the Rangers support have been totally ignored once again.His failure to engage with us will be his downfall Ed. I really dont what some of these guys are expecting. You take control of a club whose last 2 owners have royally shafted them - the first thing I would do would be to re-engage with that support and put in place the bridges which would allow that trust to be re-built. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 Sounds plausible after all house building has reached a new high...........builders are awash with cash and doubling their employees and the price of land is at it's highest..................now where did I put my medicationAsk a question of anyone on here, who works in the house building sector .............how really well the house builders are doing just now.Facts not medication are required, house builders had a rather good year last year, out here they can't build houses fast enough, soon it will be houses all the way from Larkhall to Glasgow, Ferniegair/Chatelherault development sold like hotcakes and they are still building, whether Ibrox would ever get a change of use I doubt it, but I know enough about development never to be certain about anything.http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=cala%20and%20persimmon%20sales%20up&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CFYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.housingmarket.org.uk%2Fhousing%2Fhouse-builders-did-well-in-2011-forecast-2012%2F01%2F&ei=SV_pT-7zEsm38gPDm9HHDQ&usg=AFQjCNGjCLiNAXepZmOz6Nejdu00d9aPaA Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D'Artagnan Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 ££ was in meltdown due to the possible newco insolvency event mentioned, seems the papers are still getting their info from the boards.The bit they missed out was that many think the said event is the intention with Ibrox being flattened for hooses.Given that the facade of Ibrox is a listed building that seems to be highly implausible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 Given that the facade of Ibrox is a listed building that seems to be highly implausible.Facades can be retained or an exemption order granted, as has been the case with many developments, the danger is that anything as has been proved is possible in this shitstorm.I would say it is long odds against Ibrox being anything other than the home of The Rangers, however nothing that happens in this fiasco should really surprise us anymore, we just seem to have attracted the wrong types starting with murray.As an aside I heard peter martin say on talksport this morning that we must be punished for "our misdemeanour's" over the past few years, this went unchallenged by brazil or orani, what misdemeanour's have we been found guilty of none that I can think of.Isn't that why the cops are investigating the takeover and it appears the BTC no longer involves us according to HMRC. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Part of the problem has been Green's reluctance to name his investors...then when he has some have denied eg Ian Harte.Greens stated at the outset he realised he had a major job re-building and re-establishing supporters trust. He has completely failed to achieve this and as a result there is no investment from season ticket holders.I have little sympathy for him now. He is just another businessman who saw the chance of a quick buck. The hopes, aspirations and feelings of the Rangers support have been totally ignored once again.His failure to engage with us will be his downfall Ed. I really dont what some of these guys are expecting. You take control of a club whose last 2 owners have royally shafted them - the first thing I would do would be to re-engage with that support and put in place the bridges which would allow that trust to be re-built.Fair comment........but, if I was in the position to have purchased the club, then dealing with the fans would not be top of my priority ................noway.....far to many things to be dealt with first of all.........has he not met with various fan groups? An what has happened....well the last one it was stated that everyone was in agreement with what he said....and less than 24 hours later keyser soze starts his mischief-making once again.Or have the guys at this meeting to a man have been silly in falling for his story, or are they telling lies?Priorities and I think the situation the we are in , well as i said from business point , many things ahd to be dealt with before tackling the fans.he has made statements.interviews had meetings with various groups as I have said ................... Once the price is know, I will get the money transferred over, I will as many have said will go and watch (and have said last while have not been to as many games due to various illness and oersonal reasons , but still forked out for 3 books) Rangers after all we say we will follow follow the team "Though The Straits Be Broad And Narrow As Follow We Will Follow We Will Follow We Will Though The Straits Be Broad And Narrow As Follow We Will We Will Follow In The Footsteps Of Our Team " A good few weeks ago on another thread I agreed with not sending in season book money until we knew the outcome......well we do now and once the various options are made public , then watch a vast number will renew. I could not believe in the circumstances we are in that people would call for a ban on season purchase.........as many times I have said............yet we laugh and mock these vindictive chunts that threatened their clubs with refusal to purchase season books unless they voted no.Can you not see the hypocrisy in this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Facts not medication are required, house builders had a rather good year last year, out here they can't build houses fast enough, soon it will be houses all the way from Larkhall to Glasgow, Ferniegair/Chatelherault development sold like hotcakes and they are still building, whether Ibrox would ever get a change of use I doubt it, but I know enough about development never to be certain about anything.http://www.google.co...z6Nejdu00d9aPaAThat is a different story I get from builders . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimfanciesthedude Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 I really dont what some of these guys are expecting. You take control of a club whose last 2 owners have royally shafted them - the first thing I would do would be to re-engage with that support and put in place the bridges which would allow that trust to be re-built.How can they build bridges of trust D when the support actively told them to get to fuck the minute they bought the clubThe fact is that we, as a club, have no country and no league to play in, both of which Charles Green and his consortium have been trying to fix,Until both problems are resolved Green cant tell the supports anything because he doesnt know himselfSeason book prices: depends on what division we are inPre season friendlies: depends on what division we are in Players coming across: He has already stated his belief that TUPE means they must join the newcoFuture funding: He doesnt know from his investors who'll be here because we havent a league to play in yetThe list is endless, hell we dont even know if Tennents will continue their sponsorship because we dont know where we will be.The fact is that certain Raners fans behaviour when it came to the CVA/Liquidation day was nothing short of abysmal, and yeah im looking towards you and your plebs Dingwall, you and your forum actively encouraged fans to not back the club when they needed it most Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 That is a different story I get from builders .Builders are famous for pleading poverty, it is an art form you have mastered when you know exactly how many boxes of paslode nails you need for a hoose. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmiston Drive Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 Builders are famous for pleading poverty, it is an art form you have mastered when you know exactly how many boxes of paslode nails you need for a hoose. Well they are certainly not purchasing land...................... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gregor Stevens Fan Club Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 How can they build bridges of trust D when the support actively told them to get to fuck the minute they bought the clubThe fact is that we, as a club, have no country and no league to play in, both of which Charles Green and his consortium have been trying to fix,Until both problems are resolved Green cant tell the supports anything because he doesnt know himselfSeason book prices: depends on what division we are inPre season friendlies: depends on what division we are in Players coming across: He has already stated his belief that TUPE means they must join the newcoFuture funding: He doesnt know from his investors who'll be here because we havent a league to play in yetThe list is endless, hell we dont even know if Tennents will continue their sponsorship because we dont know where we will be.The fact is that certain Raners fans behaviour when it came to the CVA/Liquidation day was nothing short of abysmal, and yeah im looking towards you and your plebs Dingwall, you and your forum actively encouraged fans to not back the club when they needed it most The most sensible post I've read on here for a while And also Edmiston Drive's posts above !! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carsons Dog Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 The question we should be asking is why potential investors are pulling out having run due dilligence checks on the members of Green's consortium.If that is indeed the case - I personally would take a lot of what is written currently in the press with a Siberian salt mineIt's very easy to print unsubstantiated articles and never be held to account for themAs the title of the thread says Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 Well they are certainly not purchasing land......................The problem in construction in general is cheap imported labour, you get four joiners from eastern europe for the price of a Scottish joiner, the fat cats at the top are making enhanced profits by exploiting foreign workers at the expense of employing Scottish building workers, it is the exact same scenario down south. There are sites in central London in particular where English is practically non existent being a seconf language, but I believe someone in government told us we are all in this together. Aye right.http://bit.ly/MOuH2W Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bears r us Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 How can they build bridges of trust D when the support actively told them to get to fuck the minute they bought the clubThe fact is that we, as a club, have no country and no league to play in, both of which Charles Green and his consortium have been trying to fix,Until both problems are resolved Green cant tell the supports anything because he doesnt know himselfSeason book prices: depends on what division we are inPre season friendlies: depends on what division we are in Players coming across: He has already stated his belief that TUPE means they must join the newcoFuture funding: He doesnt know from his investors who'll be here because we havent a league to play in yetThe list is endless, hell we dont even know if Tennents will continue their sponsorship because we dont know where we will be.The fact is that certain Raners fans behaviour when it came to the CVA/Liquidation day was nothing short of abysmal, and yeah im looking towards you and your plebs Dingwall, you and your forum actively encouraged fans to not back the club when they needed it most So many good points in this post. I cannot see what more Charles G can do until a lot of the above is known. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ray Posted June 26, 2012 Author Share Posted June 26, 2012 Charlie can start by telling who Zeus are investing for is that confidential information or something we really don't want to know, as in whytey. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluenose48 Posted June 26, 2012 Share Posted June 26, 2012 If that is indeed the case - I personally would take a lot of what is written currently in the press with a Siberian salt mineIt's very easy to print unsubstantiated articles and never be held to account for themAs the title of the thread saysExactly swally. Why we are even bothering to read anything the scottish media print about Rangers is beyond me. Arse wipes the lot of them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...