Flem_ArdrossanLoyal 27 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 1st of all a duno if this is the right bit to post this and secondly I'm just back from a interview with USC to work in there warehouse and the guy was telling me that Mike Ashley owend 80% of the company last year but this year he bought the remaining 20% of the company so he now owns 100% and he was telling me that with him in charge he basically just thowing money at the company because its bringing him profit back then I remembered he owns 8% of Rangers and I was thinking if we start to make profit and he's gaining on the profit do yous think he will pump more money into thhe club in the future? And I got the job so get aw yer clobber fae usc ! Haha Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
iang2911 423 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 1st of all a duno if this is the right bit to post this and secondly I'm just back from a interview with USC to work in there warehouse and the guy was telling me that Mike Ashley owend 80% of the company last year but this year he bought the remaining 20% of the company so he now owns 100% and he was telling me that with him in charge he basically just thowing money at the company because its bringing him profit back then I remembered he owns 8% of Rangers and I was thinking if we start to make profit and he's gaining on the profit do yous think he will pump more money into thhe club in the future? And I got the job so get aw yer clobber fae usc ! Hahawell done in getting your job, as far as I know Mike Ashley has not invested YET. Only a suggestion that he might, Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
graeme_4 37,321 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 He won't 'throw money' at anything unless he see's it as a sound investment. You don't become a multi-millionaire by just splashing the cash without a clear business plan. And well done on the job, discount for fellow Bears? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flem_ArdrossanLoyal 27 Posted August 30, 2012 Author Share Posted August 30, 2012 Cheers lads , awright I thought with the shops changing to sports direct he had that with a deal in his shares? A don't know about discounts only work in the warehouse lol Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BallochBear 1,613 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Cheers lads , awright I thought with the shops changing to sports direct he had that with a deal in his shares? A don't know about discounts only work in the warehouse lolIs there a back door? If so let's go for the friends an family discount then.(100%) :mutley: :mutley: Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BEE 4,880 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 USC discount is brilliant, my mate uaed to get something crazy like 60% I'm sure. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
offminorthreat 1,467 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 The OP is one long fucking sentence!Congrats on the job though! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WaltersGotStyle 178 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 USC discount is brilliant, my mate uaed to get something crazy like 60% I'm sure.My bro works there, 40% off of Soviet, 30% off everything else Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
j1mgg 3,766 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Never knew Hunter had sold it, but when you are making over 100% profit on the popular jeans they sell then no wonder they can through a bit of money about. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BallochBear 1,613 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Never knew Hunter had sold it, but when you are making over 100% profit on the popular jeans they sell then no wonder they can through a bit of money about.I'm gonna be pedantic here, you can never make over 100% profit even if the cost is 0, however you can make over 100% mark up.I'm waiting for the negaitive reps for trying to be a smart ass. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mav3ric 13 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 I'm gonna be pedantic here, you can never make over 100% profit even if the cost is 0, however you can make over 100% mark up.I'm waiting for the negaitive reps for trying to be a smart ass. This and yes you are being a smart ass! I knew Hunter was selling off investments he had in companies, didnt realise he had dumped USC. There is one a stones throw from my work so i usually pop in to have a look, especially when it says 70% off in the window!! Gone are the days when i could fit my entire wardrobe from there so anyone wanna offer a discount to a fellow bear in Stirling feel free! Also well done on the job mate!On a business side though, Ashley seems to be very astute when it comes to making businesses successful and i would welcome him on board if he was to invest with us. It would be a clear indication that there is a sound business model in place. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shuggy 1,308 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 1st of all a duno if this is the right bit to post this and secondly I'm just back from a interview with USC to work in there warehouse and the guy was telling me that Mike Ashley owend 80% of the company last year but this year he bought the remaining 20% of the company so he now owns 100% and he was telling me that with him in charge he basically just thowing money at the company because its bringing him profit back then I remembered he owns 8% of Rangers and I was thinking if we start to make profit and he's gaining on the profit do yous think he will pump more money into thhe club in the future? And I got the job so get aw yer clobber fae usc ! HahaCongratulations on the job!I see investment as on a rising scale as Rangers progress up the leagues. By then the UEFA Financial Fair Play rules will be in place, so investors just can't chuck money at a club, it has to come in via a "legitimate" football income ... you know like Man City getting sponsored by Etihad (which is arabic for United ) for millions. So expect some hopefully juicy sponsorship/commercial deals in the years ahead. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CHAMPS4LIFE 86 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Tom hunter dumped D2 to concentrate on his baby USC when did he sell it!? I k ow he's friends with AshleySide story ... I used to work for D2 and the first time we went into administration I helped out at the HQ and Tom took me out in his Aston Martin, beautiful motor and he told me if I was there last week I'd of been in the Bugatti ..... GUTTED! Lol Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flem_ArdrossanLoyal 27 Posted August 30, 2012 Author Share Posted August 30, 2012 The OP is one long fucking sentence!Congrats on the job though! A was never one for the paraghaphs at school HahaCheers!Just thought it was an intresting bit of info the guy told me about mike ashley so a thought I'd throw it in the mix here lol. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WATP-FOREVER 5,231 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 A was never one for the paraghaphs at school HahaCheers!Just thought it was an intresting bit of info the guy told me about mike ashley so a thought I'd throw it in the mix here lol.Don't worry about the punctuation pal - the more you read the better it gets. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Broxi 12,184 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Already go to USC Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
stefmartin16 121 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Congratulations on the job. Five finger discount. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
wullyRFC 5,230 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 What does USC stand for? I always thought it was Well Dressed Ned? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
j1mgg 3,766 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 1346333938' post='1060388562']I'm gonna be pedantic here, you can never make over 100% profit even if the cost is 0, however you can make over 100% mark up.I'm waiting for the negaitive reps for trying to be a smart ass. I am sure you are right but if a commoner buys a pair of jeans for £40 and then sells them for £120 I would class that as a 200% profit. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
alexocs 19 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 What does USC stand for? I always thought it was Well Dressed Ned?originally "United Sports Corporation"...but it doesnt any more, just the letters and thats it as it changed from more of a sports clothing store to more retail fashion. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Al 55 9,503 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 JJB shares dropped by 80%, company worth less than £2M, a wee bid from Ashley maybe? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WWTC 2,450 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 USC's another example of why im slightly concerned about the direction we'll take with mike ashley on board. Dont get me wrong, the guys obviously a shrewd businessman, but USC, like sportsdirect, feels cheap n tacky if you go there. USC was a crackin shop, sellin really good clothes, now its a the fashion equivelant of sportsdirect; a shit hole with 5% of the items available not too bad, the rest is rotten. Id hate to see the rangers stores go down that road. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WWTC 2,450 Posted August 30, 2012 Share Posted August 30, 2012 Double post Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...