Kai_Johansen 978 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 So, so excited about playing Clyde on Wednesday, for me it feels like trawling back in time. The last time Clyde would have played a league fixture at Ibrox, both my Dad and Granda would have been there, JG and DJ would have played, and I had dreams of being a pro footballer.I played for Clyde Boys Club In the mid 70's, when a young Steve Archibald, and a not so young Brian Ahern (club captain) were both at the club. I remember we used to train, and play our games over in Richmond Park,, and my Dad and Granda would come and watch me play (ah happy days). When we were finished we would walk through the park talking about the great players that played for both clubs, then over to my Grannies (Caledonia Rd) for a wee glass a ginger, and a poke a chips!So, to everyone who will be at Ibrox on Wednesday, Merry Xmas, cheer on the Rangers, and how about a little Christmas cheer for the Bully Wee (Clyde),they were my Dad and Granda's wee team, and I've got a big wee soft spot for them myself.PS I've let my kids talk me into going into BF2 on this occasion, so if you see a happy old fat guy waving to his friends in the Clyde support, don't throw me to high into the air! its Christmas, enjoy, I know I will.Merry Xmas and a prosperous New Year to everyone associated with the Famous Glasgow Rangers Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smile 26,624 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Great post. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
God save charles green 73 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Brian Ahern was a fantastic player.Thanks for bringing him back to mind and a Merry Christmas to you also.Have a great day at the game. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Thge whole division 3 thing has been a nice walk down memory lane with old friendships like Clyde and Queen's Park being renewed Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buggleskelly 3,772 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Good.post Kai. I used to live near shawfield in the '70's & had a mate who was a clyde fanatic. Occasionally he'd drag me to watch the bully wee. I remember Dom Sullivan , bobby Harvey, big bad willie mcvey etc. I remember a clyde v Ramgers game when 2 clyde players were yellow carded for fighting with each other!!! Any bears remember this? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OceanRain 2,845 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Enjoy the game, Kai. Merry Christmas! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kai_Johansen 978 Posted December 20, 2012 Author Share Posted December 20, 2012 Good.post Kai. I used to live near shawfield in the '70's & had a mate who was a clyde fanatic. Occasionally he'd drag me to watch the bully wee. I remember Dom Sullivan , bobby Harvey, big bad willie mcvey etc. I remember a clyde v Ramgers game when 2 clyde players were yellow carded for fighting with each other!!! Any bears remember this?Willie McVey, hard as nail, played with Brian Ahern in a back four. If there was any fighting my money would be on those two. Had my first pint in the Roseburry Pud, across the road from Shawfield, and if my memories correct ran by Bobby Murdock! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz52 11,837 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 My best mates old man is a Clyde fan and he's absolutely buzzing for this game. Of course we've been giving him a "friendly slagging" but proud of him for getting his ticket for Ibrox Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I do think there will be residual good will towards us from the grassroots of the game because of our year(s) in the lower division(s) Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JCDBigBear 11,049 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I remember going to Shawfield years ago. There were all the dog track lights, etc between the fans and the pitch. It wasn't one of my favourite away grounds. The one Clyde game that really sticks out was the game Colin Stein was sent off right at the end for retaliating against Eddie Mulherron. Stein had scored a hat trick and the SFA suspended him for 6 weeks. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buggleskelly 3,772 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 The day Colin Stein volleyed Eddie Mulheron it finished 6-0 for Rangers. I was there that day. The incident happened down at the corner flag where the Copland meets the east enclosure happy days. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Union Jack 29 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I enjoyed your post too mate, it brought some memories back for me too. I used to drive past Shawfield often in the 70s and early 80s (is iit still standing?), before exile to the deep south. I only ever remember going to a match there once, for a midweek game against Clyde on a sunny evening, probably around 1975. If memory serves, Derek Johnston scored in a one nil win for the Gers.I remember the open feel of the stadium, black cinder dog track, and also that everything was painted white. Crowd went mental when we scored. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
simplythebest 11,453 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Hope it's well attended again. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I enjoyed your post too mate, it brought some memories back for me too. I used to drive past Shawfield often in the 70s and early 80s (is iit still standing?), before exile to the deep south. I only ever remember going to a match there once, for a midweek game against Clyde on a sunny evening, probably around 1975. If memory serves, Derek Johnston scored in a one nil win for the Gers.I remember the open feel of the stadium, black cinder dog track, and also that everything was painted white. Crowd went mental when we scored.It is still standing and has a Halfords right across the road Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nachothelegend 1,932 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I was Born just round the Road fron Shawfield mate ,Crammond Street in the Oatlands.Good Post, I have seen The Bully Wee at Ibrox loads of times during the Auld Days , they where a good side in the 50's. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimmy millar 107 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I remember going to Shawfield years ago. There were all the dog track lights, etc between the fans and the pitch. It wasn't one of my favourite away grounds. The one Clyde game that really sticks out was the game Colin Stein was sent off right at the end for retaliating against Eddie Mulherron. Stein had scored a hat trick and the SFA suspended him for 6 weeks.Colin`s shielding the ball at the touchline near the corner flag and Mulherron is kicking at his ankles.I`m shouting naw,Colin naw.waste of breath,next thing Colin swings round and gives it back with interest.Red card.Blamed myself for no shouting louder. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ianb1547 3,776 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Colin`s shielding the ball at the touchline near the corner flag and Mulherron is kicking at his ankles.I`m shouting naw,Colin naw.waste of breath,next thing Colin swings round and gives it back with interest.Red card.Blamed myself for no shouting louder.some supporters just dont try hard enough Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
falwheel 222 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 I like listening to the oldies reminicing about the times when football was played in black and white, you could go out and leave the door open, blah blah. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kai_Johansen 978 Posted December 20, 2012 Author Share Posted December 20, 2012 Colin`s shielding the ball at the touchline near the corner flag and Mulherron is kicking at his ankles.I`m shouting naw,Colin naw.waste of breath,next thing Colin swings round and gives it back with interest.Red card.Blamed myself for no shouting louder.LOL Jimmy 'Blamed myself for no shouting louder'. Eddie Mullherron went on to play in South Africa with Willie Henderson, Ronnie McKinnon, and Johnny Haynes (England world cup winner ) for Durban United 72/73 the year after our European Cup Winners Cup Final triumph in Barcelona. Also met Johnny Haynes early 2001 in Edinburgh, he was married/living with an old friend of mine, absolute Gentleman, as well as a truly great footballer Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buggleskelly 3,772 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 The only catering in the '70's was the cry of 'THERE. YER MACAROON BARS & YER SPEARMINT CHEWING GUM!!! ( for the over '50's). Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcb 1,167 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 The only catering in the '70's was the cry of 'THERE. YER MACAROON BARS & YER SPEARMINT CHEWING GUM!!! ( for the over '50's).Better than the crap they sell today. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JCDBigBear 11,049 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 The only catering in the '70's was the cry of 'THERE. YER MACAROON BARS & YER SPEARMINT CHEWING GUM!!! ( for the over '50's).As the guy was going past we used to amalgamate the words and shout in his style of voice "Ere's eh spearmint-chocolate-macaroon-chewing gum baarrrrs" .... yes, I know, really childish. The other catering delights were the guy up the back of the terracing with big cardboard egg box selling rolls with cheese or spam (which he called ham). The pie stall queue used to take most of the game to get to the front where the pies were always stone cold. Sometimes buy a Bovril (which was hot enough to melt steel) and pour it over the pie to heat it up.Who said things were better back then? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weshallnotbemoved! 714 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Looking forward to this game immensely. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buggleskelly 3,772 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 During jock wallace's 2nd spell as Rangers manager we were playing clyde one night at Ibrox when big Colin 'bomber' Jackson had a boot at one of the clyde players while play was in the other half of the park. This happened right next to the dug outs & Craig brown , who was clyde manager at the time went crazy , screaming at the ref & linesman to take action. At this point , jock Wallace leapt out our dug out , grabbed wee Craig by the collar & waved his fist in his face & literally through brown into his dugout in full view of the officials. Jock was told to calm down & wee Craig got sent to the stand! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TomScott 40 Posted December 20, 2012 Share Posted December 20, 2012 Can't wait for this game although it will be not be without emotion.My Dad who was a Clyde man all his days used to take me to Shawfield as a boy. I loved the banter and remember many of the names mentioned already in this topic.My Dad passed away at the start of this year and it is the first Xmas without him. I know he will be up there watching the game, torn between his team and his love for the Gers too.And... 26 December would have been his birthday.Spooky Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...