RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 9, 2013 Share Posted January 9, 2013 Stop, don't go mental.Having someone vigorously fight our corner and never fail to speak up regarding unfair treatment & corruption, that is an excellent thing to have. The same goes for his shrewd and resourceful business acumen. I am NOT knocking these qualities.The point I am making is that, in my opinion, sometimes Mr Green would do better to keep his cards a bit closer to his chest. There is such a thing as being too keen to get your point across and hit out at those who would cause problems for us.It's all very well going on about leaving Scottish football, but I don't think he should be making public statements about that unless there is any possibility of it happening. It can make us look a bit silly.Of course the happenings in Scottish football and our lack of involvement merit a response, I'm not denying that.I think we should continue to look for options outwith Scotland, but in the meantime get on with our rebuilding, improvement and ascent like a club possessed. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WVB 2,560 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 You lost me at "Stop don't go mental". Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I think you have to remember that we don't have a friend in the (domestic) game and if CG goes a little over the top sometimes who can blame him Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Faircity 186 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 ..Naw.. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bluegecko 306 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I don't believe a word comes out his mouth without being well thought out first.I think it's a reaction from others he is looking for to manouver us into a stronger position.We may not have any voting rights atm but he is trying to influence others Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KingKirk 26,416 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 You could work for the media in this country with a headline like that ffs calm doon Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
govanblue 16,847 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 The point I am making is that, in my opinion, sometimes Mr Green would do better to keep his cards a bit closer to his chest. There is such a thing as being too keen to get your point across and hit out at those who would cause problems for us.You are making the assumption that Mr Green is showing all his cards.I suspect Mr Green has a whole card-shoe full under the table. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cushynumber 25,178 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 Silence equals acceptance in Scotland. CG has my vote. Stop wringing your hands. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 10, 2013 Author Share Posted January 10, 2013 You are making the assumption that Mr Green is showing all his cards.I suspect Mr Green has a whole card-shoe full under the table.In reference to the thread title (bit of a red rag on reflection), of course he has to be outspoken, my point is that some things should be left unsaid as well. Why publicly declare that we are going to leave Scottish football when we're clearly not? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
govanblue 16,847 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 In reference to the thread title (bit of a red rag on reflection), of course he has to be outspoken, my point is that some things should be left unsaid as well. Why publicly declare that we are going to leave Scottish football when we're clearly not?Because mate, we clearly are Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Uncle Fester 186 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 He speaks for me and I suspect many many Rangers supporters, and has been bang on every time imho. He has started a debate with today's statement where it will end who knows but if anyone can make it happen it's Green. he's a fighter. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cushynumber 25,178 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 In reference to the thread title (bit of a red rag on reflection), of course he has to be outspoken, my point is that some things should be left unsaid as well. Why publicly declare that we are going to leave Scottish football when we're clearly not?he said we will look at options, not "we are leaving" Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 10, 2013 Author Share Posted January 10, 2013 Because mate, we clearly are Explain? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tannerall 25,935 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 .I think we should continue to look for options outwith Scotland, but in the meantime get on with our rebuilding, improvement and ascent like a club possessed.One interesting thing about Charles being so outspoken is that the rebuilding , impovement and ascent. is going ahead fine in the background almost uncommented on by our enemies whilst Charles fires off quotes and speeches continually to keep them wound up and tied up.He knows eactly what he is doing. Underneath all the fight and bluster there is a steely resolve. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
govanblue 16,847 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 Explain?Did you read CG's statement.he does not tell lies.Simple Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WCPRANGERS1 2,997 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 What you have to remember is that Charles Green was privy to a lot of infoation during the negotiations during the summer and will also know that t.v deals will hinder on the participation of our club,Viewing figures have already shown who's the biggest show in town and those with tv rights do not want to lose us.What you also have to remember is the headlines made dont exactly equate to what was said. He has said we will have to look at options, not that we are leaving. He has clearly been thinking things over as this announcement was made at the weekend.All Rangers statements just now are very deliberate and thought out. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 10, 2013 Author Share Posted January 10, 2013 One interesting thing about Charles being so outspoken is that the rebuilding , impovement and ascent. is going ahead fine in the background almost uncommented on by our enemies whilst Charles fires off quotes and speeches continually to keep them wound up and tied up.He knows eactly what he is doing. Underneath all the fight and bluster there is a steely resolve. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Craigie79 67 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 Think he just has a way with words on top of being loudmouthed. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 10, 2013 Author Share Posted January 10, 2013 Why am i not getting ripped to shreds?Seriously though, a lot of good points. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
offsiderules 41 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I wish i had the confidence in CG that some of you guys do. Let's never forget he is a business man and the SOLE reason he is here is to make money for CG - hopefully in his mind a shed load.He doesn't have the interests of RFC at heart unless it serves to further his sole reason. Imo he shots his mouth off far too often. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I was watching something on youtube earlier about Led Zeppelin and it reminded me of their manager Peter Grant who definitely was it for his own gain but it didnt stop him also doing his best for the band ... the 2 things don't have to be mutually exclusive Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SpidermansGaffer 2,552 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I wish i had the confidence in CG that some of you guys do. Let's never forget he is a business man and the SOLE reason he is here is to make money for CG - hopefully in his mind a shed load.He doesn't have the interests of RFC at heart unless it serves to further his sole reason. Imo he shots his mouth off far too often.Gtf. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RockwellGers 15,214 Posted January 10, 2013 Author Share Posted January 10, 2013 I wish i had the confidence in CG that some of you guys do. Let's never forget he is a business man and the SOLE reason he is here is to make money for CG - hopefully in his mind a shed load.He doesn't have the interests of RFC at heart unless it serves to further his sole reason. Imo he shots his mouth off far toooften.We know he is a businessman, not a fan, he has always said that. He intends to get Rangers back at the top and playing in Europe, in a strong financial position, while earning himself some nice profit. I'm fine with that. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WCPRANGERS1 2,997 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 I wish i had the confidence in CG that some of you guys do. Let's never forget he is a business man and the SOLE reason he is here is to make money for CG - hopefully in his mind a shed load.He doesn't have the interests of RFC at heart unless it serves to further his sole reason. Imo he shots his mouth off far too often.For Charles Green to make money = Rangers being succesful......he hasn't lied and came in saying he bought the club as a fan, he came in saying he wants to made money, What's wrong with that of it make us a force again? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tannerall 25,935 Posted January 10, 2013 Share Posted January 10, 2013 Should we stay or should we go nowIf we stay there will be troubleIf we go it will be doubleSo you gotta let me knowShould we stay or should we go.Thoughts along those lines will be going through the heads of every club chairman in the SPL now that he has planted the seed.Charles knows the most likely answer. The others will be sweating it. And either way they answer the question, we end up winners. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...