McBoyd 355 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Started the season fairly well, but has begun to disappear in games.Signed as a 'tough guy' for Division 3, no other reason. He's not even good at that.Should be moved on next year IMO, not Rangers standard. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FernandoR20 2,133 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Shock and horror. An Ian Black thread. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
scarkev 3,540 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Started the season fairly well, but has begun to disappear in games.Signed as a 'tough guy' for Division 3, no other reason. He's not even good at that.Should be moved on next year IMO, not Rangers standard.He's on a 3 year deal on good money...who would take him that could meet his current wage and pay a fee for him?He has been so disappointing I get so frustrated watching him but I don't know if I was maybe expecting to much off him and maybe he needs better players with better movement in front of him. He takes far to long on the ball at times, when he should be looking to move the ball quicker! Has contribute very little for the money he is on. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamess 3,544 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 For me the end of the Transfer embargo should not be heralded as the chance to get new players - but to boot out a few. Unless something dramatic happens, black is near the top of the list Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BEARGER 339 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Black is an imposter. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
McBoyd 355 Posted March 9, 2013 Author Share Posted March 9, 2013 Shock and horror. An Ian Black thread.Deserves it. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas 56,606 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 I don't think Black is a ball winning midfielder at all. Any time I have seen him playing well it's been when he has been playing beside the ball winning midfielder starting moves by making short, simple passes making sure that the team keeps possession and spreading the play to the full backs. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BLUEDIGNITY 34,215 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Disnae even look like a Ranger, looks like a sean maloney dwarf wae the fuckin shorts to long and the soacks to high, like a wee chav, kickin everythin in sight when at Rangers feeder club now to scared to kick junior players at 3rd tier level, and when he does get booked it's for poncy tackles that don't amount tae hee haw ! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonnyboyrfc 296 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 I wouldn't even agree that he started the season well to be honest with you, I think he has been very poor all season and I'm struggling to think of a game in which I would say he played well. Possibly just the one he scored in and that's it.He had been terrible, not Rangers standard but hardly any of the current team are. In this case though its 5k a week down the drain, we don't need him and he just isn't worthy of pulling on the royal blue. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ger50champ 300 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Don't like slating a player after a defeat but he is just way to much trouble than it's worth having now .He runs about plenty but for me brings nothing to the team .Along with Sandaza these two would be shifted as a matter of priority . Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MasterD 7,464 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 I don't think he started well, and he is certainly not a tough guy. Stuck with him I'm afraid. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Captain Hilts 12,819 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 i usually try to defend Black as i believe many on here use him as a scapegoat, but he was pretty awful today. 2nd worst on the pitch behind Sandaza Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamess 3,544 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 And he's a Red card waiting to happen every week. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermopylae 15,288 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Thought he was rubbish today ... lost the ball too many times and didn't seem to be in any great hurry to get it back Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ricky_ 893 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 not fit to wear the jersey, and i'm not talking about his ability - although, that's equally as poor. Ally's worst signing, and there's been some bad ones. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamess 3,544 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 i usually try to defend Black as i believe many on here use him as a scapegoat, but he was pretty awful today. 2nd worst on the pitch behind SandazaDisagree, bulk of the team were competing very hard to be crowned worst on the pitch. There must be a bonus for it we don't know about. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OLE SUPER WILBERT 2,475 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 A disgrace to the club. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
THE_Ibrox_Preacher 2,812 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 . Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
pcbear 10,932 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Bossed the game at Ibrox last season and scored a wonder goal, bossed the cup final v Hibs.Where the fuck has that guy gone? have we got his painters mate? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davie2909 21 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Horrendous player should be released at the end of the season. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bill moles 0 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 I don't think Black is a ball winning midfielder at all. Any time I have seen him playing well it's been when he has been playing beside the ball winning midfielder starting moves by making short, simple passes making sure that the team keeps possession and spreading the play to the full backs.he is going to be here for 3 years so we better find a use for him. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rangers#1 5,568 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 He looks lost a lot of the time, runs about stumbling into other players, makes the odd good pass.Only Lee Wallace and Andy Little looked up for it today Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheBluenose1972 1,405 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Guy is hopeless, Send him to Coventry to play with that prick Fleck! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas 56,606 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 I know McCoist was always going to have to cobble a team/squad together because of the circumstances surrounding our licence, etc, etc but Shiels, Sandaza & Black had been talked about as potential signing targets long before we knew where we would be playing. These guys were basically "long term" targets so there is no excuse for them not working out.Shiels, Black, Sandaza and to an extent Templeton were all decent to good SPL players because their managers at their respective clubs played to their strengths and knew what role they wanted them to play within the team and I just can't believe that four players who all showed good form (even if they are/were slightly overated) last year don't suddenly become terrible players, especially when they are dropping down three levels.I don't think these guys are entirely blameless for their poor form, but I do think a large part of their poor form is down to them being poorly managed/coached by their manager. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reformation Bear 6,453 Posted March 9, 2013 Share Posted March 9, 2013 Redundancies have been avoided so far at Ibrox after the shocking mess of last year. Peformances on the park have been patchy at best and are declining - some might argue rapidly declining. Players must take responsibility for that and none more than the so-called senior players of whom Ian Black is one. On the basis of performances so far, the choices are simple: sell him and if anyone will take him it'll save the wages, or redundancy. Its as simple as that. Because the idea that he can step up to the plate and play as he is capable of is not evident - not even remotely evident based on the performances this season. He should be dropped immediately and it made clear to him that one way or the other he is leaving Ibrox. And he he should not be the only one. There are going to have to be radical improvements from the managerial team right through entire coaching and playing squad. In my view the evidence of play we have seen so far this season puts any concept of Rangers developing a team to challenge for the very top honours a long, long, long way off. And it'll take way more than the money in the bank and the skills and competences of the management team and players to restore credible competitiveness to the side. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...