simon 1,773 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I know everyone is talking about the accounts today but I just want to ask a quick question, to which I'm sure there will be many different answers. The two things that have been thrown at the troops since Saturdays match are:1. The soldiers standing with the "Keep Ulster Protestant" scarf. I realise it's only a scarf, but I can understand to an extent why they are making a fuss over it. Like it or not, it's not the kind of slogan they should be promoting publicly. Why weren't they given a generic Rangers scarf? Regardless, I can see why they've been told off for that, no matter how silly it seems. 2. Singing "anti-Bobby Sands songs". This has been doing my head in for a long, long time. St. Johnstone away a few years ago, we had signed that dumplin Rothen, I was behind the goal and was singing the exact same song and a police officer marched over to our row of seats and told us if we continued with that song we would be ejected. He only became interested in the song when "fuck Bobby Sands he's deid" was sung. Now in the papers and various reports since Saturday that line is the one getting attention. So my question is, what is wrong with having an anti-Bobby Stands stance. What is wrong with having a problem with a convicted terrorist? Because it seems like the rest of the world understands terrorism is fucking abhorrent act carried out by cowards and cunts. So why is opposing it a bad thing? Because I cannot understand it for the life of me. If anyone on here could explain it to me it would be much appreciated. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivybank 4,892 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 i was under the impression if someone is dead you cant be sued for liable or slander,so singing about that scumbagis perfectly ok.what would the cops charge you with? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KingKai 439 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I don't understand it either, but..... as usual... its labelled sectarian because the big bad bears sang it.Unbelievable. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
calio 688 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Maybe(not saying this is fact) the lads were Ulster Protestants themselves, if that`s the case are people actually suggesting that Protestants are not allowed to want Protestant rule in their own Country?The Jobby Sands is one of the few addons that really grate on me, why the fuck he`s mentioned within our stadium I`ll never know. I`m guessing it`s not allowed legally because it`s deemed political(I know about their songs)Fuck Jobby Sands he`s deid, but we`ll keep signing about him anyway, mental! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
silverback 77 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 you know for a fact if they were signing about the death of osama bin laden, yasser arafat or saddam hussien - all terrorists as well - that there wouldnt be the mock offended pish being trooped out just now.its sickening that a dead terrorist is being given more respect by some people in the "press" than members of our Forces. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheBluebells 6,898 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Bobby Sands is political when it suits them and sectarian when it suits them also, just depends on what way they want to use it against us. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
there'sonlyoneamoruso 1,724 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I wonder if 'Bobby Sands' is replaced with 'Osama Bin Laden' does it become an acceptable chant to the authorities (even if the chant itself no longer makes sense)? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Non_Sucumbi 876 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Wonder if a person would be liable for arrest if they chanted 'fuk Bin Laden, he's deid'??? Or is it because Sands was a Fenian terrorist bastard???In the USA they celebrate the death of terrorists. In today's modern forward thinking Scotland you have to tread on egg shells because in case you didn't know, big brother in the shape of focus, the 'SNP's Stasi' is watching YOU.Edit: Sorry Rolledoats did not see your similar comment. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
allgers 735 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 This is not something to be made sense of, it's simple, they want us to stop breathing cause the noise offends them. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paulie Walnuts 1,061 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I was surprised to hear that there was sectarian chanting i didn't hear any only song i remember hearing when the troops were on was rule Britannia and they done a bouncy infront of the broomloan the rest of the time I only remember them taking pictures with players and broxi Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phil 1,150 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I was surprised to hear that there was sectarian chanting i didn't hear any only song i remember hearing when the troops were on was rule Britannia and they done a bouncy infront of the broomloan the rest of the time I only remember them taking pictures with players and broxiThere wasn't anything sectarian sung Problem is that they just label everything sectarian because eventually something will stick. It changes all the time. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KingKai 439 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Somehow it needs to be challenged. WHAT was the 'sectarian' songs sung?? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Non_Sucumbi 876 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 This is not something to be made sense of, it's simple, they want us to stop breathing cause the noise offends them.Cannot remember who originally coined the following phrase but I remember it being used by Benjamin "Bibi" Netanyahu “They hate us for who we are, not what we do"Same applies to their unrelenting hatred of all things connected with Rangers Football Club. Just remember 'who we are' --- WE ARE THE PEOPLEP.S. If the wee UB neds want a message for a massive banner then I suggest using the above quote. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The Educator 1,572 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I would hope that the troops themselves would actually write and complain about the way this has been reported on by a minority group of very biased so called journalists. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
pcbear 10,932 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I would hope that the troops themselves would actually write and complain about the way this has been reported on by a minority group of very biased so called journalists.That's exactly what is required, they had a ball of a time and the sheer anti everything Rangers feeling will have them pretty much baffled, fairness does not enter into it when you are perma offended. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tannerall 25,935 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 I know everyone is talking about the accounts today but I just want to ask a quick question, to which I'm sure there will be many different answers.The two things that have been thrown at the troops since Saturdays match are:1. The soldiers standing with the "Keep Ulster Protestant" scarf. I realise it's only a scarf, but I can understand to an extent why they are making a fuss over it. Like it or not, it's not the kind of slogan they should be promoting publicly. Why weren't they given a generic Rangers scarf? Regardless, I can see why they've been told off for that, no matter how silly it seems.2. Singing "anti-Bobby Sands songs". This has been doing my head in for a long, long time.St. Johnstone away a few years ago, we had signed that dumplin Rothen, I was behind the goal and was singing the exact same song and a police officer marched over to our row of seats and told us if we continued with that song we would be ejected. He only became interested in the song when "fuck Bobby Sands he's deid" was sung. Now in the papers and various reports since Saturday that line is the one getting attention. So my question is, what is wrong with having an anti-Bobby Stands stance. What is wrong with having a problem with a convicted terrorist? Because it seems like the rest of the world understands terrorism is fucking abhorrent act carried out by cowards and cunts. So why is opposing it a bad thing? Because I cannot understand it for the life of me.If anyone on here could explain it to me it would be much appreciated.Almost as bad as celebrating Guy Fawkes death with a festival I'd have thought.Or singing along with "Who do you think you are kidding Mr Hitler" when Dad's Army is on. Were all three of those not enemies of the state ? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muirheadbear 1,483 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 Good point from the OP. It could only happen in this country.In New York when bin laden was killed they were all out in a Times Square celebrating. Could you imagine us doing that in George Square if Gerry Adams died tomorrow? No chance but if it's our own former prime minister (thatcher) then it's cool! Only in this country! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jaywalker 377 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 As an ex-serviceman myself, I think the squaddies holding the Ulster scarf were guilty of a bit of mis-judgement, they are entitled to their opinion of course but not to express it in uniform.No problem at all with the lads doing the bouncy, but they should have thought before appearing to join in on any songs that could be classed as religious or political, again they are representing their service. You join up, you sign away some of your rights, if you cause your service any embarrassment you get your arse kicked, right or wrong.. I dont suppose my thoughts will be popular but it doesnt make them wrong.I sincerely hope we are allowed to hold this event next year, it is a brilliant gesture and a good fund raiser for a good cause.Next year the lads should be better briefed by their officer/ncos and they can have a good time without giving Georgeous George and his cronies the chance to have a pop at Rangers. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old No7. 852 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 As I'm still in receipt of the Queens shilling I need to be careful on comment. In the early 90's I went on my 1st tour of NI working in W Belfast in the areas incl Falls Rd Beechmounts Ballymurphy etc areas that are alien to most on here apart from those who live across the sea. Everyday was a day you didn't know what was coming apart from one thing the verbal assault, the kids no older than potty trained spitting at you that's the easy bits. So for some jumped up twat to feel his her feelings have been accosted due to some young lads getting carried away in the spirit of the day they need to look at the history of their own kind before issuing judgement. I have a dit on a lad I worked with who sadly is no longer with us due to Mr Taliban. We worked in this base and he had his Ulster Scots flag in his window the MoD Police visited his room one night told him to remove his flag, he asked why was told it was sectarian he asked them if he knew what flag it was they never had a clue. He never took it down as he explained what it was and then asked if they will visit everyone who has either the Welsh,English or Scottish flag on display. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blumhoilann 6,715 Posted October 1, 2013 Share Posted October 1, 2013 As I'm still in receipt of the Queens shilling I need to be careful on comment.In the early 90's I went on my 1st tour of NI working in W Belfast in the areas incl Falls Rd Beechmounts Ballymurphy etc areas that are alien to most on here apart from those who live across the sea. Everyday was a day you didn't know what was coming apart from one thing the verbal assault, the kids no older than potty trained spitting at you that's the easy bits. So for some jumped up twat to feel his her feelings have been accosted due to some young lads getting carried away in the spirit of the day they need to look at the history of their own kind before issuing judgement.I have a dit on a lad I worked with who sadly is no longer with us due to Mr Taliban. We worked in this base and he had his Ulster Scots flag in his window the MoD Police visited his room one night told him to remove his flag, he asked why was told it was sectarian he asked them if he knew what flag it was they never had a clue. He never took it down as he explained what it was and then asked if they will visit everyone who has either the Welsh,English or Scottish flag on display.Welll said that man Back in the day,when I was a jolly Jacktar,I hoisted the 'Ulster Flag'(the one with the UF in one corner,in place of the 'White duster' on the 11th of July.When it came to sunset and the lowering of the Flags,the 'Jimmy' met me on deck,he was a Scot called Duncan,and said to me, 'Put it up tomorrow again for the 12th and that'll do,OK',stunned that I didn't get a bollickin',I chopped him off a nice one and said loud and proud,AYE AYE Sir. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Non_Sucumbi 876 Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 If any military personell made an 'error of judgement' the I assume the matter will be handled through the proper chain of command. Not via a mis-directed media campaign orchestrated by the bheasts. I am convinced many of these people sit watching anything related to The Rangers Football Club so that they can be offended. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
rbt1548 1,902 Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 The Bobby Sands line grates with me as well, he is indeed "deid" and gone, and will forever stay like that!, but every time that line is mentioned it brings him to the fore again, remove the line and let his name slide into obscurity!If you think listening to that line is bad enough, spare a wee thought for the poor British guys that have got to work in the British Embassy in Tehran which is situated in..... Bobby Sands St.I did a training stint in Iran and on introducing ourselves to the squads we asked what they knew about Britain, the usual stuff came up, then one said "Bobby Sands", at which point it was made very clear to them that he was a terrorist and they actually were quite shocked as they had been informed by their government that he was a 'good guy'. The normal Iranian guy on the street is a nice and courteous as you would find anywhere but are, at times, fed what their government wants them to hear. We were then told that the British Embassy was on 'Bobby Sands St.', which initially we took as a joke, but no, it is !For those that think the Iranians don't have a sense of humour or do irony they also have a cafe' named after him! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
8Ace 49 Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 Almost as bad as celebrating Guy Fawkes death with a festival I'd have thought.Or singing along with "Who do you think you are kidding Mr Hitler" when Dad's Army is on.Were all three of those not enemies of the state ?We could have an annual holiday celebrating BS death with lavish feasts and a compulsory eating competition. The winner will be presented with a pencil case. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 Sing it loud and proud at the next game, theres absolutely nothing illegal or sectarian about it. FUCK BOBBY SANDS. Everyone should write to the papers telling of their disgust at the British media showing solidarity with a convicted terrorist because thats exactly what theyre doing. Like George Bush said, youre either with us, or with the terrorists.It just goes to show the underlying racism that is rife in this country, sing "fuck bin laden" or state that all muslims are terrorists and violent is fine, but if a white man attempts to blow people up its offensive to sing about him? Im on the verge of giving up, Britain as a society is dead and will never be what it once was, we are seen as extremist bigots clinging to the past when all we want is to be free to celebrate our culture like our Fathers and Grandfathers, drive through the gallowgate and there are oirish flags everywhere, they are free to celebrate their culture openly while we have to keep ours to ourselves.People need to stand up its not enough to complain on a forum, people need to write letters and pick up the phone. For years people say we're not organized enough, but no one does anything about it. We're all sitting back while the scum are building up an offensive. I honestly dont see it ever getting better in my lifetime, they are in control and we're still sitting thinking it will all be ok. All it takes is 5 mins of your time to write an email to a paper or BBC or whoever, if 500 people sent a letter every time there was something wrong it would at least make an impact. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1st_Jan_1994 4,868 Posted October 2, 2013 Share Posted October 2, 2013 Fuck all wrong with the scarf some cunts attitudes in here to it has been appalling On Rangers media it seems almost unacceptable to say the word Protestant Who needs Fenians Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...