Apparently Doncaster isnae in a rush tae find a SPFL sponsor because . . . . .

The Bundesliga disnae huv wan :lol::lol::lol::lol:

i'll not post the link so the Record (tu)

Neil Doncaster: We don't need to rush finding a title sponsor.. the Bundesliga manages fine without

4 Oct 2013 07:45

THE SPFL chief executive says it's important to get the perfect fit, so he won't sacrifice quality for the sake of a quick and cheap deal.

NEIL DONCASTER insists there’s no panic to find a title sponsor for the SPFL – because the Bundesliga has none either.

As the league announced a six-figure deal that makes Irn-Bru its official soft drink for the next three years the chief executive swore he would never flog the SPFL name on the cheap.

He said: “A number of leagues throughout Europe are in the same position – even the Bundesliga which I don’t believe has a title sponsor.

“So it’s important it is the right fit if you have a title sponsor and that you don’t simply take the first deal on terms that may not be ideal.”

What Doncaster failed to mention, however, is that – unlike the SPFL – the German league benefits from a string of big-money partnership contracts with companies such as adidas, Sky, EA Sports and Grundig.

He did point out that TV and commerical deals have already surpassed the £18million target he promised to clubs before the merger of the old SPL and SFL in summer.

So the Hampden chief insists there is no business sense in dropping his price just to lure a sponsor to the end of the season – because the damage would last for years.

Doncaster said: “It’s important we drive as much value as possible into member clubs but we don’t take the first deal that comes along.

“One of the dangers with having a fire sale and cutting the price of a sponsorship is it tends to reset the market value.

“It is very difficult to rebuild that market value. Sure, you can sell all of your inventory very quickly if you wish. But then getting the right value for it in the future then becomes incredibly more difficult.”

The deal with Irn-Bru, who were long-standing supporters of the old SFL, will see their drink sold in all 42 of the member clubs’ stadiums.

Confirming the £18m target set at the start of the season had been passed Doncaster said: “Prior to the Irn-Bru deal, we had already announced to clubs that we were on budget to provide them with what we told them they were going to get in fees this year. This deal and any other future deals is now effectively bonus money.

“That’s satisfying because there were a number of people who suspected prior to the merger that those figures weren’t real.

“There is a massive goodwill around the SPFL – we have 42 clubs all pointing in the same direction. This Irn-Bru deal is a continuation of what we have been doing as we already have very good partnerships in place.

“We have that with our broadcast partners and with sponsorships from the likes of Mitre and William Hill. This is another important deal that emphasises the confidence the market has in Scottish football in general and the SPFL in particular.

“We are delighted to be partnering with a brand as respected as AG Barr and Irn-Bru. They had a six-year history with the SFL so to be able to continue that relationship through the SPFL is very pleasing indeed.

“When I’m dealing with my colleagues in Europe, Scottish professional football is viewed with huge respect.”

Adrian Troy, Barr’s head of marketing, said: “Our experience with the SFL over the past six years has been particularly important for us. We’ve been able to talk to football fans within communities and that’s something the rest our our marketing activity doesn’t do very well.

“This is about being able to engage with fans, put our personality across and make it a fun experience for them.”

The BBC reported a "substantial" six figure sponsorship by Irn Bru.

So giving them the benefit of a maximum six figure sum, that's £999,999 between 42 clubs ie £23,809 each. Whoopy doo.

Or more likely £900k to Celtic and the balance shared out by all the other clubs.

So Irn-bru will only be sold in Scottish football grounds if Barrs pay a "substantial sum". Aye right. Clubs are not going to stock this without the sponsorship? Looks more like a "thank you" than sponsership to me. No commercial catering organisation in Scotland would be without Irn-bru if they wanted to satisfy their clientele.

Agreed as unspeakably foul it is as a drink it is popular for some reason.

The BBC reported a "substantial" six figure sponsorship by Irn Bru.

So giving them the benefit of a maximum six figure sum, that's £999,999 between 42 clubs ie £23,809 each. Whoopy doo.

Or more likely £900k to Celtic and the balance shared out by all the other clubs.

Am I right in thinking Irn-Bru originally payed £1m per year just for the old SFL leagues?

What a come down!

Why are people posting in here seemingly only happy that Doncaster is looking more and more like a clown? We play in this league for fuck sakes. This will harm every team in Scotland. This is really bad. Don't you think potential future investors in Rangers will be put off by this?