Ok sort of a football thread - best team or squad rotation ?

Bluepeter9

What would you do with our squad at the moment assuming everyone is fit - put your best team out on the park every week with incremental changes based on a few bad performances or rotate the squad do everyone remains sharp - and only play best team in the cup.

I sort of prefer best team as that helps communication etc but we have a lot of good players then not getting game time? But I would stick with best team.

I think the modern game almost demands squad rotation when you play at a higher level than where we are now. We should set the tone for regaining our place at the top by starting now and developing a system that all players are comfortable with. In saying that I would not rotate more than 1 or 2 players per game so would always have the same core continuing from the game before

Get this fitba shit tae f***. Lets discuss the board, accounts and statistics. :ph34r:

I think both this season and next where we are in 'less competitive' leagues we need to rotate the side where young players such as Lewis, Crawford, McAusland, McKay can get experience and in the case of Lewis a wee bit of a rest between games.

We really want to use the next two seasons to build our strongest squad for what awaits when we get back to the top flight. That cannot be achieved either by throwing youngsters into every game r denying them playing time.

Rotation seems to be a reasonable compromise. Just hope Ally has the tactical nuance to see it through.

Get this fitba shit tae f***. Lets discuss the board, accounts and statistics. :ph34r:

I think both this season and next where we are in 'less competitive' leagues we need to rotate the side where young players such as Lewis, Crawford, McAusland, McKay can get experience and in the case of Lewis a wee bit of a rest between games.

We really want to use the next two seasons to build our strongest squad for what awaits when we get back to the top flight. That cannot be achieved either by throwing youngsters into every game r denying them playing time.

Rotation seems to be a reasonable compromise. Just hope Ally has the tactical nuance to see it through.

First sentence :lol: :lol:

Some good points there - but we have all seen the flack Ally gets if we lose - or even play bad- so I can see why he will stick with best team until much later in the season to ensure he completes his number one priority.

It's also kinda ironic that when we were at the top of the tree that early rounds of the cups was where a wee bit of change happened but now in the cups we ( fan base) and Ally are probably looking at our strongest team!

Ive been a big advocate for squad rotation on here and I still believe that in the lower leagues when we have such a gulf in quality over the opposition and a big squad to keep happy that squad rotation is the best way to utilize our squad. I would keep players in form in the team until that form dropped but for players playing average or bellow average they should certainly know that they won't play every game unless they are playing well, it helps keep them on their toes and also gives young or fringe players are chance to prove themselves too. At the moment it's a no brainer for me.

Rotate them with Little and Daly.....

Have a wee competition see which pairing scores/leaks the most goals

As we play the same teams 4 times perhaps we should give each pairing a 10 game run!! Lol

I think lee and belie would score most goals anyway! ( the flaw in the plan is those players get no rest just played in different positions! :pipe:

First sentence :lol: :lol:

Some good points there - but we have all seen the flack Ally gets if we lose - or even play bad- so I can see why he will stick with best team until much later in the season to ensure he completes his number one priority.

It's also kinda ironic that when we were at the top of the tree that early rounds of the cups was where a wee bit of change happened but now in the cups we ( fan base) and Ally are probably looking at our strongest team!

Ally needs to realize we are Rangers fans, we are never happy :D Take the flack winning the league this season and next should be a given. Getting back to the top with a strong, experienced squad is the priority. Even if that means a few bad games and a few dodgy results.

As we play the same teams 4 times perhaps we should give each pairing a 10 game run!! Lol

I think lee and belie would score most goals anyway! ( the flaw in the plan is those players get no rest just played in different positions! :pipe:

They get a rest ever game where the play in central defense...... :D