Barry Ferguson tells it like it is.

centenarystand

• Replies 63

We were no angels during the seventies and early eighties, was part of the national culture back then unfortunately. But our record since awareness of racism was highlighted has been exemplary. Mark Walters was one of the main players who influenced and helped us achieve our proud record of racial tolerance since then. And it was quite long before many other British clubs and their fans were accepting racism was wrong. I don't think Mark Walters (and possibly the club)is given enough credit for helping solve the problem in Scotland.

As you say there was no outrage or disgust at the abuse given out to coloured players back in the 70s. I remember the chants aimed at Paul Wilson during games and even at the age of 14 realised it was wrong.

Fans of every club were guilty tbh.

Football is getting a bit of a bore ! (tu);):sherlock:

Correct, you have to tread on eggshells at a traditional working mans pastime, it should be a fun day out trading banter with supporters of the other team but bit by bit the funs being squeezed out of it, remember the outcry when Hansen called a player coloured on tv? not an exact reference to attending games but it tells you where we are heading.

We were no angels during the seventies and early eighties, was part of the national culture back then unfortunately. But our record since awareness of racism was highlighted has been exemplary. Mark Walters was one of the main players who influenced and helped us achieve our proud record of racial tolerance since then. And it was quite long before many other British clubs and their fans were accepting racism was wrong. I don't think Mark Walters (and possibly the club)is given enough credit for helping solve the problem in Scotland.

Why the need to bring us into it?

In one hand Barry brings up the Moscow racist chanting then on the other hand he does not mention the sectaring chanting from the green hordes.

:lol: Aye because that would be appropriate. The article is about racism for one thing, and they would just say that Rangers are just as bad. It is a good article about racism. It is not about sectarianism.

The article is just not about racism,if that was the case why mention the reyna incident?

Correct, you have to tread on eggshells at a traditional working mans pastime, it should be a fun day out trading banter with supporters of the other team but bit by bit the funs being squeezed out of it, remember the outcry when Hansen called a player coloured on tv? not an exact reference to attending games but it tells you where we are heading.

Aye noo we've got a shower of easily offended overpaid diddy's greetin at every wee thing, there's an auld sayin if you cannae stand the heat . . .

(tu):sherlock:

I actually thought the Hodgson stuff was a good analogy for the point he was trying to make.

I also thought it was an anology rather than a joke.

Barry should have used this article to also highlight the secterian singing last Tuesday in the CL but it seems to be bowing to his paymasters. A missed opportunity.