1100hrs - the silence

Gooseman

This morning at 1100hrs, I stood with my head bowed in a simple act of remembrance to the men and women who gave their lives to defend the rights that we enjoy. As a former soldier I feel it is my duty to remember these brave souls, and to teach my children about their sacrifice.

Today I felt despair that my colleagues could not offer up the same small token. I don’t condemn people for their beliefs but I do condemn those that cannot spare two minutes once a year to honour the dead who fought for our liberties.

Rangers have always marked remembrance with solemnity and honour and the club should be recognised for their good work and excellent service to our armed forces, instead of being demonised and accused of point scoring. It should be the duty of every football club in the UK to mark this day with a two minutes silence and it should be their privilege to honour our serving men and women.

Our club stands head and shoulders above the our clubs in this country because of our support for our armed forces and dedicated observance of the 2 minute silence, even the parents of the late Lee Rigby on national television commented on the support we gave them. Sometimes I feel so ashamed of some of the people of this country, the people that sing songs glorifying Irish rebels and the killing of British soldiers and the authorities that don’t bring these people to task, that I question the reasons why I signed up.

Perhaps I let the emotion of the day get to me too much.

I myself stood publicly at The HMFC war memorial at Haymarket and, there was a very healthy Crowd.

It was good to go along and remember those who fought, and died in past and present conflicts.

However there seems to be within our communities an element that is more than willing to ignore our History, and are quite quick to not pay any kind of dignified Respect to those who died so that we may live.