Regan wants Wallace to sort Rangers Finances.

gogzy

From The Scotsman:

'SFA chief executive Stewart Regan has backed his counterpart at Rangers, Graham Wallace, to get the club back on a sound financial footing, admitting that he hopes the remedial work at Ibrox is successful for the sake of Scottish football.

Wallace has undertaken a 120-day business review charged with establishing ways to plug the holes that are resulting in monthly losses that may be as high as £1 million. This week the former Blackburn Rovers chief operating officer hired Philip Nash, who was financial director at Liverpool for five years until last February, as a consultant.

Regan said yesterday he had met Wallace at matches and spoken to him informally on numerous occasions since his arrival at Ibrox in November. Their next correspondence could be of the formal variety, as all SFA member clubs must submit audited accounts to Hampden by 31 March as part of their application for a licence for next season.

The SFA tried to help Rangers after the oldco went into liquidation in June 2012 by recommending to the now-defunct SFL that the new incarnation of the club be granted permission to re-enter the game in the second, rather than fourth, tier. That plea fell on deaf ears but Regan remains acutely aware of the value to the product he oversees of a Rangers resurgence.

“As far as Rangers’ position is concerned, clearly there is a lot of work that Graham Wallace is putting in place to get the club back to a stronger place and I sincerely hope he’s successful, as it’s good for Scottish football to have the club back on a firm financial footing,” said Regan yesterday.

“He needs all the support he can get to get that in place. It’s a big challenge. But Rangers together with the other 41 clubs in the SPFL will go through the audit process. The audit takes place at the back end of the year and they then have a licensing meeting at the back end of March and by 31 March they have to have submitted all the audited management accounts and so on in order to comply.

“We’ll wait and see what comes in. I know Graham’s got a big job on and I hope he can get the success that he obviously requires. We’ve spoken to Graham in the way you would speak to most of the clubs that have got challenges ahead of them, and I’ve seen him at games. So we’ve had an opportunity to talk about some of the challenges he faces. You can’t underestimate the work he’s got ahead of him.”'

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/regan-backs-wallace-to-sort-rangers-finances-out-1-3268644

back page of the record running with a similar headline.

• Replies 58

It's not really too bad an article - Regans not really been out of line for once

Did laugh at the bit about SFA tried to help Rangers tho :lol:

Aye that one got me too.

How about, naw ye didnae, and never have tried to help Rangers ya shower of corrupt fuckers. They must think we are buttoned up the back FFS.

Based on what? Our first year accounts? <cr> Repeat often enough...

We have no idea what Cost Cutting measures are being made at the moment....

Everything we read in regards to cutting the playing team is pure press speculation at the moment,

We have no idea what Wallace has said to McCoist in this regard. But I would imagine other aspects would be getting looked at before.

this the guy who knows nothing about the old firm despites having ties to liewell before taking the job

this the guy who knows nothing about the religious overtones of rangers and celtic despite his brother holding a doctorate and writing on the subject of the "troubles" from a very pro nationalist perspective

this the guy who was hired via a company who john "sexpest" reid's son worked for

this the guy who took advice from paul "spwiwiwiwit live on" McBride

this the guy who hired Vincent lunny

this the guy who was party to illegal sanctions being meted out to RFC

this the guy who has set up an "integrity line" and hired a "usual subject"

in short is this the guy that our CEO should be fully informed about and be advised that he certainly contains enough "DNA" to be regarded as "sellick minded" as defined by kheevins

From The Scotsman:

'SFA chief executive Stewart Regan has backed his counterpart at Rangers, Graham Wallace, to get the club back on a sound financial footing, admitting that he hopes the remedial work at Ibrox is successful for the sake of Scottish football.

Wallace has undertaken a 120-day business review charged with establishing ways to plug the holes that are resulting in monthly losses that may be as high as £1 million. This week the former Blackburn Rovers chief operating officer hired Philip Nash, who was financial director at Liverpool for five years until last February, as a consultant.

Regan said yesterday he had met Wallace at matches and spoken to him informally on numerous occasions since his arrival at Ibrox in November. Their next correspondence could be of the formal variety, as all SFA member clubs must submit audited accounts to Hampden by 31 March as part of their application for a licence for next season.

The SFA tried to help Rangers after the oldco went into liquidation in June 2012 by recommending to the now-defunct SFL that the new incarnation of the club be granted permission to re-enter the game in the second, rather than fourth, tier. That plea fell on deaf ears but Regan remains acutely aware of the value to the product he oversees of a Rangers resurgence.

“As far as Rangers’ position is concerned, clearly there is a lot of work that Graham Wallace is putting in place to get the club back to a stronger place and I sincerely hope he’s successful, as it’s good for Scottish football to have the club back on a firm financial footing,” said Regan yesterday.

“He needs all the support he can get to get that in place. It’s a big challenge. But Rangers together with the other 41 clubs in the SPFL will go through the audit process. The audit takes place at the back end of the year and they then have a licensing meeting at the back end of March and by 31 March they have to have submitted all the audited management accounts and so on in order to comply.

“We’ll wait and see what comes in. I know Graham’s got a big job on and I hope he can get the success that he obviously requires. We’ve spoken to Graham in the way you would speak to most of the clubs that have got challenges ahead of them, and I’ve seen him at games. So we’ve had an opportunity to talk about some of the challenges he faces. You can’t underestimate the work he’s got ahead of him.”'

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/regan-backs-wallace-to-sort-rangers-finances-out-1-3268644

back page of the record running with a similar headline.

A slight bit of revisionism going on there..

We have no idea what Cost Cutting measures are being made at the moment....

Everything we read in regards to cutting the playing team is pure press speculation at the moment,

We have no idea what Wallace has said to McCoist in this regard. But I would imagine other aspects would be getting looked at before.

Im delighted the leaks have stopped. Our club was like a sieve not too long ago.

this the guy who knows nothing about the old firm despites having ties to liewell before taking the job

this the guy who knows nothing about the religious overtones of rangers and celtic despite his brother holding a doctorate and writing on the subject of the "troubles" from a very pro nationalist perspective

this the guy who was hired via a company who john "sexpest" reid's son worked for

this the guy who took advice from paul "spwiwiwiwit live on" McBride

this the guy who hired Vincent lunny

this the guy who was party to illegal sanctions being meted out to RFC

this the guy who has set up an "integrity line" and hired a "usual subject"

in short is this the guy that our CEO should be fully informed about and be advised that he certainly contains enough "DNA" to be regarded as "sellick minded" as defined by kheevins

This. Such "facts" are swept away and ignored by a compliant schottish mhedia. As another poster said a wee bit of historical revisionism by a slimy shady wee stooge.

The whole trying to help Rangers is a bit of a myth, you hear it peddled out because they did try and bully teams into letting us into SFL1, also if you believe the myth we should also never have got out licence so should have started lower than SFL3 but the fans we have were to vital to the economical structure of our game.

Look at tge SFL1 suggestion, that wasn't put forward because they wantd to help us, it was put forward to help themselvs, they wanted us back in the SPL ASAP for sponsorship and yhe TV deal and because of a fear that us not being there could potentially hurt other menber clubs, it was for many reasons but helping us seems a tad disingenuous.

Its all very well stating the facts about SFA anti Rangers decisions in the past, however we as a club have shown zero apetite for taking anyone to task about inaccuracies, illegal decisions, sectarian anti Gers bloggers, double standards etc etc .

The club tends to favour a 'no comment' approach rather than take on its enemies face to face.

Wallace will need to build relationships with the SFA and SPFL authorities, and I cannot blame him for that. I hope however that we flex our muscles when the time is right, and that we do not forgive or forget those who would have seen us become extinct.