berkshirebear 2,339 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 Just been to millwall v birmingham and was really impressed with Andrew Shinnie. Does any one know why he never really made it with us, as he looks a far better midfielder than anyone we have now. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ClydebankBearWATP 877 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 Because he was nothing but promising youth, not much time for that. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
berkshirebear 2,339 Posted March 25, 2014 Author Share Posted March 25, 2014 Burke was good aswell, real shame he left us as he can be a very exciting player! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DamienM855 412 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 I'm pretty sure I seen a newspaper interview about just this. It went something like:"We gave him a shot once and he didn't set the world alight. Who the fuck cares if he had already played 90 minutes for the youth that day? This is Rangers, ye get one fucking chance, one chance and if ye fuck up then yer out on yer arse. Shinnie didn't take his chance. Did he score a hat trick and have a pass completion rate of 100%? Naw. And that's his fault. He's no on that much money anyway, so he must be shite. I'm paying Edu, Daily and Hemdani shit-tonnes, so they must be shit hot. I wouldn't have gave them they contracts if they weren't, would I? I canny mind, but the point is, We're a club with fuck all money, so I'm away to spunk £3Mil on Mendes, then sell him a year down the line for half that. Fucking Hell, wit am i like?" Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MasterD 7,211 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 Injuries held him back.“At Rangers I did have a couple of injuries with my feet. I had a problem, I had a couple of operations there which did hold me back because I was included in quite a few pre-season tours in the first team and I was on the bench a few times.“But that did hold me back.“In hindsight it’s ifs and buts and what could have been. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueSuedeSambas 41,246 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 We had a shit load of options in his position at the time. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
allgers 735 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 For every one that makes it there are a whole bunch who don't, it gets really frustrating at times when talented youths go out the door, shit happens. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creampuff 21,054 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 Burke was good aswell, real shame he left us as he can be a very exciting player!... What? Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kaiser1041 8,809 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 He was highly thought of coming through the youth ranks at rangers.unfortunatley between injuries and circumstance he never got the time he needed.we don't always have to look for someone at fault for letting these guys go as it was best for the boys career. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spectre 1,641 Posted March 25, 2014 Share Posted March 25, 2014 He'd probably not be the player he is today had he remained with us. He left and ended up where he could play week in week out, I'm sure that aided his development over playing in our reserves or sitting on the bench. It's difficult for young players to break through here as there are far better players ahead of them in the queue Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
berkshirebear 2,339 Posted March 26, 2014 Author Share Posted March 26, 2014 Burke could be brilliant on his day!! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
berkshirebear 2,339 Posted March 26, 2014 Author Share Posted March 26, 2014 It was only near the end of the game i realised who shinnie was, but throughout the game i kept thinking that the boy was a quality player and was bossing the middle of the park.It a real shame that we seem to allow so many youths to walk away from us Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Right_To_Censor 1,951 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 Burke was good aswell, real shame he left us as he can be a very exciting player!he didn't recover from that day in aberdeen when he actually skinned a man then fainted. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliamFyfe 1,438 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 Burke could be brilliant on his day!!Oh aye. Some player on his day. Same for Charlie Adam Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marco Negri's Beard 1,423 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 Cannae wait for the next Kane Hemmings thread Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SirAlistairofMcCoist 91 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 I'm pretty sure I seen a newspaper interview about just this. It went something like:Sounds about right. Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davy 73 31 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 I'm pretty sure I seen a newspaper interview about just this. It went something like:Haha,well summed up !!!!!! Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OneDavidCooper 2,504 Posted March 26, 2014 Share Posted March 26, 2014 Should never have let David Healy retire Quote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...