I fear that we are going to lose a generation of fans

Tontospal

I don't envy bears trying to convince young kids to support Rangers. Us older ones have seen some great players and teams with major wins and trophies aplenty but those days seem a long way off.

With all the hype and focus on England and the Champions League it is only to be expected that kids will favour featured teams and players.

My big worry is that youngsters will see us as their second team much the way most of us have a favoured junior team.

I hope I'm wrong but the sad truth is we don't have any players who deserve to wear our shirt nevermind deserve to see their name on the back of a star struck young fan.

I think there will always be a strong loyal support - I was born in England but I was also born a Ranger. You're right to raise the concern and things need to change on the park to make sure we're still attracting new fans, but as long as there is still a strong tradition around the club I can't there being an issue.

This is a clear and present danger

The board need to act and if the first item on the 120 day review was to remove the manager I really couldn't see anyone complaining about it

My wee yin loves EPL and tbh trying to get him interested in this fucking shambles is hard going.

I don't blame the players, we have some good players, it's how they're used that's the problem

There are managers who can get the best out of players and managers who just don't have a clue

I think the players are as much to blame as the manager who selects them. once they cross that white line it is up to them to show the passion, desire and ability needed to play for us.

The decision making, lack of composure and cowardice to take responsibility yesterday were the worst I have witnessed from any Rangers side and all of the players were in control of thlose facets of their game. The manager cannot be blamed for that.

I had Mikey Mols and Jorg Albertz. Your wee man has Jon Daly and Stevie Smith. Poor guy :(

Even the ever dependable Wallace hasn't kicked his own arse for months. I'm fucking sick of it tbh.

I've tried on here for months to view some positives with ally. I've argued for him to have more time etc but it's long gone now, laughing as it went into extra time is he fucking kidding me on

I think the players are as much to blame as the manager who selects them. once they cross that white line it is up to them to show the passion, desire and ability needed to play for us.

The decision making, lack of composure and cowardice to take responsibility yesterday were the worst I have witnessed from any Rangers side and all of the players were in control of thlose facets of their game. The manager cannot be blamed for that.

But surely that's the managers job....to motivate, to kick arse, to be a man manager, we have the players who were decent players but have regressed under the present management, FFS even Messi's form would drop with our management in charge.

I posted this earlier on Bill McMurdo's Webblog. This from a 4 year old who has been a season ticket holder for the last 3 years .

Rangers rubbish! Not my words as I have blinkers on and my heart rules my head on all things Rangers and can’t look on things constructively. Mccoist stood shoulder to shoulder with us in our darkest hour and I will never forget that. The words are from my 4 year old grandson who can clearly see things better than me. 3 out of 4 grandsons don’t want to go to the semi final as the 4 year old says Rangers rubbish. Its about time we listened to them as they are our future and not like me who is a dinosaur with blinkers on. I have brought them up to love and support Rangers but this rubbish is driving them away.

Scottish football is dead on it's arse. Nobody cares about it anymore, it's irrelevant outwith Scotland. Ibrox needs a complete overhaul from top to bottom, which should have happened when we were relegated to division 3, but we've made the same old mistakes and it has cost us dearly. Ally is a cup competition failure extraordinaire

But surely that's the managers job....to motivate, to kick arse, to be a man manager, we have the players who were decent players but have regressed under the present management, FFS even Messi's form would drop with our management in charge.

to motivate yes but to take responsibility and perform that is down to the players

Can't get my grand kids to use the season ticket I've got for them.oldest one went to Newcastle v Manu on Saturday.then watched that shit yesterday for 30mins before muttering this is murder and going off to play golf.big danger signs here if things don't improve quickly

Even the ever dependable Wallace hasn't kicked his own arse for months. I'm fucking sick of it tbh.

I've tried on here for months to view some positives with ally. I've argued for him to have more time etc but it's long gone now, laughing as it went into extra time is he fucking kidding me on

Did that defo happen aye? Dying the day man.

As a responsible dad I brought both my sons up as Rangers men. As youngsters their rooms were covered in posters, Gers duvet covers, rangers lampshades, wallpaper, every Gers tops going, the works.

My oldest boy still goes to Ibrox but only occasionly, probably to keep me happy, but he and his mates travel to see Arsenal, Newcastle and Chelsea for the entertainment and nights on the razz. He then settles down on Sundays for Spanish football.

He tells me he will always be a Rangers man but cant bare to watch the dross that we are getting served up.

My younger son is a games junkie and cant be arsed with football at all although he keeps up to date with developments at Ibrox. He watched 10 minutes of final with me, shrugged his shoulders, said "sorry dad" and went back to his x-box or whatever.

We are losing the next generation, lets not kid ourselves. We should be worrying about future generations as well.

Unless drastic and radical changes are made for next season we will really really struggle. We need a new manager and coaching staff on wages that reflect our current financial position. We need a style that attracts fans, new fans as well as old.

I am nearly sixty and have never felt so low, embarrassed and angry as a bear as I do now.

How anyone but the blind can support this "style" of football and coaching / management I just cannot fathom.

Ally, do the right thing, cherish what's left of your reputation and standing within the club, and go, please, it simply wasn't meant to be.

I don't envy bears trying to convince young kids to support Rangers. Us older ones have seen some great players and teams with major wins and trophies aplenty but those days seem a long way off.

With all the hype and focus on England and the Champions League it is only to be expected that kids will favour featured teams and players.

My big worry is that youngsters will see us as their second team much the way most of us have a favoured junior team.

I hope I'm wrong but the sad truth is we don't have any players who deserve to wear our shirt nevermind deserve to see their name on the back of a star struck young fan.

Then fathers, uncles and cousins are not doing their job.....

what was the "cry" again?

As a responsible dad I brought both my sons up as Rangers men. As youngsters their rooms were covered in posters, Gers duvet covers, rangers lampshades, wallpaper, every Gers tops going, the works.

My oldest boy still goes to Ibrox but only occasionly, probably to keep me happy, but he and his mates travel to see Arsenal, Newcastle and Chelsea for the entertainment and nights on the razz. He then settles down on Sundays for Spanish football.

He tells me he will always be a Rangers man but cant bare to watch the dross that we are getting served up.

My younger son is a games junkie and cant be arsed with football at all although he keeps up to date with developments at Ibrox. He watched 10 minutes of final with me, shrugged his shoulders, said "sorry dad" and went back to his x-box or whatever.

We are losing the next generation, lets not kid ourselves. We should be worrying about future generations as well.

Unless drastic and radical changes are made for next season we will really really struggle. We need a new manager and coaching staff on wages that reflect our current financial position. We need a style that attracts fans, new fans as well as old.

I am nearly sixty and have never felt so low, embarrassed and angry as a bear as I do now.

How anyone but the blind can support this "style" of football and coaching / management I just cannot fathom.

Ally, do the right thing, cherish what's left of your reputation and standing within the club, and go, please, it simply wasn't meant to be.

Good post