Our main rivals for the season - training regime

dan_ger

Doing two and three training sessions in a day. I'm not really sure how Rangers are going about it but it looks like our main rivals for promotion doing everything they can to get the edge.

Maybe they are doing too much but this is a bit of a concern and we don't have as many youngsters. However, most of our player look off the pace. I'm not an expert and don't want to have a go without all the info. Now that we are back to full time pro football, are our player training sessions being stepped up?

Neilson said: “We’ve got a really young team who still need to develop and learn the game.

“I still believe that the more you train, the better you will be. It doesn’t need to be two hour sessions [in the afternoon], it can be 45 minutes or an hour.

“Last week we geared up for the Rangers game in the morning sessions and in the afternoon we did technical things to develop the players.

“A lot of the time a player will come through a youth team training double sessions and get to the first team at 19 or 20 and think they’ve made it.

“They then go on to the usual first team training programme which is come in at 10am, leave at 12, and for a young player that won’t develop them.

“You often see they’ll be in the first team for six months and then they’ll fall back again so it is important we continue to work them and help them improve the things they aren’t so great at.

“I think [not training enough] is an issue we’ve had over the years but I think that’s changing.

“Up here and down in England we are starting to look more at the European model where a lot of them train in the morning then go away and come back in again in the evening.

“It can be difficult here with the weather and the light and over the winter period it can be really difficult but we will instil it in them that that’s what we do – we train in the morning, have lunch, and then we train again.