Scottish Cup Final1989

Copland bear

When we were clearly cheated, big Aitken kicks the ball out in his own half, then takes the throw in and Celtic are one up 30 seconds later and win the game 1-0 to deny us and Souness the scottish cup he never won, the second incident was the Davie Robertson goal when he was a yard and a half onside when we played them at Ibrox again no protests.

Now with Timmy at it again, they know the proper channels to go through regarding the Caley game, But will we hear calls of a 1989 final replay or them handing it back saying the officials made a terrible blunder? Will you hell as like, in fact people expecially the media never made a big deal out of it.

That's how pathetic they are, they are 1-0 up at half time and well in control, if they won by 4 or 5 nothing would have been done regarding this blunder.

Again little Timmy showing Scottish football what they are all about.

Was once told by an old guy when we won the league at Killie, the referee has to deal with 22 cheats out there, and never has a truer word been spoken, the referee yes should have saw it, but has to be 100 percent sure, he made a balls up( not the first or the last ), but let's all move on ffs.

And they did win a historic treble? Put out of Europe 3 times this season.

If you watch that incident you actually see the ref pointing for the throw in to us. Bawbag takes it and the ref points in the other direction. Unbelievable !!

Is was that bastard Valentine and if I ever seen him in Dundee ,I'd knock his lights out for 77 cup final ,89 cup final .Vital OF game in 87 where he gave scum two pens in 5 mins while ruling out perfectly good goal directly from a corner with us.Up there with Waddell as one of the most hated refs for us

correct about aitken but remember gary stephens pass back caused the goal...

Did we not score a goal late on that was disallowed , Cooper or Walters? Gave a foul instead of a goal,can't remember if it was even a foul or not.

Yes Murzo .That moment broke my heart as Valentine ruled that Coop had backed into Bonner .With 5 minutes to go .Only a beggar loving ref could have made that call.

Not a jot about both decisions in the media the following days or weeks though strangely enough .

We just accepted that Valentine had cost us a treble and another Old firm cup final .

Yes Murzo .That moment broke my heart as Valentine ruled that Coop had backed into Bonner .With 5 minutes to go .Only a beggar loving ref could have made that call.

Not a jot about both decisions in the media the following days or weeks though strangely enough .

We just accepted that Valentine had cost us a treble and another Old firm cup final .

Just watched it on you tube. Bonner was never getting that ball, Cooper and him barely touch before Butcher headers it ,but its only c*ltic that get decisions against them. Mason in the black my arse.

Remember it well. Only watched it at the game and wondered why it was disallowed. Like you say we just accepted it .

After hammering them 5-1 and 4-1 at Ibrox , and 2-1 at the midden ( all going on more ! ) , I really thought we were going to show them up for everyone to see , but when we lost , it was such a disappointment we really couldn't be arsed about the disallowed goal , as weird as that sounds.

And you're right about Valentine. Remember him giving the sheep a penalty for something that happened yards outside the box in the last minute at Pittodrie in a LC game back about 80 or 81. We'd won the first leg 1-0 and that gave them the 3-1 score to put us out. Just one of many on his watch . The worst referee I've come across.

In fact thinking about it , and apologies if I'm sounding like one of the obsessed here , but . . . .

1977 c....c 1-0 . . . . Penalty that never was .

1980 c....c. 1-0 . . . . Corner that never was .

1989 c....c. 1-0 . . . . Throw in that never was.

Doesn't really fit in with the conspiracy theories that they keep coming up with .

What do you make of this petition https://www.change.org/p/the-scottish-football-association-replay-the-1989-scottish-cup-finalover 100 supporters so far, please sign and share..

Rangers Football Club are the most successful club in world football history, having won over 100 trophies including 33 Scottish Cups and seven 'trebles.' But that isn't enough. By rights it should be 34 Scottish Cups and 8 trebles. Because in the 1989 Scottish Cup final, shortly before half-time, a player from Glasgow Celtic, the city's newest club, knocked the ball out of play a round about the half-way line. It should have been a throw-in to Rangers. Instead Celtic skipper Roy Aitken took the throw-in for his own team, approximately 20 yards further up the pitch than where his team-mate had knocked it out. We Rangers supporters are duty-bound to seek an understanding of how the referee came to make this outrageous and biased decision. It isn't good enough to say that the referee just felt a bit sorry for a wee diddy team because the other team were winning all the trophies. This decision clearly affected the outcome of the match, and it had absolutely nothing to do with Gary Stevens inability to pass the ball back to Chris Woods from Aitken's aforementioned throw-in. Nor did the result have anything to do with the team's inability to score in the 45 minutes that followed, although it should be noted that Terry Butcher's equaliser was also disallowed in injury time, but we aren't going to complain about that as well, as we might start to make ourselves into a paranoid laughing stock of a football club. Sporting integrity itself demands the fixture be replayed.

We Rangers supporters therefore demand the SFA replay the match from the 44th minute, with a throw-in to Rangers, following on from the precedent set in the recent England v Norway under 19s girls match in Belfast. As it isn't possible for the same players to play, a select of current England internationals should take the field for Rangers, with a selection of continental rejects for Celtic (ie. their current team). Jock Brown should be the commentator, and the old Scotsport theme music must be played as the teams line up for the second half.